Sweet Home Montana

Sweet Montana

Book 2
Lisa Mondello
10
Free sample

Dumped by a cheating husband, Katie Dobbs' life had gone off the rails and she is now back to square one, living in her parents' home in Sweet, Montana and working a job she hates. She refuses to stay in a dark and empty house as a constant reminder of her mistakes. So she did the only thing that made sense. She breaks into an old dilapidated chapel to figure out her next move, and is nearly arrested by Caleb Samuel, her brother's high school friend who is now a handsome police officer in town.

Caleb had heard Katie was having a hard time. Sweet was a small town and everyone knew everyone else's business. Except for one thing. No one knew where his sister Julie disappeared to 10 years ago and no one had heard from her since. Katie had been good friends with Julie before they'd both left Sweet. Now Katie is back. Buying a broken down chapel to renovate as a house is nuts when you don't know the difference between each end of a hammer. And Katie didn't. But she did know Julie, and maybe she'd be able to give him some insight into where Julie had gone. Caleb offers to help Katie renovate. But one problem after another threatens the project, and leaves Katie thinking she'll never realize her dreams. Until she realizes she's falling in love with her brother's friend. Even as everything seems to be falling apart around them, can love help heal their hearts?

Excerpt:
Katie sat in one of the pews in the back of the chapel and thought about how her life had gone off the rails. She rubbed her fingers together as she laid them on her lap and tried to ward off the bitter Montana cold. A gust of wind swept into the building, making a sudden chill race through her body. It was probably the flimsy plywood door she’d pulled away from the wall.
But then a beam of light swept through the chapel, illuminating features she couldn’t see in the dark until the beam of light landed on her. She quickly turned and saw the stark light source but did not see the person holding the flashlight as they moved through the open door and into the chapel.
“Katy Dobbs? What on earth are you doing in here?"
Katie shielded her eyes with her fingers. "Do I know you?"
The man’s low chuckle sounded familiar, but she still couldn't place it.
“I hope so. I've known you and your brother practically my entire life.”
He dropped the flashlight enough so that it wasn't shining in her eyes directly. She squinted her eyes and looked at the man's silhouette.
“Caleb? Caleb is that you?”
”You were the last person I expected to find in here.”
Read more
Collapse

More by Lisa Mondello

See more
From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lisa Mondello, book 6 of the popular DAKOTA HEARTS western romance series.

Ian McKinnon was just getting steady on his feet, looking forward to the opening of the Wounded Veterans Center and a big McKinnon wedding celebration, when tragedy struck again. The soldier who'd saved his life while in the military has died. He's charged with his most important mission: find his friend Carlos's family in Mexico or become guardian and raise Carlos's children. The only mandatory stipulation of his friend's will was that Ian live under the same roof with Abby Townsend, a firefighter from Carlos's firehouse. Abby knew the kids well and she could help ease them all through the transition of becoming a family. Okay, so Ian may not be daddy material, but he'd grown up with a whole lot of McKinnons running around. He could handle the kids just fine. The beautiful Abby Townsend was another story.

Abby took one look at Ian and shook her head with utter disbelief. What were her dear friends thinking by naming a man whose nickname was "The Hazard" as guardian of their three small children? She only needed to spend one year in Ian's house in South Dakota. She had to either find Carlos's family, or convince Ian that she was the better person to raise the children. Abby knows how hard it is to lose someone you loved. She'll be there to protect the children in any way she can. But can she protect her heart from falling in love with a man known for taking too many risks...and risk heartbreak again?

DAKOTA HEARTS series:

Book 1 - Her Dakota Man
Book 2 - Badland Bride
Book 3 - Dakota Heat
Book 4 - Wild Dakota Heart
Book 5 - His Dakota Bride
Book 6 - Dakota Wedding

and coming in 2015, check for more Dakota Hearts books.

If you're a fan of western romance, contemporary romance, stories full of angst and emotion, and sexy cowboy and military heroes, then you'll enjoy the Dakota Hearts, Texas Hearts and Fate with a Helping Hand series of romance novels.
 
* * USA TODAY BESTSELLER  * *
* * Named one of Kirkus Reviews BEST BOOKS of 2012! * *
"Mondello's
latest, a pulse-pounding, pitch-perfect addition to the
romantic-suspense genre...the real hook is the nimble tone that shifts
from breezy to thrilling and back again with masterful precision.
Terrific escapist entertainment, as good as anything in Janet
Evanovich's oeuvre." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2012! 
 
Who does she trust when she's living the real life horror of one of her crime novels...

Bestselling
crime novelist, Cassie Alvarez, aka Cassie Lang, had murder on her mind
when she walked into Rory's Bar under dressed and under cover to
research her latest crime novel. Researching the cool, blue-eyed and
dashingly handsome man at the end of the bar stirred her senses more
than she wanted to admit. But was this man of leather armor all he
appeared to be?

Playing White Knight to an innocent wasn't how
Detective Jake Santos planned to spend his time under cover. But there
was no way "CJ" was what she claimed to be and that nagging tightness in
Jake's chest told him he'd better take her home to safety and leave it
at that. Then the barroom exploded with gunfire, leaving a trail of dead
that includes a notorious Providence crime boss and an undercover FBI
agent. When Cassie's name is leaked to the media as the only witness to
the grisly murders, Cassie insists she only trusts Jake to protect her.

The
FBI wants their star witness happy and will do anything to make sure
Cassie testifies. But it is clear to Jake that the shooter isn't the
only person who wants Cassie dead. Not knowing who to trust, he vows to
protect Cassie at all cost despite the fact that guarding the beautiful
novelist is a serious distraction.

MATERIAL WITNESS is the
follow-up Romantic Suspense Novel by Lisa Mondello's Yuletide Protector
and is book 1 of her new Heroes of Providence series. 
4.4
10 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Lisa Mondello
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 2, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
190
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781940512341
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Western
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From New York Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author, Lisa Mondello... a contemporary western romance featuring those hot Texas cowboys and the women who tame them in her popular romance series TEXAS HEARTS

Ever since Mitch Broader set foot in Texas, he dreamed of owning his own ranch. Now that he's bought a share in the Double T Ranch, he's one step closer to the dream. Then his past greets him in the form of a baby basket, complete with infant and birth certificate naming him as the father. He can't change diapers and work toward his dream at the same time.

When Sara Lightfoot, "Miss Hollywood" in Mitch's eyes, rescues him with her particular knack for handling his precocious son, he hires her on the spot as a temporary nanny. No matter how much Sara's dark eyes and warm heart make this bachelor think of making their arrangement permanent, she's made it perfectly clear she has other plans that don't include him or his dreams.

Sara Lightfoot never thought she'd return to her home on the reservation. Now she plans to go back to the reservation as a Native American storyteller, teaching the Apache children stories of their culture. She didn't expect Mitch Broader's sexy smile or job offer as a live-in nanny to derail those plans. After all she's been through to come home, can she open up her heart once again to love?

 Texas Hearts:

Her Heart for the Asking (currently free), His Heart for the Trusting, The More I See, Gypsy Hearts, Leaving Liberty, His Texas Heart, The Wedding Dress, Lone Star Lady, Under a Texas Star


Fans of Debbie Macomber and Sherryl Woods will enjoy the Texas Hearts Series.

Keywords: western romance, contemporary romance, small-town romance, family sagas, lost loves, second chance romance, rodeo, cowboy, Texas Romance, Texas Ranger, lawman, rancher, wedding, secret baby

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.