The New Wife: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming

· Bookouture
4.4
28 reviews
Ebook
377
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

You can never truly know what goes on behind closed doors… 


My darling son, Sam, is marrying his childhood sweetheart and I couldn’t be prouder of the man he’s grown into. Walking out on his abusive father all those years ago was the best thing I ever did. And today he stands, tall and handsome, saying ‘I do’ to my dream daughter-in-law. If I hadn’t pushed them together all those years ago, he might never have found a girl as perfect as Lauren. It’s true what they say, mother always knows best. 


But weeks later, Lauren is dead and police cars fill the driveway of their idyllic countryside home. As they question Sam, I sense he’s hiding something. Why won’t he look me in the eye? And who does he rush off to meet as soon as the police are gone?


Desperate, I do what every good mother would do: I let myself into Sam and Lauren’s bedroom. What I see, I will never be able to forget. My son’s beautiful new wife was hiding a dangerous secret. Can I clear my son’s name? And could my life be in danger now too?  


A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window.


What readers are saying about The New Wife:

‘I LOVED it!… Had my mind going in a million directions trying to figure out what was going on. The twists and turns almost gave me whiplash!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Woooweeeee… My head was spinning… And that ending!!!!… Fantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Wow! What a rollercoaster ride this book was… Totally gripped from the beginning.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Another WINNER!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An awesomely brilliant story… Had me on the edge until the very last page… Begs to be read in one sitting… Literally left me open mouthed!!!’ @RK_reads,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Unputdownable.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Awesome. I did not want to this down!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved this book… Engaging and engrossing.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Wow. You will be on the edge of your seat until the very last page.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The very definition of a page-turner… You don’t even realise you are reading until you’ve lost three hours and are twenty pages from the end.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘More twists and turns than a rollercoaster.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Knocked it out of the park with the twist!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A gripping read… Suspense right from the start until the last page!’ KDRBCK, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Pulls you in from the first page… You won’t be able to put this one down!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Kept me guessing until the end… Oh so good.’ Silver’s Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I binged it in one day’ @Ladybug_shirls, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An excellent thriller.’ @readingandwritingsentinel

Ratings and reviews

4.4
28 reviews
Carla Kovach
November 19, 2021
‘The New Wife’ was such a fantastic mystery and it had me guessing until the end! I love all of Sue’s books and this one was no exception. What created a fabulous atmosphere was the location; the moors on Dartmoor. I imagined the scenes playing out within this sparse and baron backdrop, set amongst nature and not much else. I could picture this desolate house and the loneliness that might ensue. I enjoyed the interactions and drama amongst the characters. I found Lauren’s family totally intriguing, and I loved some of the tensions that played out through dinner and visits. They certainly had me nail biting. As it was all told from Georgie’s perspective, I felt I got to know her character deeply and I liked being in her head. The actual writing style is like revisiting an old friend. Within moments, I’d slipped into the story, allowing the voice to carry me through the whole lot. I can totally recommend ‘The New Wife.’ If you’re after an edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller that won’t allow you to put it down, this is it. It quickly bites and it doesn’t let go!
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
October 14, 2021
My Review: Sue Watson you are the Queen of Suspense!!!!! This book kept me guessing from the very first page to the very last page. I could not put this one down for the life of me nor did I want to. I had to find out the truth and find out what happened to Sam’s wife Lauren. They were young and newly married but was her fall really an accident. What secrets could the newly married couple be hiding and were they worth dying for? The whole book was Sam’s mother trying to piece together what really happened to her daughter in law. She devoted her whole life to her son and did not want her son to suffer one ounce of pain. She decided she wanted answers so they could all move on from this awful tragedy and put it behind them. As a mother myself I would do the exact same thing. I would never want to see my son hurt so I would do anything and everything in my power to help my son be happy again even if it means playing detective to find the real killer of my son’s wife. Sam’s mother in my opinion was a very relatable character due to this and that’s why I loved her so much. Now let’s talk about that shocking ending. That very last page, wow. I’m still trying to get over it. Every character in this book had secrets and boy they were all big ones. I would love a sequel to this book to find out what happens to everyone. I really got invested in all the characters and want to know if any of them found true happiness in the end. Sue Watson’s books are the best and I can’t wait for her next book. Lastly, the characters, plot, and the ending of this book made this an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend this book and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Lynette Stinson
November 20, 2021
What an absolutely gripping read! The beginning was slightly a slow start but soon enough I was sucked in through the rest of the book and spit back out at the end with quite satisfaction! There isn’t much I am able to tell without ruining the fun spiral of doubt created in this book so it’s best to just dive into this one clear headed and with as little information to truly enjoy it. It’s one of those that halfway through you think it’s done and it’s all figured out, how can there possible be more to the story? And gloriously there is! Sam and Lauren have known eachother since toddlers. They grow up fall in love and marry. What is supposed to be their happily ever after ends quickly into disaster as Sam comes home late one evening and finds Lauren dead. His mom is Georgie and best friends with Lauren’s parents and together they have to navigate through the grief of losing Lauren and how/why she died. So many secrets! So many winding turns! Such a captivating read and one I highly recommend!
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.