Soul in Everyday Life, The

SUNY Press
Free sample

Argues that contemporary psychology neglects the soul and addresses ways to remedy this. The Soul in Everyday Life argues that modern psychology has given up on dealing with the idea of soul (or psyche), even though the field is named after it. If psychology wishes to be truly satisfying, it needs to be more than behavioral science, according to Daniel Chapelle. He concludes that psychology can only satisfy the deepest human needs when it can offer a sense of soul in everyday life. He explores ways of restoring this sense of soul to everyday life by examining how talk about something as elusive as the soul is possible and by reanimating a sense for what the notion of soul can mean. Working in the tradition of Nietzsche, Freud, Jung, and Jung's student James Hillman, Chapelle reaches back into millennia of Western thought to reanimate the dying sense of soul in everyday life and put the "psyche" back in "psychology."
Read more

About the author

Daniel Chapelle is a practicing psychologist with a background in theoretical and philosophical psychology and the author of Nietzsche and Psychoanalysis, also published by SUNY Press.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
SUNY Press
Read more
Pages
272
Read more
ISBN
9780791486160
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Philosophy / Religious
Psychology / Movements / Jungian
Psychology / Movements / Psychoanalysis
Self-Help / Spiritual
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Man and His Symbols owes its existence to one of Jung's own dreams. The great psychologist dreamed that his work was understood by a wide public, rather than just by psychiatrists, and therefore he agreed to write and edit this fascinating book. Here, Jung examines the full world of the unconscious, whose language he believed to be the symbols constantly revealed in dreams. Convinced that dreams offer practical advice, sent from the unconscious to the conscious self, Jung felt that self-understanding would lead to a full and productive life. Thus, the reader will gain new insights into himself from this thoughtful volume, which also illustrates symbols throughout history. Completed just before his death by Jung and his associates, it is clearly addressed to the general reader.

Praise for Man and His Symbols

“This book, which was the last piece of work undertaken by Jung before his death in 1961, provides a unique opportunity to assess his contribution to the life and thought of our time, for it was also his firsat attempt to present his life-work in psychology to a non-technical public. . . . What emerges with great clarity from the book is that Jung has done immense service both to psychology as a science and to our general understanding of man in society, by insisting that imaginative life must be taken seriously in its own right, as the most distinctive characteristic of human beings.”—Guardian

“Straighforward to read and rich in suggestion.”—John Barkham, Saturday Review Syndicate

“This book will be a resounding success for those who read it.”—Galveston News-Tribune

“A magnificent achievement.”—Main Currents

“Factual and revealing.”—Atlanta Times
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.