The Lost Sister

HarperCollins UK
4

The Lambert sisters have secrets...

When 15-year-old Cathy Lambert runs away from her Dublin home, she is scared and pregnant. Settled in New Zealand with her new son Conor she believes the secret she carries will never be revealed...

Rebecca Lambert was eighteen when her parents died and she took responsibility for her younger sisters. Years later, she is haunted by fears she hoped she'd conquered.

Freed from family duties, mother of three Julie Chambers is determined to recapture the dreams of her youth.

Married to a possessive older man, Lauren Moran embarks on a frantic love affair that threatens to destabilise her fragile world.

Anxious to make peace with her three sisters, Cathy invites them to her wedding.

But as the women journey together through New Zealand towards their reunion, they are forced to confront the past as the secret shared histories of the Lambert sisters are revealed.

Fans of Amanda Brooke and Liane Moriarty will be gripped by this emotional story of a family shaken by secrets.

Read more

About the author

Laura Elliot is the pseudonym of children’s writer and journalist June Considine. She is already a bestseller in her native Ireland. The Prodigal Sister is her UK debut.

Read more

Reviews

4.0
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Published on
Jul 9, 2009
Read more
Pages
416
Read more
ISBN
9780007336852
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Laura Elliot
‘I was gripped from the first few pages and found myself hooked on a rollercoaster ride up to the last few pages … I read it in pretty much one sitting, I just needed to know how the book was going to end’ Donna’s Book Blog

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.


On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing. 

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect. 

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare. 

An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Sarah A. Denzil’s Silent Child.   

Read what everyone is saying about Guilty:

 

‘Guilty was such a great book. It was filled with so many twists and turns…It was well written and definitely made you wanting more with every page turn.’ Oh My Lit

 

‘Guilty is one gripping psychological thriller with a well-constructed plot and realistic and believable characters…Incredibly thought-provoking, it'll make you question everything.’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A mesmerizing psychological thriller…and will leave you completely fulfilled with a flawless ending.  Guilty is the first novel I have read by Laura Elliot and it will NOT be my last.  I found Guilty to be impossible to put down, the characters are intoxicating, and the story compulsively addictive.’ Books and Smiles

 

‘A great thriller that is full of suspense and tension.’  Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘This book is a raw, edge-of-the-seat page-turner. The story is told in four parts, all of which lead into each other beautifully.’  Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘This tense psychological thriller grips you tight from the prologue and adds layers of tension with each page you turn…Laura Elliot has skillfully crafted an excellent novel. Her writing style keeps you flipping pages at a frantic pace. Goodreads reviewer

 

‘This is a very well written psychological thriller’.  Strong Reviews

Laura Elliot
‘I was astounded at how the book ended! Not many books make me say wow at the end, but this one has me repeating it. It is an ending that you won't see coming in a million years.' Kelly's Book Corner

A perfect divorce. A new flame. And a deadly obsession.

Nadine and Jake Saunders were married as teens. Tied to one another by a night of passion that resulted in a pregnancy neither could turn away from.

Now, years later, their children have all flown the nest and the pact they made as teenagers – to give one another the freedom to pursue their own dreams – has resurfaced.

But freedom comes at a price …

While Nadine and Jake begin to untangle their lives from one another, Jake embarks on a passionate affair with a beautiful woman, Karin Moylan. What he doesn’t know is the dark history Karin shares with Nadine.

As lust spirals into dangerous obsession, Jake must break free from Karin. But he must also ask himself how well he ever really knew Nadine. What secret is she hiding? The truth, when it is revealed, could destroy them all.

If you devoured Girl on the Train, The Husband’s Secret and Gone Girl then make sure THIS is the book you pick up next.

