Valkyrie Freed: A Medium Burn, Slow Build, Why Choose Paranormal Romance

· Valkyries Rising Book 8 · Shannon Pemrick
1 review

About this ebook

Killing immortals doesn’t take as much effort as one might think. Killing gods? That’s a whole other story. And when it comes to killing my mother… Don’t get me started.

I thought I knew everything about my life, until a Norse god of war showed up at my family’s retreat with literal centuries of baggage—some of it mine. Turns out I’m a woman with lifetimes of magic that I knew nothing about.

Now, I’m a Valkyrie. Did I mention, my father turned out to be immortal and my best friend is now my boyfriend? Oh, Diego’s a dragon, too. And said Norse god? Tyr’s my boyfriend too. All of that is plenty of crazy for any one person.

It doesn’t stop there for me—my mother has tried to kill me twice now, and is allied with my enemies. And Loki—the one god’s blood I crave to give me vengeance—might be the one who has the answers I need to give me peace.

On the rollercoaster that is my current life, I’m faced with one turn after another, and a couple of loopty-loops, of magic and possibility. Power that could bring more of my past back from the grave, and in doing so rekindle smoldering embers that were snuffed before they became more, hundreds of years ago.

The big question is—what will I have to sacrifice to see him again?

Valkyrie Freed is book 3 of Astrid's slow-build, #Whychoose story within the Valkyries Rising series consisting of Valkyrie Lost, Valkyrie Renewed, and Valkyrie Freed. Valkyrie Freed MUST be read after the events of Valkyrie Renewed and Valkyrie Unchained.

Valkyries Rising is a #WhyChoose series where the heroine doesn’t have to pick just one mate. In these pages you’ll find strong heroines who don’t back down, and the shifters, gods, dragons, and other supernatural immortals who love them and fight by their sides.


Valkyries Rising

Valkyrie Destined (#1)

Valkyrie Lost (#2)

Valkyrie Renewed (#3)

Valkyrie Restored (#4)

Valkyrie Confused (#5)

Valkyrie Condemned (#6)

Valkyrie Unchained (#7)

Valkyrie Freed (#8)

Valkyrie Shattered (#9)

Valkyrie's Legacy

Heart in the Sand (#0.5)

Valkyrie Reborn (#1)

Valkyrie Hunted (#2)

Valkyrie Concealed (#3)

Valkyrie Crowned (#4)


Subversion (#1)

Corruption (#2)

Sabotage (#3)

Annihilation (#4)

Exploitation (#5)

Decimation (#6)

Ratings and reviews

1 review
Carol 27
May 5, 2024
Astrid’s tale picks up after the events in ‘Valkyrie Renewed’ and follows Allyson Lindt’s ‘Valkyrie Unchained’ story, so it’s best to read those books first. Once again, several characters from Lindt’s Legacy World and NEON series are on hand to assist Astrid in the battle that’s brewing against Ingrid, her estranged and deranged mother – a priestess within the cult of Malsumis, a goddess of chaos. Plenty of drama, emotion, magic, conflict, humor, and several surprises, plus MF, MFM and MM sex.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

USA Today bestselling author Shannon Pemrick is a full-time slow-burn romantic fantasy author, fuller-time geek, and unrelenting dragon enthusiast. She owns too many novelty mugs, not enough chocolate, and maintains a forbidden love-affair with all things shiny. When she's not burning her fingers across a keyboard handing out adventures and HEAs, she's rolling dice and getting lost in RPGs or searching for brides for her dragon overlords.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.