Claiming Mister Kemp

· Baleful Godmother Book 4 · Emily Larkin
4.6
5 reviews
Ebook
227
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A forbidden love...

Lucas Kemp’s twin sister died last year. He’s put aside his mourning clothes, but not his heartache. If Lucas ever needed a friend, it’s now—and who should walk in his door but Lieutenant Thomas Matlock.

Lucas and Tom are more than just best friends; they’ve been in love with each other for years. In love with each other—and pretending not to know it.

But this time, Tom’s not going to ignore the attraction between them. This time, he’s going to push the issue.

He’s going to teach Lucas how to laugh again—and he’s going to take Lucas as his lover...

"Heartbreakingly gorgeous. Tom is the most incredible hero - patient, understanding, passionate, sensitive. Lucas is so proper and stiff, his struggles so very real and poignant. I love Larkin's stories but this one is exquisite."

~ M.C.E. Top 500 reviewer

Length: Shorter length novel of 48,000 words

Sensuality level: A hot Regency male-male romance with sensual love scenes


Q & A with the author

Why did you write this book?

When Tom and Lucas walked onto the page in Trusting Miss Trentham (the third book in the Baleful Godmother series) I fell in love with them both. I really wanted to know their story—so I decided to write it. I’m very glad I did, because it was so much fun! Lucas is my first ever virgin hero, and I really enjoyed writing his scenes.

Claiming Mister Kemp was meant to be a novella, but it grew and grew and grew, until finally I had to admit defeat and call it a (short) novel.

How would you describe this book?

At its most basic, Claiming Mister Kemp is a friends to lovers romance, but it’s also a story about grief, and about two men finding the courage to love one another in a time when this was punishable by death. I think it’s the most emotional book I’ve ever written. Readers have told me that some scenes make them cry, which I take as a compliment!

Claiming Mister Kemp is a Baleful Godmother novel, so both Tom and Lucas have brushes with magic—even if they don’t realize it. And although this book is a companion novel to Trusting Miss Trentham it can be read as a standalone.

How would you describe your writing?

Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She’s why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you’ve not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I’ve also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.

Who would like this book?

This book will appeal to readers who love male-male romances, Regency romances, or both. Fans of KJ Charles, Joanna Chambers, and Cat Sebastian should particularly enjoy it.

4.6
5 reviews
Buttons Mom2003
April 5, 2021
Audiobook review Overall – 5 Story – 5 Performance – 5 A nice surprise… Note: Claiming Mister Kemp is the 4th book in the Baleful Godmother series but it can be read as a standalone. I have not read the other books in this story and I enjoyed it very much! I love Hamish Long’s audiobook performances. He’s one of my favorites for MM audiobooks. I say that this audiobook was a nice surprise because when I requested a review copy of the audiobook from the author, I had totally forgotten that I reviewed the ebook back in 2017. As I started listening, the story seemed familiar. I’m kind of obsessive about keeping copies of book reviews that I’ve written and, sure enough, I found a copy of what I wrote back then. As has happened to me in the past, listening to the audiobook increased my appreciation of the story. Because it’s been over four years since I read the book, listening to the audiobook was like it was my first time experiencing the story. This is a touching story about Tom, who knows what he wants and goes after it, and his friend Lucas who's afraid to take a chance at happiness with Tom. Their story is a tender one and I very much enjoyed reading how Lucas was finally able to come to terms with what he wanted. The support of his family and staff was wonderful and instrumental in his coming to terms with the love he felt for Tom. In the past 4 years I’ve read over 500 books and I think I can safely say that 95% of those have been MM books. Claiming Mister Kemp stands up well against the other historical MM books I’ve read. A complimentary copy of this audiobook was provided to me at my request but my review was voluntary and not influenced by the author and/or narrator.
Did you find this helpful?
CoLe
November 30, 2021
Emily Larkin has written another moving story. I was drawn into the story from the start. From Trusting Miss Trentham this reader knew Lucas and Tom would be lovers. This story reverts in time to a scene, wherein Tom arrives from the continent to save his grieving and depressed best friend. Tom is torn with doubt if he should reveal his feelings, risking rejection and losing Lucas' friendship. His relief when he realizes his feelings are returned is palpable. This is the first of the Baleful Godmother series that I could not read in one sitting. Not because it was boring or tedious, but because the latent danger of discovery of the two lovers and the possibly dire consequences made me put this away for a day. It moved me to tears but also made me laugh. Brava, Emily!
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
This fourth in the series is a romance between two men - so big mature content alert. The story of Lucas Kemp and Lt Thomas Matlock which started in Book 3 continues here as their story, and as it is ...

About the author

Emily Larkin is the award-winning and USA Today-bestselling author of the Baleful Godmother historical romance series, a series that readers are calling “sexy, unusual and vastly entertaining,” and "ridiculously wonderful."

When not reading or writing, Emily can be found hiking—preferably somewhere off the beaten track. She loves to travel, and has lived in Sweden, backpacked in Europe and North America, and traveled overland in the Middle East, China, and North Africa. Her varied career includes stints as a field assistant in Antarctica and a waitress on the Isle of Skye.

Emily writes historical romances as Emily Larkin and fantasy novels as Emily Gee. She has won multiple awards in New Zealand and Australia and has been a finalist in the Romance Writers of America RITA award, as well as the National Readers Choice, Booksellers Best, and Sir Julius Vogel awards.


Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.