It Happened One Fright

Matchmaker Mysteries

Book 8
13 Lakes Publishing
3
Free sample

 It Happened One Fright is the 8th installment of the hilarious Matchmaker Mysteries Series.

*

Spencer might have marriage on his mind, but Gladie is distracted by her best friend’s troubles and a busy matchmaking month. The father of Bridget’s baby is threatening to take custody away from her, and when he winds up murdered, Bridget becomes the top suspect. Now, Gladie must juggle her own love life, her matchmaking, and proving that Bridget is innocent, not to mention dealing with the town’s attempt to break the world record for the largest Easter egg hunt. But poking around is dangerous, and Gladie could be next on the killer’s hit list.

*

It Happened One Fright is proof that sometimes love comes with a few dead ends.

 

“Elise Sax will win your heart.”New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis
 
“Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out.”—New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig

“With quirky characters reminiscent of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series and a small-town heroine redolent of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse” --RT Book Reviews
 
“Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”Booklist, on An Affair to Dismember
 
“A lighthearted and amusing caper with a sexy side order of romance . . . Gladie is an endearing mess of a character, and the book is fast-paced and amusing, with a large cast of quirky, small-town characters.”Kirkus Reviewson Matchpoint
 
“There’s plenty for fans to enjoy in Sax’s third Matchmaker installment, complete with energetic narration, zany humor and a mystery that’s as engaging as the details of Gladie’s love life.”RT Book Reviewson Love Game

Read more

About the author

 Elise Sax writes hilarious happy endings. She worked as a journalist, mostly in Paris, France for many years but always wanted to write fiction. Finally, she decided to go for her dream and write a novel. She was thrilled when An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker Mysteries series, was sold at auction.


Elise is an overwhelmed single mother of two boys in Southern California. She's an avid traveler, a swing dancer, an occasional piano player, and an online shopping junkie. 

Friend her on Facebook: facebook.com/ei.sax.9
Send her an email: elisesax@gmail.com
You can also visit her website: elisesax.com
And sign up for her newsletter to know about new releases and sales: elisesax.com/mailing-list.php

Read more
5.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
13 Lakes Publishing
Read more
Published on
Nov 27, 2017
Read more
Pages
294
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 “Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

 *
“With quirky characters reminiscent of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series and a small-town heroine redolent of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse, Sax’s second Matchmaker novel will no doubt delight fans and new readers alike. With its charming cast and an intriguing mystery, this fast-paced, zany story provides great fun and features some impressive ingenuity. The love triangle woven into the plot adds an amusing diversion to the main story and will keep readers gleefully trying to guess whodunit.”—RT Book Reviews
 *
“Sax’s second novel is a fun, funny romp of a mystery mixed with a sexy love triangle. Gladie is an endearing mess of a character, and the book is fast-paced and amusing, with a large cast of quirky, small-town characters that flesh out a well-crafted, entertaining storyline. A lighthearted and amusing caper with a sexy side order of romance.”—Kirkus Reviews
 *
“A cheeky series that has plenty of romantic complications, danger and humor to keep pages going!”—The Parkersburg News and Sentinel
 *
“Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out.”—New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig

 *

Lovably troublesome Gladie Burger runs into sizzling danger and a fiery love triangle in the second installment of Elise Sax’s hilarious and sexy Matchmaker Mysteries series.

*
Since joining the family matchmaking business run by her eccentric and psychic Grandma Zelda, Gladie is always looking for love. But when an unbearable toothache knocks her out of commission and into the dentist’s chair, she prays only for relief. No such luck. Emerging from an anesthetic haze, Gladie awakes to find that not only is her tooth still throbbing, but her dentist is dead—and the lead suspect in the murder, office receptionist Belinda, just so happens to be Gladie’s first real client. Now it’s up to Gladie to find Belinda a man and keep her from being locked up behind bars.

As if that weren’t enough distraction, two gorgeous men are vying for Gladie’s attention: Spencer, the playboy chief of police, and Holden, Gladie’s secretive, gorgeously muscled neighbor. Still, Gladie’s not complaining about having a helping hand or two when the case leads her to a dangerously bizarre cult. She may have met her match—and if she’s not careful, it could be her last.

 “There’s plenty for fans to enjoy in Sax’s third Matchmaker installment, complete with energetic narration, zany humor and a mystery that’s as engaging as the details of Gladie’s love life. . . . There are some exciting twists and turns here, from the explosive opening (literally) to the final surprise that will keep expectations high for future installments.”—RT Book Reviews

*

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s wickedly funny Matchmaker Mysteries series proves that the road to love comes with a few dead ends.
*
Five months have passed since Gladie Burger came to Cannes, California, to join her eccentric Grandma Zelda in the family matchmaking business, and Gladie is quickly mastering the rules of attraction. Her latest fix-up is still going strong and Gladie’s bank account is back in the black—until a rival matchmaker arrives in town and has both Gladie and Zelda seeing red. 
*
Not only is self-proclaimed psychic Luanda Laughing-Eagle stealing Grandma Zelda’s clients, but Zelda is convinced that Luanda’s ESP is total BS. She tasks Gladie with exposing Luanda as a fraud, but Gladie’s attention is diverted when murder comes a-calling. Spencer Bolton, the gorgeous chief of police and Gladie’s on-again, off-again flame, wants her to stay out of the investigation—and away from the deliciously chiseled detective who also aims to win Gladie’s heart. But the one thing Gladie’s learned is that in business, love and murder . . . it’s always personal.

 “Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

 *
“With quirky characters reminiscent of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series and a small-town heroine redolent of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse, Sax’s second Matchmaker novel will no doubt delight fans and new readers alike. With its charming cast and an intriguing mystery, this fast-paced, zany story provides great fun and features some impressive ingenuity. The love triangle woven into the plot adds an amusing diversion to the main story and will keep readers gleefully trying to guess whodunit.”—RT Book Reviews
 *
“Sax’s second novel is a fun, funny romp of a mystery mixed with a sexy love triangle. Gladie is an endearing mess of a character, and the book is fast-paced and amusing, with a large cast of quirky, small-town characters that flesh out a well-crafted, entertaining storyline. A lighthearted and amusing caper with a sexy side order of romance.”—Kirkus Reviews
 *
“A cheeky series that has plenty of romantic complications, danger and humor to keep pages going!”—The Parkersburg News and Sentinel
 *
“Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out.”—New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig

 *

Lovably troublesome Gladie Burger runs into sizzling danger and a fiery love triangle in the second installment of Elise Sax’s hilarious and sexy Matchmaker Mysteries series.

*
Since joining the family matchmaking business run by her eccentric and psychic Grandma Zelda, Gladie is always looking for love. But when an unbearable toothache knocks her out of commission and into the dentist’s chair, she prays only for relief. No such luck. Emerging from an anesthetic haze, Gladie awakes to find that not only is her tooth still throbbing, but her dentist is dead—and the lead suspect in the murder, office receptionist Belinda, just so happens to be Gladie’s first real client. Now it’s up to Gladie to find Belinda a man and keep her from being locked up behind bars.

As if that weren’t enough distraction, two gorgeous men are vying for Gladie’s attention: Spencer, the playboy chief of police, and Holden, Gladie’s secretive, gorgeously muscled neighbor. Still, Gladie’s not complaining about having a helping hand or two when the case leads her to a dangerously bizarre cult. She may have met her match—and if she’s not careful, it could be her last.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.