‘The Betrayal certainly makes for a tense read that had me at times literally on the edge of my seat.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘The story is beautifully descriptive…one of those truly unforgettable stories which you just want to tell everyone to read for themselves.’ Jaffa Reads Too

‘I was desperate to find out what was going to happen next, terrified of what was to come. A psychological thriller with many twists and turns…a definite page turner that once started was very difficult to put down.’ Cal’s Blog

‘I was astounded at how the book ended! Not many books make me say wow at the end, but this one has me repeating it. It is an ending that you won't see coming in a million years. The Betrayal is utterly compelling and gripping. It will get into your head and you will become immersed in the story from the very first page.’ Kelly’s Book Corner

‘Laura Elliot builds up the tension and sense of intrigue right from the first few pages…I just couldn’t put it down once I started!’ Portobello Book Blog

Laura Elliot
‘Wow. What a book … a roller coaster ride of emotions ...’ Goodreads Reviewer

Two childhoods destroyed. One story they will never tell. Until now.

Beth ran away from her family when she was a teenager. She left behind a terrible evil that took her innocence. She also left behind her sister, Sara.

When Beth returns home, she is shocked to discover her terrible secret is not just hers alone…she shares it with Sara. Under the shadow of a remote headland, the sisters make an oath they promise never to break.

Eva’s birth is a mystery that remains unsolved. Years later with her marriage in ruins, and her future uncertain, she realizes that to move forward with her life, she must first understand her past.

But while Eva is drawing closer to the truth about her roots, Beth and Sara’s lives are falling apart, crushed under the weight of the secret they carry. They must confront the past and face the darkness once more. But this time, their story will be heard.

From the bestselling author of The Betrayal, Stolen Child and Fragile Lies, comes a breathtakingly tense and emotional story of the fierce bond between sisters, and a family destroyed by a disturbing secret.

‘Breathtakingly emotional … I really felt for Beth, Sara and Eva and feel privileged to have read the book.’ Donna’s Book Blog

'An absorbing, compelling family saga...very well-written, captivating and at times very emotive …Once I started it, I couldn't stop.' Relax and Read Book Reviews

‘A hard hitting story… there is a sense of justice and resolution.’ For the Love of Books

‘A good tale around a dark subject.’ Books from the Comfort of my Sofa

Note: Previously published as ‘When the Bough Breaks.’ This is a new extended version.

Laura Elliot
His name is Michael Carmody. He is a writer and a father. His son is lying in a coma, fighting for his life.

Her name is Lorraine Cheevers. She is an artist and mother. An illicit affair has destroyed her marriage.

Michael is desperate to find the couple who left his son for dead, a victim of a hit and run.

Lorraine is desperate to start a new life for her and her daughter.

Michael and Lorraine are about to cross paths – damaged souls, drawn to one another.

They don’t know that their lives are already connected.

They don’t know the web of lies surrounding them.

They are each searching for the truth. But when they find it, it could destroy them both.

Fragile Lies is a gripping tale of love and betrayal, which will entice fans of Liane Moriarty, Lucie Whitehouse and Jane Shemilt’s Daughter.

Note: previously published as ‘Deceptions.’

Read what everyone is saying about Fragile Lies

‘Fragile Lies has a little bit of everything, love, tragedy, infidelity, lies and secrets…The characters are quite complex and I think this added a real edge to the book; they felt very well thought out and I loved how the author weaved their separate stories together. Excellent plot, interesting characters and plenty of intrigue.’ Dot Scribbles

‘The reader is immersed into a story that tells of decades of love, betrayal, deceit and frailty with a dark undertone, all of which makes for a truly riveting read…I can promise that it is a book that will not disappoint…I for one was hooked into it and savoured the delicious twists and ending with relish and satisfaction.’ 5/5 Book Addicted Housewife

‘A wonderful story incredibly well told, full of secrets, love and illusion, lies and revenge, which will keep you gripped well into the early hours…’ Being Anne Reading

‘Dealing with passion, adultery, deception and tragedy, and how the past has a way of creeping up on you…a really intriguing page-turner with a surprising twist.’ Evening Echo

‘This page-turner is gripping, all the more because it presents the dilemmas of betrayal with brutal honesty.’ Irish Independent

‘This well-crafted and compelling story traces the deceits which begin unnoticed but end in the destruction of friendships and lives.’ The Irish Times

‘A gripping tale of adultery and illusion.’ Evening Herald

©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.