For Love and Country

White Star Press
3
Free sample

When Maggie du Woernig willfully ignores her parents’ admonitions and entangles herself with Nik Koenig, she is certain he’s the only man who will make her happy. Blind to Nik’s real intentions, she throws herself recklessly into a situation that could not only destroy her life but compromise the safety of her country.

Han Heinrich has resigned himself to working in the castle stables, mostly as an excuse to have contact each day with Maggie. His aspirations for a more fulfilling career seem fruitless, in spite of his father’s position as the duke’s highest advisor. But when Han learns about Maggie’s precarious situation, he is willing to sacrifice everything to protect the woman he loves, and to save the country he would die for. He only hopes that someday Maggie will forgive him.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Elizabeth D. Michaels began writing at the age of sixteen, immersing herself ever since in the lives created by her vivid imagination. Beyond her devotion to family and friends, writing has been her passion for nearly three decades. While she has more than fifty published novels under the name Anita Stansfield and is the recipient of many awards, she boldly declares The Horstberg Saga as the story she was born to write, with many volumes in the works. She is best known for her keen ability to explore the psychological depths of human nature, bringing her characters to life through the timeless struggles they face in the midst of exquisite dramas. For more information, please visit her author page on WhiteStarPress.com.

Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
White Star Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 12, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
545
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781939203489
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Medieval
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From the author of A Rake’s Redemption comes a Regency romance celebrating the witty and romantic world that fans of Georgette Heyer have fallen in love with.

"Donna Lea Simpson is a masterful storyteller. The crafting of the story, the wonder of the romance captured me and reeled me into a timeless love story." —Goodreads


Jane Dresden has no patience for the merciless gossip of the ton or the handy hypocrisy of the nobility, and now that her mother has arranged for her to marry the supposedly cruel Viscount Haven, she fears for her future happiness. In an effort to appease her mother and also put an end to her matchmaking, Jane agrees to meet the man, but in a fit of panic runs from the engagement and takes refuge in a country cottage, disguised as a maid. There she meets a kind and comforting local farmer who shares her taste for simplicity and quickly captures her heart.

 

Lord Haven had long ago resigned himself to the unpleasant duties of his title and accepted the hard truth that taking a wife and producing an heir was among them—though he shudders at the prospect of spending his life with the charmless woman his mother has arranged for him to wed. Wishing to delay their formal meeting until the last possible moment, he shrugs off his stifling attire and escapes to his favorite sanctuary, a simple cottage on his grand estate. There he meets a caring and captivating maid who steals his heart, and in the guise of a common farmer he proceeds to court her, fearing all the while that his ruse will be discovered.

As the two struggle with the implications of their deceit and the shattering knowledge that revealing their true identities will doom their blossoming bond, each is forced to choose between duty and heartfelt desire, never suspecting that their fated match holds the key to a true and lasting love.

 

This is a fully revised edition of a book originally titled A Country Courtship.

 

From the author of An Eccentric Engagement comes a Regency romance celebrating the witty and romantic world that fans of Georgette Heyer have fallen in love with.

“Simpson excels at imbuing her realistic characters with subtle depths!” —John Charles,  American Library Association

As chaperone to the Season’s most desirable young miss, Amy Corbett has two specific duties: to ensure that her charge’s reputation remains spotless, and to see her betrothed to an exceptional beau. Given that the coquettish Lady Rowena manages to maintain an air of propriety while being a flirt of the highest caliber, Amy knows her job should be easy—if only the calculating young aristocrat weren’t so set on toying with men’s hearts, including that of her latest prey, the debauched Lord Dante Pierson.

Like other gentlemen of high standing and low tastes, Lord Pierson’s restless desire for excitement had driven him into a life of squalor and scandalous social blunders. Finding himself drunk and mud-spattered in a gutter one night, he spies an angelic apparition in a passing carriage and is overcome by a will to reform—surely such a woman could give him hope of rebirth. When he learns that the anonymous beauty is Lady Rowena, he vows to coax that flicker of warmth into a flame.

As Rowena lures the unsuspecting Pierson ever closer to heartbreak, Amy realizes that for all the talk of his wastrel ways, he is actually a gentle and caring man to be championed and cherished. And in an unguarded moment, the unassuming Amy and downtrodden Lord Pierson will discover that they possess kindred souls—and will make a daring decision to follow their own true path to happiness and love . . .

This book was originally published as Lord Pierson Reforms.

 

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Maya Banks, the bestselling author of romance and romantic suspense has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnis is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever.

“[Maya] Banks has written an emotionally taut Highlands romance. . . . Lush emotionalism, compelling characters and a moving story line will win romance fans.”—Kirkus Reviews
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.