Where the Shadows Beckon

· Blood of Eith Book 1 · Gillian Grant
9 reviews

About this ebook

Get ready for the journey of a lifetime in the first book of an all-new, captivating fantasy series from thrilling debut author Gillian Grant.

A world without gods. A dangerous quest. And a secret that will shake Eith to its very core.

As a hunter, Evren Hanali of Orenlion has probably seen it all and done even more, even though she likes to fade into the background. She prefers a solitary existence, doing the jobs she’s commissioned for and not much else. But fate has other plans. It seems she has a destiny—one she is only beginning to unravel. And unlikely companions and exotic places are only the beginning of her journey.

When circumstances beyond her control—and gravity—send her plummeting to what she fears may be her death, walking away unscathed opens a world of possibilities. Somehow, she becomes the leader of a motley crew of allies with a shared mission. Only it’s not clear what anyone’s end goal is, and trust is hard-earned. Still, the merry band of adventurers finds solace and friendship along the way—not to mention dangers galore.

In the instance of the Yawning Deep, as above is not as below. Add magic and mayhem to the mix, and Evren has the fight of her life on her hands. When one hard-fought win leads to revelations of lies, deceit, and murder, Evren and company must be willing to fight for what they believe—and each other.

Or die trying.

Ratings and reviews

9 reviews
Sandy S.
January 6, 2022
WHERE THE SHADOWS BECKON is the first instalment in debut author Gillian Grant’s high fantasy series THE BLOOD OF EITH focusing on half-elf, hunter Evren Hanali of Orenlion, and her ragtag team of misfit warriors. Told from third person perspective (Evren) WHERE THE SHADOWS BECKON follows hunter, half-elf Evren Hanali as she seeks temporary refuge in the underground city of Dirn-Darahl where she will meet Vasa Sorin Trinity, and his magical friend Arke, the goblin but their descent into the depths of Dirn-Darahl is met with a deadly explosion finding our trio on the fifth level, a level that holds the city’s most dangerous criminals. Upon their rescue, Evren, and her new companions she meets along the way, are task by the King’s second in command General Heliodar, with returning the Seeker, dwarf Goriryn Karas, an escaped political prisoner, whose search for his cousin, takes the team into an underground world of elves, giant worms, magical creatures and more. We are introduced to a large number of colorful and eccentric characters including Sorin Trinity, goblin Arke, dwarf warrior Solri Amet, Seeker Goriryn Karas and his cousin cartographer Temsen Cartack, elf Abraxas Kain, Poig, warrior and half giant Gyda, Nobleman Malrus Ekan, General Heliodar, and Herald of Light elf Viggo of Andovine. WHERE THE SHADOWS BECKON is a journey into the fantastic of magical beasts, betrayal, vengeance, and war. As Evren begins her trek into the underground world of elves and gods, our heroine will discover deceit and treason are but the starting point to a war between the differing factions of elves, dwarves, and surface worlders. For fans and readers of the Lord of the Rings™ franchise, and the varying facets of Dungeons and Dragons™, the familiarity is overwhelming down to the names of several characters including Herald of Light Viggo (snicker). The premise is detailed and complex-the world building is intricate, comprehensive and familiar; the characters are numerous, rich and often recognizable.
Did you find this helpful?
Marcy Wallace
November 17, 2023
What a wonderful and rich world.! Very unique with characters that quickly become real. An original story line that easily becomes addictive. Couldn't put it down. I will definitely continue the series and anything else that this author puts out.
Did you find this helpful?
KC Childs
January 4, 2022
This is an amazing breakout novel by a talented, new author on the scene. It was 100% enjoyable & is 100% recommend. I can't wait until book 2. Kudos Gillian Grant, kudos!!
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Gillian Grant was born in Texas and grew up enthralled with fantasy stories of all kinds. As she got older she often traveled with her family and imagined wild adventures while exploring the mountains of Colorado and the glens of Scotland. Back home in Texas she took her love of fantasy to the next level and sat a group of friends down to play Dungeons and Dragons. From there, they built the world her first novel, Where The Shadows Beckon was set in. When she’s not writing Gillian is normally juggling too many D&D campaigns, grooming dogs, and imagining her next adventure. She still lives in Texas with her two cats.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.