The Friendship List

Sold by HQN Books
This book will become available on May 26, 2020. You will not be charged until it is released.

New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery delights with an engaging novel about two women who are as close as sisters and the summer that changes their lives forever…

As a single mom, Ellen Fox missed out on a lot, but she wouldn’t change a thing—until she overhears her son saying he can’t go to his dream college because she needs him too much. If she wants him to live his best life, she has to convince him she’s living hers.

So Unity Leandre, her best friend since forever, creates a list of challenges to push Ellen out of her comfort zone. Unity will complete the list, too. Only to support her friend, not because she needs to change—she sees no problem with a thirtysomething widow still sleeping in her late husband’s childhood bed.

For both women, The Friendship List begins as a way to make others believe they’re doing just fine. But somewhere between “wear a bikini in public” and “have sex with a gorgeous guy,” Ellen and Unity will discover that life is meant to be lived with joy and abandon, in a story filled with humor, heartache and regrettable tattoos.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

#1 NYT bestselling author Susan Mallery writes heartwarming, humorous novels about the relationships that define our lives—family, friendship, romance. She's known for putting nuanced characters in emotional situations that surprise readers to laughter. Beloved by millions, her books have been translated into 28 languages.Susan lives in Washington with her husband, two cats, and a small poodle with delusions of grandeur. Visit her at SusanMallery.com.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HQN Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 26, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781488055959
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘I ended up reading until the wee small hours of the morning… Certainly took me on an emotional rollercoaster ride with all the ups and downs, the happiness and sadness, the laughs and the sobs.’ Ginger Book Geek ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Tess and Simon Sparrow may have a few more grey hairs than they used to, but that doesn’t stop them being swept up in a whirlwind romance and starting over. Swapping their city lives for an escape to the Cornish countryside, they fall in love with a crumbling hotel and impulsively buy it to renovate as their forever home. But soon the newlyweds have had their first fight (and their second and third…) and building costs are spiralling out of control. Their families think they’re mad and Tess is starting to agree – she just wants to escape back to civilisation.


Doing up the glorious, wisteria-clad property was meant to be a delightful retirement project. But the electrics are faulty, there’s no central heating, and the kitchen ceiling’s fallen in: the dream has become reality and things only get more chaotic when the first guests arrive…


Mysterious Celia, hapless romantic Dominic and tarnished, lovelorn actress Titania are all looking for a fresh start. Everyone in this eclectic group has their own reasons for being in Cornwall, but the summer is full of secrets and surprises. As plans go awry and truths are revealed, Tess and Simon realise that they’ve taken on a bigger challenge than they intended to: can their happily-ever-after survive the chaos or will this end up being the biggest mistake of their lives?


From the bestselling author of The Runaway Wife and The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane, this is a completely uplifting page-turner about embracing new friendships, finding love and making each day count. Perfect for fans of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village.


Why readers are loving The Golden Oldies Guesthouse:


‘Five golden stars for Dee McDonald’s latest… charming… The Golden Oldies Guesthouse features humour with a deft touch, charm, fun, love and romance.’ Jena Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Utterly charming!... It’s gentle, humorous, heart-warming and packed full of characters that you will remember long after the book is finished. I adored every word and my only complaint is that the story ended!’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Absolutely loved everything about this book. It was charming and fun. I loved the characters and settings. Will be recommending.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Loved this book, the characters, the setting. A really special read one I didn’t want to end. I will be recommending this.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved this book, it was a perfect summer read and it made me laugh loud more than once. I loved the quirky and well written characters and the plot. I look forward to reading other books by this author. Highly recommended!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A hilarious romp… larger than life characters…Told as only Dee Macdonald can tell these stories of ‘older folk’ having another swipe at life and all that follows this book is funny, heart-warming, makes you feel good… a joy to read… 10/10.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An absolutely delightful read… If you want a book to snuggle up with and totally enjoy then this is it… totally enchanted with this one.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book has everything in it. Romance, humour, mystery and some unlikely friendships... An engaging, fun and heart-warming read.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘How this book made me laugh and made me realise that at the age of 63 life is not over for me. Whopping 5 stars’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A perfect, feel-good festive read about love, life and family.

Tis the season to be jolly...isn’t it?

Amelia is at breaking point. She’s just lost her job and Doug, the love of her life, still hasn’t broken up with his girlfriend. Surely a trip to the quiet countryside is just what she needs?

Phil is about to leave beautiful Buttersley for the other side of the world! The sunny shores of Australia will mean a new life with his girlfriend, but something is holding him back...

Ella has never felt this way before – Jake O’Donnell is the most gorgeous man she’s ever seen. And the more time she spends babysitting his kids, the more her feelings grow!

Stan should be happy. He loves his wife and their adorable baby girl more than anything! So why, when everything’s finally going right, are they arguing more than ever?

One thing’s for sure, even when Buttersley’s first snowflakes begin to fall, it’s never too cold for love to blossom...

Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Cathy Bramley and Claire Sandy.

Praise for A Winter’s Wish:

‘A great, comfy read- curl up in the armchair with a lovely cuppa and lose yourself with everyone in Buttersley.’ – Bookworms and Shutterbugs

‘Heartwarming and touching.’ – Sweet is Always in Style

‘Unpredictable and joyous!’ – Lilac Diaries

‘A lovely seasonal feel-good book...a joy to read.’ – Lisa Houston (NetGalley reviewer)

‘A great read at any time of the year, but especially leading up to Christmas!’ – Gemma Gray (NetGalley reviewer)

Don’t miss these three fan-favorite tales of small-town romance from #1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery Hometown Heartbreakers series!

Part-Time Wife

Rugged police officer Craig Haynes comes from a long line of heartbreakers. But he’s hoping to change that…especially when it comes to Jill Bradford, his sons’ new nanny. Two parts sweetness, one part-sin, the pint-sized redhead proves to be a miracle-worker with his three rambunctious boys. Except Jill Bradford isn’t looking to open her wary heart to anyone. Will the Haynes family turn out to be what’s she been looking for all along?

Originally published in 1996

Holly and Mistletoe

When firefighter Jordan Haynes rescues Holly Garrett’s mischievous cat, Mistletoe, from her burning apartment, he winds up in the hospital. Holly, a shy, innocent 28-year-old, feels so bad about Jordan’s injuries that she stops by his hospital bed and begins visiting him at home, as well. Soon she’s not only preparing his evening meals but also giving him sponge baths, and she definitely isn’t prepared for the sexy glances Jordan throws her way or the feelings that he awakens in her.

Jordan knows that Holly is awkward and inexperienced, but there’s something so bewitching about her, and he just can’t let her be alone for Christmas. No, he can play the needy patient for as long as it takes to convince Holly to keep him company through the holidays—if not longer.

Originally published in 1996

Husband by the Hour

Hannah Pace needed a pretend husband—fast! She lied to her long-lost mother about being married, and now she had to produce the groom. So she hired hometown bad boy Nick Archer. Though he wasn’t every mother’s dream, he sure was Hannah’s hottest fantasy….

Trouble was, Nick relished the part a bit too much. Dizzying kisses, heated glances, tender touches. Minute by minute, Nick’s paid performance was feeling all too real. And soon Hannah wanted him to be a husband for life…

Originally published in 1997
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.