First Date: An absolutely jaw-dropping psychological thriller

· Bookouture
4.2
46 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go…

 

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.


Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.


Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.


Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for…


And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.


A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request and Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story.


What real readers are saying about First Date:

‘Had me gripped… I was so tense… I had no idea what was going to happen from one chapter to the next… BOOM!! I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT ENDING AT ALL! I loved it! If I could rate it more than a 5, I would. This has been one of, if not the best thrillers I have read!… Loved loved loved it!’ Kindlewithdanni ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I cannot believe it’s taken me THIS long to discover this queen of the psychological thriller… I’ve read a lot of psychological fiction in my time and don’t think I’ve ever come across such a good twist at the end.’ Ceri’s Little Blog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Utterly addictive and I had huge trouble putting it down! This psychological thriller will make you doubt everything and everyone, it is so cleverly put together – just when you think you've got something sussed out, a whole new slant is added… Be warned, there are twists and turns aplenty and don’t take anything at face value... ever!’ Read and Rated ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh flipping hell, what an absolutely thrilling and suspenseful domestic thriller… Honestly couldn’t put it down… Finishing this book gave me goosebumps, it was that good.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Sue Watson, just what have you done to me?! You gave me what I thought would be a fairly predictable story only to twist me all up and leave my jaw hanging! That ending, WOW!Misty’s Corner Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Utterly impossible to put down. I devoured this book in just one sitting… Gripped me from the beginning... There is absolutely no way I could predict where this was going… Will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat. You’ll be gripped.’ Little Miss Book Lover 86 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh my goodness Sue Watson has knocked it out of the ballpark… My head is still spinning… Twist after twist, jaw dropper after jaw dropper, bombshell after bombshell.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh. My. Gosh. This, this book right here, is the thriller I've been looking for… Ho. Lee. Cow. Folks. I feel like calling it a “plot twist” is an understatement. Literally the author created this reality which she then COMPLETELY flipped on its head… Clear your schedule because you will not be wanting to set this down.’ Lily Michaels ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ratings and reviews

4.2
46 reviews
Marnie Harrison
October 17, 2020
When you hear that Sue Watson is releasing a new book, you know you are going to be getting one that will take you on a wild roller coaster ride full of twists and turns and First Date is no different. In fact, I will go as far as to say that First Date is her most twisted read yet. For Sue’s last release, The Sister In-Law, I said in my review that it was her best work to date, but First Date now holds that title! First Date will have you hooked, completely addicted and will get you thinking about your own first dates. If you are single, after reading this, you may never want to go on another first date again! If you are happily married reading this, you will thank your lucky stars that you are and no longer part of the dating scene! The story plays out like an episode of the crime show Obsession Dark Desires and just had my skin crawling and feeling uncomfortable the further that I got into the book. Sue Watson has done a superb job of making you feel this way, upping the tension and suspense within each chapter in the lead up to an ending that will absolutely blow your mind! Sue Watson you are one very wicked woman! Very wicked indeed! As always Sue’s writing is on point and she is just one of the reasons that I love the psychological thriller genre so much. She knows how to get into her characters and readers heads and her stories are always fresh and exciting. Most importantly, when it comes to her finales, she never disappoints. They are always jaw dropping with you thinking about the book long after you have finished reading it. Sue Watson has really delivered with First Date. It is creepy, gripping, a real page turner in every sense of the word and she just nails everything in it, from the story, the characters and to the way it has been executed. With all of these factors on her side, this just makes this book one cracking read! It was an absolute pleasure to read and review First Date, which I highly recommend.
2 people found this review helpful
A Google user
October 6, 2020
My Review: Loved, loved, loved this book!!!!! I am so glad I listened to all the great reviews and decided to pick up this book. I kept hearing about a great ending and boy did this book deliver. I have read other Sue Watson books and they were all great but this one tops the cake. This will make it on my top 10 list for the year, it was just that good. This book was about a woman who decides to try a dating app to find love since she had had bad luck in finding the perfect man herself. On her first date ever using the app she does find Mr. Right. Is it going to last? Is he really that perfect? What secrets is he hiding? You find this out and so much more by the end. Ok, so when I first read the description of this book I thought it was just another story about a relationship that turned ugly. I was wrong, dead wrong. This book was so much more than that. Yes, Hannah made me so angry by missing all the red flags that this guy, Alex, was sending out. But I’m telling you her vulnerability made this book. I do believe woman especially at the beginning of a relationship can be so naive. The relationship is new and they will make every excuse just to try and make it work since they are in the love honeymoon phase. I also loved Alex, the guy she fell in love with. One minute I thought he was the sweetest man ever but then the next he would do something creepy that would make you wonder. You never knew what this guy was thinking and if he truly was a psychopath who wanted to murder Hannah. Now let’s get to my favorite part of the book. That ending. Wow, wow, wow!!!!!! I never expected that. Just when I thought the book had ended, boom, a bombshell had been dropped. That ended explained it all. No stone was left unturned. I couldn’t believe it. I’m still in shock!!!!! Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
12 people found this review helpful
Misty's Corner Reviews
October 17, 2020
Sue Watson, just what have you done to me?! You gave me what I thought would be a fairly predictable story only to twist me all up and leave my jaw hanging! That ending, WOW! Friends & bloggers, you NEED to keep this author and her publisher, Bookouture, on your radar! In a nutshell, Hannah is a social worker with a rough past, as is her needy best friend and boss, Jas. After her previous failed relationship and unstable childhood, Hannah wants nothing more than to fall in love and settle down. When she meets Alex, everything seems perfect, a whirlwind romance wrapped up and topped off with some fine Merlot. But what happens when she tries to balance her work, social and romantic life? You'll have to read on to find out! Oh, what can I say about Sue Watson that I haven't already said? I swear I'm going to sound like a broken record soon enough, all cliches aside though, I cannot get over how much I truly love her writing! Now, I've only ever read her psychological thrillers, but each one has a way of pulling you in and along for the ride only to leave you gasping for breath at the end. I stayed up way past my bedtime last night because, even though I thought I KNEW what was going on, I just had to know! Needless to say, I couldn't hold my eyelids open long enough, so I just barely finished - with the first moments of me-time I've had all day! I did not see that ending coming! Oh, how I love to be wrong in the company of a well-written thriller! Let me take a moment and share a few character notes that I had initially typed up on Hannah as I read the first few chapters... Hannah has an incredibly rewarding job in social services; she's ready to finally have a home, true love, kids, the whole works. Although I wish she had picked up on the red flags from her initial date with Alex and every flag thrown after if she had, then we wouldn't be able to read about it! She's a bit naive and quick to fall, rationalizing the flaws in Alex's seemingly perfect demeanor. This trait quickly becomes annoying as you're observing from a reader's standpoint, an onlooker, from the outside looking in. I'd have been out of there in a heartbeat! At the same time, can you really blame her? Deep down, she's a kindred soul, seeking out the best in people. I'd prefer not to give too much away as this really is a book better left discovered for one's self. I would love to recommend this to all psychological thriller fans. I can't wait for everyone to read this come October 16th, and, once you do, please share your thoughts with me as well; I'm dying to discuss! Thank you to Sue Watson, the publisher Bookouture and Netgalley, for this addicting advanced copy of the "First Date"! I have voluntarily and honestly reviewed this title.
2 people found this review helpful

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.