Accounting for Love: A FREE Forced Proximity Western Romance

Cowboys of Long Valley Romance Book 1 · Wright Hot Sexy Cowboys
4.7
230 reviews
Ebook
376
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Enjoy this FREE steamy cowboy series starter by USA Today Bestselling small-town romance author Erin Wright…


He’s a farmer, dammit, not a bookkeeper

When Stetson Miller inherits his father’s farm in Idaho, he’s too focused on crops and yields to pay attention to the financial side of things. The next thing he knows, he’s got a stack of unpaid bills, the bank is threatening to foreclose…and the auditor who’s come to examine his accounts is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.

But she’s a city girl, just like the last one who left him at the altar. He'll guard his heart – but he can't help wanting her.

She’s checking him out…in more ways than one

Jennifer Kendall doesn’t mind a tough job, but the handsome Stetson is trouble of a different kind. When he isn’t making her mad, he’s filling her head with all sorts of forbidden fantasies.

The sparks between them fly even faster when the road washes out and Jennifer has to spend the night on the farm. But passion alone won’t pay the bills. Can Jennifer find a way for Stetson to save his farm?

And if she can’t, will he ever forgive her?


Accounting for Love is the first novel in the Cowboys of Long Valley Romance series, although all books in the Long Valley world can be read as standalones. For fans of Elsie Silver, Natalie Dean, or Janice Whiteaker, this is a HOT romantic story with a guaranteed happily ever after. It does have some strong language and oh my, sexy times. Enjoy!


Ratings and reviews

4.7
230 reviews
Emily Pennington
October 5, 2018
Stetson Miller looked around at the extensive clutter in his deceased father’s office. He need to get this organized if he intended to save the farm! He had been given 31 days to bring the loan current or the bank would foreclose. Mumbling about what he would do to the low-down banker/thief who was coming, he ignored his housekeeper’s throat-clearing and finally turned around. Behind her was a woman sent by the bank, so he verbally attacked her too for her cowardly boss not coming here himself! In anger, he gave her a list of requirements on how this audit would be done, the hours, one sandwich for lunch, etc. He made it plain she was not getting any hospitality. He was so rude that Carmelita, the housekeeper, made it a point to reprimand him that evening. Jennifer Kendall began organizing the mass of papers into something that made sense as she began her audit. Stetson continued to be brusque, although Carmelita’s words helped a great deal. Jennifer asked him about the large amounts of money going into his personal checking account, and he told her it was to pay for his father’s chemo. The last treatment was why he didn’t have the money to make the loan payment. He ran out of the office, angry with himself for revealing so much to her. But it made Jennifer resolve to find a way to save his farm! At the end of the day, her boss called her, angry that she didn’t have a recommendation yet. He wanted that foreclosure to happen! He screamed that the Board wanted options – was foreclosure still an option? She responded, “Foreclosure is always an option,” just as Stetson stepped up on the porch and heard her! Devastated and angry, he stormed past her and even yelled at Carmelita. In tears and lost in strong emotions, Jennifer ran to her car and – as she sped off in the blinding rain and slick mud – she didn’t feel how her little car was sliding recklessly. Then she completely lost control as she went off the road! This book is a rewrite of the original story of the same name. The author did a fine job fleshing it out and matching it to her current writing style. The characters were very realistic and believable. Stetson had a great deal of pressure on him to be successful as the youngest of three sons. He didn’t want to go to his brothers for help, but he had been funding his dad’s treatments and could not stay on top of his current loan payment. His failure angered him and he took it out on Jennifer. The bank wanted the land for its own purposes and was pushing for foreclosure. Fortunately, Jennifer is an honest, caring person who is good at her job. She wants to find a way to make things right. But is what she finds enough to save the farm? The reader will enjoy following this story line with its twists and turns. Don’t miss this one!!
11 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Cali Jewel
March 8, 2018
This book is a re-wright of the original and I was very happy with both versions. This one is a lot less technical about ranching and more focused on the romance that is growing between the charters. Emotional Roller-coaster does not begin to describe the sparks flying between these two. This story of love found when you are so not looking for it was both entertaining and engaging all five senses at the same time kinda read. One head strong rancher with two brothers that have moved on with their own ranches but still see him as the baby of the family. (I was an unexpected late baby too) One strong minded city dwelling female with a calculator that she is not scared to use .. (Crazy ex-boyfriend that has problems understanding the word "No" to boot) with a Boss that has his own not so nice plans for the ranch in question. A Family Ranch that is generations old hanging in the balance. This all makes for one exciting, actively fun, entertaining read. Looking forward to the next Long Valley Visit.
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
October 8, 2018
This is book one in the Long Valley series and it features Stetson and Jennifer. He is a stubborn, stubborn man with way too much pride. He’s really mean to her at first, considering what she was there for, but he is nothing compared to her ex. I absolutely loved watching Jennifer’s transformation and seeing her stand up for herself. This is a sweet and sizzling hot romance. The characters are great and the story line had good flow. The epilogue ended a little too abruptly though. I would have liked to experience Carmelita‘s reaction to what was happening. I’m looking forward to reading more of this series.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

USA Today Bestselling author Erin Wright has worked every job under the sun, including library director, barista, teacher, website designer, and ranch hand helping brand cattle, before settling into the career she’s always dreamed about: Author.

She still loves coffee, doesn’t love the smell of cow flesh burning, and is currently living out her own love story in a tiny town in rural Idaho.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.