Daughters of War: A gripping historical novel of love and loss

· Bookouture
5.0
5 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘Absolutely loved this book! One of the best books I've read in ages… a gripping read that I both couldn't wait to finish but also didn't want to end.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

As a teenager in Chicago, May always dreamed of travelling the world. So when she falls in love with George Turner, she can’t wait to return to London as his wife. Two beautiful daughters follow, but George isn’t the husband he promised to be. Ten years on, May is wondering if she’s made a terrible mistake.

 

The Great War has been declared in Europe, and all around, brave young men are being called up to serve. George, banned from conscription himself, has taken to the bottle, and May suspects he’s seeing other women too. He even sends her beloved daughters away to school. She misses them terribly every day.

 

Then May meets veteran nurse Elsie, who persuades May to join the war effort. May knows nothing of nursing – it will be difficult, dangerous work, but her heart is telling her it’s the right thing to do and the only way to carve out a life for herself and her daughters away from George.

 

But then George does the unthinkable and May’s children are put at risk. Miles away on the front line and unable to reach them, will May be reunited with her little girls before it’s too late?

 

A gripping wartime drama, perfect for fans of Soraya M. Lane, Daughters of the Night Sky and Kathryn Hughes.

 

Readers love Daughters of War:

 

‘I simply adored Daughters of Waronce in a while a book comes along that just burrows its way into the heart of me, that stirs my soul. This is one such book I spent quite a bit of this book trying to swallow the lump in my throat or wiping my eyes… God, I could gush and gush about Daughters of War… Her writing is sublime, her plotting is perfection and her characters are fantastic. This is one special book. Short Book and Scribes, 5 stars

 

This is the perfect book to read for the 100-year anniversary of the end of World War One… The descriptions and writing by this author are spot on and it made me feel so emotional… This was such a wonderful read, which certainly tugged at my heart-strings. I loved this author’s writing and it was so realistic that I felt like I was actually there. A perfect read and a perfect tribute to the wonderful women who did their duty as War Nurses.’ Stardust Book Reviews

 

‘I couldn’t wait to get started on the book… Oh my word, this was one hell of an emotive readI was hooked from the moment I picked the book up… I had a great great Aunt, who was a nurse during the First World War and to read this book made me feel closer to herThe more I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages turned… I just wanted the book to continue… I would definitely recommend this author and her books to other readers.’ Ginger Book Geek, 5 stars

 

An unputdownable book that had me reading under the covers, so keen was I to find out what happened next… fabulous.’ Julie Davis, 5 stars

 

Absolutely loved this book! One of the best books I've read in ages, even with my love of wartime novels! Brilliant story and characters and a gripping read that I both couldn't wait to finish but also didn't want to end. Can't wait to read more from the author now.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

I absolutely loved it. A beautiful wartime story… I wouldn't expect anything less from Lizzie Page. She always delivers in spades.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Lizzie Page has such great ways of describing events and placesI loved the characters and the story was brilliant. Definitely a must-read war time story. I can't wait to read Lizzie Page's next book!’ Booking Good Read, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

5.0
5 reviews
Shirley McAllister
December 8, 2021
The heartbreaking story of a women torn in several directions. Her job as a war nurse in the front lines of battle, her children, her soon to be ex husband, her best friend, and the soldier she loves. Can she survive and will she lose everything she loves? May at a very young age meets George in America, marries him and moves to London where they have a home and two lovely daughters. Alas all is not well in the marriage and George is not the husband and father she thought he would be. When the marriage deteriorates and the children are sent to boarding school May volunteers to be a nurse at the front lines of battle in WWI. She visits her daughter's on vacations until her husband divorces her and bans her from both the home and the children. She must now fight for her children but she is miles away in a field hospital and has no idea where her children are. Will she ever see them again? This is a story of a woman, her best friend Elizabeth, her time in the war as a nurse and her home life which has turned out to be a disaster. She fights for sanity, she fights for her rights as a mother and she somehow manages each day as it comes along. I admire the courage of May to break away from a bad marriage and to find herself in her nursing. I think the laws back then as pertaining to women's rights in the marriage and especially in a divorce were very wrong. I liked her friends at the field hospital, especially Matron and Kitty. Matron, with whom May first clashed turned out to be a wonderful friend to her. The group at the army hospital was a great blending of friendship and helped each other to stay sane and focused in an otherwise horrible time in history. WWI was the great war to end all wars, if only it had been. I enjoyed this story and the character May played. It was inspiring and heartwarming as well as heartbreaking in many places. I do recommend it. Thanks to Lizzie Page for writing a great book, to Forever Grand Central for publishing it and for NetGalley for making it available to me.
Did you find this helpful?
Kevin Anne-Marie Halfpenny
November 12, 2018
What a brilliant story....I absolutely loved it! Historical fiction has been my latest reading love...but this book based on a true story... May, lives in Chicago, when she meets George, who is from London and they fall in love, get married then May is off to London to live. May is 16 and within a short time she has 2 daughters, George insists that they go to boarding school, now 10 years later May is wondering if she made a mistake marrying George. She never could prove he was having an affair...just feelings she had. She was getting bored staying at home and not having her girls there... May meets Elsie at an artists loft...Elsie is so engmatic and convinces May that she could do more with her life than sit in a loft...she could help with the war...they need nurses (May has no idea or schooling to be a nurse)...something Elsie says intrigues May and she enlists to help with the war effort. George is furious and May's life takes a turn...will she persevere? I highly recommend this book and I am going to get the first book in the series to learn about Elsie.
Did you find this helpful?
Robert Hay-Hendry
May 13, 2019
what a wonderful story so moving, the characters were so real
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.