The City of Lost Fortunes

Sold by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Free sample

The fate of New Orleans rests in the hands of a wayward grifter in this novel of gods, games, and monsters.   Jude Dubuisson knows things he shouldn’t. He has the supernatural ability to find lost things, a gift passed down to him by the father he has never known—a father who was more than human. But so much was lost during Hurricane Katrina that it played havoc with Jude’s magic, leaving him overwhelmed and cursed.
            Jude has been lying low since the waters receded, hiding from his own power, his divine former employer, and a debt owed to the fortune god of New Orleans. When the fortune god is murdered, Jude is drawn back into a world full of magic, monsters, and miracles—and a deep conspiracy that threatens the city’s soul. As Jude investigates the fortune god’s death before the killer can strike again, he discovers what his talent for lost things has always been trying to show him: what it means to be his father’s son.
Read more

About the author

BRYAN CAMP is a graduate of the Clarion West Writers Workshop and the MFA program at the University of New Orleans. He started his first novel, The City of Lost Fortunes, in the back of his parents’ car as they evacuated during Hurricane Katrina.
Read more
5 total

Additional Information

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Read more
Published on
Apr 17, 2018
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Ghost
Read more
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A stand-alone fantasy tale from Seanan McGuire's Alex-award winning Wayward Children series, which began in the Alex, Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Award-winning, World Fantasy Award finalist, Tiptree Honor List Every Heart a Doorway

Beneath the Sugar Sky, the third book in McGuire's Wayward Children series, returns to Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children in a standalone contemporary fantasy for fans of all ages. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the "real" world.

When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived. But Rini can’t let Reality get in the way of her quest – not when she has an entire world to save! (Much more common than one would suppose.)

If she can't find a way to restore her mother, Rini will have more than a world to save: she will never have been born in the first place. And in a world without magic, she doesn’t have long before Reality notices her existence and washes her away. Good thing the student body is well-acquainted with quests...

A tale of friendship, baking, and derring-do.

Warning: May contain nuts.

The Wayward Children Series
Book 1: Every Heart a Doorway
Book 2: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Book 3: Beneath the Sugar Sky
Book 4: In an Absent Dream

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The road to Hell is paved with godly intentions.

Everything is a chess match ... and Lady Hel is in it to win it!
The gods have rewound time on Midgard to fix the latest shenanigans of Lady Hel and Loki, but there are some things even the gods can’t fix.
In their haste, they’ve left pockets of magic behind, and now new magical beings are rising.
Of course, Lady Hel is going to use this to her advantage. The goddess of Helheim is after the crown of her beloved Elf King and will stop at nothing to retrieve it.
Back in Asgard, Sif finds herself at the mercy of the gods; she’s learning not everything that glitters is gold. Secrets abound as the gods attempt to force her and Thor closer together. She has her reservations – which she’s pretending to have nothing to do with Loki.
Thor’s hoping to redeem himself, and that’s hard to do when he’s considered to be at fault for the entire debacle that he and Midgard find themselves in. He also wishes to redeem his image in Sif’s sight, and that means traveling back to the pockets of magic left over from the Dark Elves recent retreat so he can close them. She’s the key to closing these pockets, which means they will have to work together, even if she doesn’t desire to.
Broken promises, bad magic, and enmity are all the ingredients needed to spark another battle, and secrets unveiled. How can you trust those who betray you?
Don’t miss out on this series readers are loving filled with action and adventure, Norse gods, and tons of magic.
Grab your copy now!
Enjoy all of the books in this series:
Hellish, Book 1
Hellbent, Book 2
Helltown, Book 3
Hellbound, Book 4
Hellraiser, Book 5
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.