Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel

· The Brown Sisters Book 1 · Sold by HarperCollins
4.1
61 reviews
eBook
384
Pages
Eligible

About this eBook

“Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” – Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride Test

USA TODAY BESTSELLER

A witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

  • Enjoy a drunken night out.
  • Ride a motorcycle.
  • Go camping.
  • Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
  • Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
  • And... do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

"This is an extraordinary book, full of love, generosity, kindness and sharp humor." — The New York Times Book Review

*Featured on the TODAY Show! Named a Best Romance of 2019 by Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Apple, and Amazon, and Best of November from Essence, Woman's Day, Marie Claire, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, Bookish, Bookpage, Entertainment Weekly, and Washington Post*

4.1
61 reviews
Gaele Hi
5 December 2019
You’ve seen the publicity and talk around this book – and I’m going to tell you that every bit of it is completely spot on. Yes, this book was a favorite – from the characters, to Hibbert’s dealing with a chronic pain issue, past disappointments, isolation, subtle and not so subtle jabs at confidence, self-determination and, above all, finding a way through it all. Chloe and her sisters are a breath of fresh air: completely different yet bonded and utterly supportive, the story takes Chloe from her isolation into a list that will help her to “get a life’ after finding herself faced with the possibility of her demise, a tragically boring obituary and the need to overcome her fears and the pain she faces every day. Seeing herself as self-reliant and independent isn’t simply a goal – she’s made it her mission, with mixed reactions from all of her family with the exception of one very outrageous and “in your face” grandmother who simply challenges her to ‘do it’. Moving from her family home to her own garden-level apartment in a non-descript block, far different from her life to this point, it’s not just her posh accent and rather sharp manner that differentiates her from her neighbors and building superintendent, but her need to remain in control of everything – from her managing her pain to designing her client’s websites and internet presence. But the attraction and fascination with Red, the gorgeous man who lives across the courtyard and spends his evenings shirtless and painting, but seems to have a problem with her. They’ve only exchanged a few words – most of them curt, and his dislike of her niggles and hurts – even as she tries to convince herself it doesn’t. There is a story there, and with a few moments where ‘truce’ is declared, she starts to see some of it, and gets more intrigued. Red was hurt badly by an ex, who brought him and his unique views and paintings into the art world. Relying on her, he didn’t see the truth until it was too late – and he packed up everything and disappeared. He understands losses and people who don’t deserve the friendship offered – particularly to Chloe who was dumped by her boyfriend who didn’t believe her pain and friends who tired of trying to be there. Together, with the help of a ‘found cat’, sisters who don’t quit, a list that included riding a motorcycle, meaningless sex and camping – and with a few hiccups along the way – the two are a wonderful couple – both stridently defensive and supportive of the other, in ways that are sweet, funny, frustrating and ultimately so very right. Hibbert created characters that you want to know – invite them in for a glass (or three) of wine, and just hang out sharing and laughing. Treating Chloe’s illness with a matter-of-fact-this-is-my-life approach, sharing the good and bad, and showing that Red, despite his being ‘strong and macho’ is able and willing to ask for help and learn to change – all for the better. Nothing will keep these two down for long, despite some truly horrible circumstances, and the hope and love from all corners flies in and demands that readers pay attention and feel for the characters as deeply as they feel themselves – adding a level of emotional impact to a story that celebrates the human in us all – no matter the ‘outer wrappings’ with which they are judged daily. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Lady_Drii Drii
28 March 2020
Perfection.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Lenore Kosinski
16 February 2021
4.5 stars — I don’t even know where to begin you guys. I adored it. Like I could feel the stupid grin spreading across my face and couldn’t stop it kind of adored it. Like I cried near the end because I’m stupidly emotional adored it. It started off feeling a bit enemies to lovers-ish (or hate to love?), but that didn’t last as long as I’d expected. And once we got to the crushes and the tingles and the feelings? Ugh, I was so in it was disgusting. This is my first book by Ms. Hibbert, but I can tell you right now it won’t be my last. She has this absolutely quirky way of describing feelings that just had me highlighting everything. It just made *sense* to me. It was a bit non-sensical, but it made sense. I just love seeing the world through her eyes. Chloe was such a complex character. I was worried I wasn’t going to like her at first, b/c she has SUCH a wall wrapped around her, protecting her from emotional pain. But there’s so much going on under that, and you really came to feel and understand all the little things that make her who she is. She was smart, smart-*mouthed*, sassy, irreverent. And deep down she was caring and empathetic, even if she tried to keep it hidden. I think I was gone for her when she rescued Smudge. And then there’s Red. Red had all these positive attributes that anyone could see, but it was hiding some deep hurts/traumas underneath. I loved that he could be vulnerable. And OMG that boy was hilarious. I really loved seeing the world in colours through his eyes. And he was just so earnest. They both had these huge journeys to undergo, and they made those steps both together and apart. It was nice to have their journeys linked. Their chemistry was fantastic. From the bantering and teasing to the steamy moments that came later, it was all good stuff for me. And I loved how much they cared for one another and wanted to be there for one another. It was also fascinating to learn more about fibromyalgia through Chloe’s eyes. I’ve known about it, but it just feels so much more personal now, you know? Lots of fabulous secondary characters, I am DYING to read about Dani and Eve now. And I loved that Red had Vikram in his corner, even if we didn’t get many scenes with him. All in all it was just fun, and refreshing, and emotional, and made me feel so satisfied in the end.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Talia Hibbert is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling Black British author who lives in a bedroom full of books. Supposedly, there is a world beyond that room, but she has yet to drum up enough interest to investigate. She writes sexy, diverse romance because she believes that people of marginalised identities need honest and positive representation. Her interests include beauty, junk food, and unnecessary sarcasm.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.