Die letzte Firewall: SciFi-Thriller

Luzifer-Verlag

"Ein erstaunlicher Ausblick in eine plausible Zukunft." [Brad Feld, Geschäftsführer der Foundry Group] Inhalt: Im Jahr 2035 sind Roboter, Künstliche Intelligenzen und Neuralimplantate zu einer Selbstverständlichkeit geworden. Das Institut für Angewandte Ethik sorgt durch ein soziales Reputationssystem für Ausgleich, um sicherzustellen, dass Menschen und Roboter nicht der Gesellschaft oder sich gegenseitig Schaden zufügen. Doch eine mächtige KI namens Adam hat eine Methode entwickelt, diese Beschränkungen zu umgehen. Die neunzehnjährige Catherine Matthews hat eine einzigartige Fähigkeit: Sie kann das globale Netz mit ihrem Neuralimplantat manipulieren. Unvermittelt aus ihrem normalen Alltagsleben gerissen muss sie zur letzten Firewall zwischen Adam und seinen Plänen zur Weltherrschaft werden. -------------------------------- "Eine ebenso hellsichtige wie eindringliche Geschichte über das, was aus der Menschheit werden könnte und über die Maschinen, die sie erschaffen könnte." [Ben Huh, CEO von Cheezburger] "Ein echter Lesespaß und eine verblüffende Studie über die Technologien der Zukunft: schockierend und einladend zugleich." [Harper Reed, früherer CTO von Obama for America und Threadless] "Ein faszinierender und hellsichtiger Blick auf unsere Welt und wie sie aussehen könnte, wenn die Computer intelligenter als die Menschen werden. Sehr zu empfehlen." [Mat Ellis, Gründer und CEO von Cloudability] "Ein phänomenaler Ritt durch eine Welt des Überflusses, in der Menschen zum Spielball einer abtrünnigen KI werden. Wenn sie ihren Geist erweitern wollen, müssen sie dieses Buch lesen!" [Gene Kim, Autor von The Phoenix Project: A Novel About IT, DevOps und Helping Your Business Win]
Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Luzifer-Verlag
Read more
Published on
Apr 30, 2018
Read more
Pages
300
Read more
ISBN
9783958353121
Read more
Language
German
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Technological
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
By day, Angie, a twenty-year veteran of the tech industry, is a data analyst at Tomo, the world's largest social networking company; by night, she exploits her database access to profile domestic abusers and kill the worst of them. She can't change her own traumatic past, but she can save other women.

When Tomo introduces a deceptive new product that preys on users’ fears to drive up its own revenue, Angie sees Tomo for what it really is—another evil abuser. Using her coding and hacking expertise, she decides to destroy Tomo by building a new social network that is completely distributed, compartmentalized, and unstoppable. If she succeeds, it will be the end of all centralized power in the Internet. 

But how can an anti-social, one-armed programmer with too many dark secrets succeed when the world’s largest tech company is out to crush her and a no-name government black ops agency sets a psychopath to look into her growing digital footprint? 

“Awesome, thrilling, and creepy: a fast-paced portrayal of the startup world, and the perils of our personal data and technical infrastructure in the wrong hands.”
—Brad Feld, managing director of Foundry Group 

“His most ambitious work yet. A murder thriller about high tech surveillance and espionage in the startup world. Like the best of Tom Clancy and Barry Eisner.”
—Gene Kim, author of The Phoenix Project

“Explores the creation and effects of the templated self, the rise of structured identity and one-size-fits-all media culture, and feasible alternatives.”
—Amber Case, author of Calm Technology

Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle, a member of the Russian mob, coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the mob’s botnet - the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.

The evolutionary virus Leon creates, based on biological principles, is successful -- too successful. All the world’s computers are infected. Everything from cars to payment systems and, of course, computers and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions may die.

But evolution never stops. The virus continues to evolve, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization. Some may be friendly to humans, but others are not.

Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the virus race and restore the world’s computer infrastructure.

Praise for the Singularity Series:

“Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.” —Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William shows that science fiction is becoming science fact.” —Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.” —Jason Glaspey, SILICON FLORIST

“An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.” —Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS 

 David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

WINNER SCIENCE FICTION DIY BOOK FESTIVAL 2011-2012

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." -- Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.” -- Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization.  I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." -- Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS

"A fictional world where Portland is the hub for the most exciting advancements in technology... [J]am packed with great references to deep Portland culture...and Portlandia-type references" -- SILICON FLORIST
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.