One Night with an Earl

· The Daring Ladies Book 1 · Sold by Entangled: Amara
13 reviews

About this ebook

Ana Gardner is determined to lose her virginity before her thirtieth birthday. She’s no stranger to fake identities, having posed as a chaperone since the scandal that destroyed her titled family. So she dons a mask, changes into a low-cut red gown, and attends the city’s most elite brothel, the Silver Chalice.

Oliver Bedford, the imposing Earl of Drake, is only at the Silver Chalice to appease his debauched friends—until he spots Lady Scarlet. She’s refreshing...and a complete mystery. Certain she’s a lady in disguise, Oliver is determined to learn her identity, but she eludes him at every turn.

Their night together is unforgettable—until Ana discovers just who her mystery lover truly is: the Earl of Drake. The same earl whose family is responsible for her father’s death and her family’s ruin. But Oliver is not one to give up when he finds something he wants. And he wants Ana. In his bed and in his life. But first, he must persuade her to trust him...and that one wild, passionate night can turn into forever.

Each book in the Daring Ladies series is STANDALONE:
* One Night with an Earl
* How Not to Marry a Duke

Ratings and reviews

13 reviews
Viper Spaulding
October 20, 2021
Not one, but two secret identities! Ana is just trying to survive after her father's mistakes left her and her brother on their own. She's finding her way well enough as a companion to the young daughter of a marquess, but accepting her inevitable spinsterhood has left her wanting just one night of passion before her impending thirtieth birthday. Oliver is fascinated by the mysterious Lady Scarlet and wants far more than just one night, even though he knows he should be pursuing a proper marriage to a proper young miss, like the beautiful yet too-young Lady Penelope, instead. But when he meets Lady Penelope's paid companion, he knows he simply can't move on from Ana regardless of the impropriety of it all. I loved the delicate dance between Oliver and Ana as she learns that he's nothing like his late father and brother, and he learns that there's more to his alluring Lady Scarlet than he'd first thought. But there are still more secrets to be spilled, and when they are the heartbreaking results were almost too much to bear. By the end, we're happily rejoicing at not just Oliver and Ana's HEA but that of another couple as well. I wasn't entirely happy with the distribution of the estate in question (no spoilers, sorry) but all in all the romance hit every note beautifully. I really appreciated the wonderful inclusion of Ana's mixed heritage and the insights into that other culture. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
Did you find this helpful?
Peggy Collins
October 20, 2021
Following a tragedy (caused in part by the former Earl of Drake) that destroyed her family, Lady Anahit Woodbridge, now known as Ana Gardner, works as a companion to a young girl in order to provide for herself and her brother. Oliver Bedford has always been interested in the estates and people in the Drake Earldom, but he never wanted the title. At the deaths of both his father and older brother, he became the Earl of Drake. The terrible history between their families should have made them enemies, but Fate had a different plan. Ana and Oliver are a great couple. They meet under quite unusual circumstances and the attraction is immediate and the passion sizzling. There are some interesting secondary characters in the story. I love Oliver’s friend, the Duke of Warwick. He is not your typical duke. He would rather be in his workshop than Parliament. Ana’s charge, Penelope, and her love, Timothy, cause a bit of a stir with their determination to be together. Ana’s brother Adam is delightful. This is an interesting story with great characters and a wonderful happy ending. I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. My review is voluntary.
Did you find this helpful?
Leesm Leesm
March 2, 2022
ppĺ i
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Tina Gabrielle, an Amazon best-selling author, is an attorney and former mechanical engineer whose love of reading for pleasure helped her get through years of academia. She's the author of adventurous Regency romances In The Barrister's Bed, In The Barrister's Chambers, Lady Of Scandal, and A Perfect Scandal from Kensington Books. "A Spy Unmasked" is the first book in her new Regency romance series, "In The Crown's Secret Service," from Entangled Publishing. "At The Spy's Pleasure" will be available in May 2015. Tina's books have been Barnes & Noble top picks, and her first book, Lady Of Scandal, was nominated as best first historical by RomanticTimes Book Reviews.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.