The Naturalist's Daughter

Sold by HarperCollins Australia
1
Free sample

A woman's bungled act of kindness sparks a chain of events that reverberates through the generations uncovering secrets, lies and the biggest scientific controversy of the nineteenth century, the classification of the platypus.

Two women, a century apart, are drawn into a mystery surrounding the biggest scientific controversy of the nineteenth century, the classification of the platypus.

1808 Agnes Banks, NSW

Rose Winton wants nothing more than to work with her father, eminent naturalist Charles Winton, on his groundbreaking study of the platypus. Not only does she love him with all her heart, but the discoveries they have made could turn the scientific world on its head. When Charles is unable to make the long sea journey to present his findings to the prestigious Royal Society in England, Rose must venture forth in his stead. What she discovers there will change the lives of future generations.

1908 Sydney, NSW

Tamsin Alleyn has been given a mission: travel to the Hunter Valley and retrieve an old sketchbook of debateable value, gifted to the Mitchell Library by a recluse. But when she gets there, she finds there is more to the book than meets the eye, and more than one interested party. Shaw Everdene, a young antiquarian bookseller and lawyer, seems to have his own agenda when it comes to the book but Tamsin decides to work with him to try and discover the book's true provenance. The deeper they delve, the more intricate the mystery becomes.

As the lives of two women a century apart converge, discoveries rise up from the past and reach into the future, with irrevocable consequences...

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Tea Cooper is an established author of contemporary and historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, journalist and farmer.
These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling.

To find out more, visit Tea on her website.

You can also follow Tea on:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins Australia
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 1, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
368
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781489242433
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The gold rush begins, and Kate O'Mara is determined to never go hungry again.

Kate O'Mara, orphaned by the great potato famine, is driven by her fear of hunger – first to take the four-month voyage to the other side of the world, then to consider the long, dangerous journey along an unformed track to the remote north of South Australia. Brigid Mulcahey has been with her since the workhouse, and begs her not to put her life in danger, but Kate must secure a job.



Life in the Flinders Ranges is rougher and more perilous than she or Brigid could ever have imagined. Every day that she stays, the dangers loom closer. But she cannot leave. There is little work elsewhere, and the wealthy, polished pastoralist James Carmichael is an eligible man. Could fine dinners, silk gowns, and her very own share of this great golden land be within Kate's grasp?



And what about Rory O'Connor? Charming, footloose Rory, with a twinkle in his eye and a place in his heart, offering a carefree life on the track. There could be nothing better than lying in his arms, a blanket of stars across the sky and the chorus of birds heralding the dawn, but memories of Ireland, and fears of the hunger, still haunt her.



Gold fever erupts throughout the colony, and for James, Rory, Brigid and Kate, life will never be the same again. But can Kate ever, truly, leave Ireland behind? And in whose arms will she find what she really needs?



This historical romance is perfect for readers of Judy Nunn, Diana Gabaldon and Colleen McCollough.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.