We Were Sisters: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller

· Bookouture
4.4
27 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

I turn to where I left my baby in his pushchair and pull up short. With a racing heart, I look around wildly, fear gripping my stomach. I only looked away for a moment. The pushchair and my baby are gone.


Kelly is taking her twin daughters to their first day of school, ushering them into the classroom, her heart breaking to think they might not need her any more, when she turns around and sees that her newborn baby is gone.


As a desperate search ensues, baby Noah is quickly found – parked in front of a different classroom. But when Kelly reaches forward to comfort him, she finds something tucked in the side of his blanket. A locket that belonged to her sister Freya. A locket Kelly hasn’t seen since the day Freya died.


And then Kelly’s perfectly-ordered life begins to unravel…


We Were Sisters is a heart-pounding suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to stop reading this incredible book.


What readers are saying about We Were Sisters:

I started reading it and didn't stop reading until 2 am. It was impossible to put down… thrilling and mysterious the entire way and by the end, my jaw dropped. The ending wasn't something I expected at all.’ Living My Best Book Life, 5 stars


‘I couldn’t wait to get to the next chapter to find out what happened next. I just couldn’t get enough of this book and stayed up all night reading. I absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Had me on the edge of my seat and my heart pounding throughout!! From suspected murder to manipulation to kidnapping you definitely won't be disappointed!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I loved this book from start to finish… I was kept on my toes trying to work out how the pieces fitted together, at one point I was so convinced I’d cracked it that I actually gasped out loud! And yet I still didn't see the ending coming… Once I started I couldn’t put it down until I had finished.’ Four More Chapters, 5 stars


‘Another page-turner from an author whose books I will jump at any opportunity to read… This one did not disappoint and kept me fully engaged until the final page… compelling.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Definitely a thriller that I didn't want to put down… You won't want to stop reading this book once you start!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘What an amazing breath of fresh air!! I've been waiting so long for a book like this.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Incredibly suspenseful and kept me guessing until almost the very last page.’ Cay Costa


Drew me right in from the first pagesfull of twists and turns… A book that kept me up late guessing to the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Very twisty and very emotional… this book keeps you wanting to read till the last page, I so loved this story. Highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Loved this book… Gripping and well written. Another great author to add to my list of must reads. A brilliant book.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I really enjoyed this, it was fast-paced with a compelling narrative. I found myself getting dragged into the narrator’s own doubts about her sanity, and the ending was not what I expected. Couldn’t put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A fantastic and engrossing thriller. I could not put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.4
27 reviews
Marnie Harrison
August 10, 2019
2 for 2! Wendy has done it again! After reading Wendy’s debut in the psychological thriller genre What She Saw, I was blown away by it and for We Were Sisters, she has blown me away again! Wendy absolutely nails it and is now not just a rising star in this genre, she is now a star of this genre! Right from the first chapter I was taken hostage and was not released until the final page. Wendy really excels in getting the readers attention right from the beginning and keeping you enthralled throughout. This is an intriguing tale that is filled with suspense, secrets, lies and betrayal that keeps you on the edge of your seat till the jaw dropping conclusion. Also I cannot go without mentioning the cover of this book. It is so striking and lets off an ominous vibe that compliments the story well. Wendy has created a tightly woven well researched story, that takes the reader on an emotional rollercoaster. It is told from the perspective of main character Kelly and uses the present to the past aspect extremely well throughout. We are given a thorough insight into Kelly’s character and how her relationship with her parents as well as her foster sister Freya, have shaped her into the person she is in the present. The blurb tells enough of what the story is about that I don’t want to say anymore on this as I don’t want to reveal any spoilers. The range of characters for me, we’re both a mix of likeable and unlikable. I really resonated with Kelly and felt sympathy for her and was rooting for her throughout. Her husband Mitch on the other hand, frustrated me to no end with his lack of empathy towards his wife’s struggles and her mother was just a horrible human being with how she treated her. With Freya, I instantly had a feeling of unease with her. in saying that I did feel sympathy towards her as I can’t even begin to imagine what it would feel like going from one foster family to another and the effects that would have on you mentally. She has been written perfectly to make me feel both of these conflicting emotions and definitely comes to life within the pages. I really love Wendy’s writing style. With the short snappy chapters, everything just flows effortlessly with one chapter turning into one more, then one more until there was no more left and even though I was disappointed that the story was over, I did walk away feeling satisfied that I had just read another addictive first class 5 star read!! We have definitely been spoiled with two books from Wendy this year and I for one cannot wait to see what she will have in store for us next. Thank-you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Wendy Clarke for allowing me to read an advance copy of We Were Sisters which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
8 people found this review helpful
A Google user
July 5, 2019
This was my first book by Wendy Clarke and she surely did not disappoint. This book had a world wind of emotions in it for me. I really connected with all the characters and laughed and cried with them. I can’t say enough good things about this book. This book was about a sisters bond that couldn’t be broken even through all the lies and deception that took place in the past. They were two souls bonded through tragedy and heartache. I want to start off by saying that the characters really made this book. I was able to identify with Kelly and all her anxiety and OCD issues that she had in her life because of trying to deal with her past trauma. I also liked in the end that Kelly overcame some of these issues and started to forgive the people that caused her all this heartache over the years. I also liked the other sister Freya. The author wrote her as a character who you wanted to hate but also felt bad for her in the end. You just never knew if she could really be trusted or if her motives were pure. These sisters had a bond like no other and it truly showed in the end. This book had so many twists you never knew what was coming next. I couldn’t wait to get to the next chapter to find out what happened next. I just couldn’t get enough of this book and stayed up all night reading. I absolutely loved this book. Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
7 people found this review helpful
Lee Husemann
August 8, 2019
What a roller-coaster ride this book was. Kelly is the product of a lot of childhood issues centered around her parents always hosting foster care children in their home. Her husband, Mitch, is the product of an unhappy childhood in the foster care system. They have 3 young children and all of a sudden memories start to resurface from Kelly's childhood as well as strange events begin happening. Plenty of twists and turns in this book! Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this fantastic book which was a real page-turner that I thoroughly enjoyed.
2 people found this review helpful

About the author

 

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.