Claiming Mister Kemp

Baleful Godmother

Free sample

A forbidden love...
Lucas Kemp’s twin sister died last year. He’s put aside his mourning clothes, but not his heartache. If Lucas ever needed a friend, it’s now—and who should walk in his door but Lieutenant Thomas Matlock...
Lucas and Tom are more than just best friends; they’ve been in love with each other for years. In love with each other—and pretending not to know it.
But this time, Tom’s not going to ignore the attraction between them. This time, he’s going to push the issue.
He’s going to teach Lucas how to laugh again—and he’s going to take Lucas as his lover...
"Heartbreakingly gorgeous. Tom is the most incredible hero - patient, understanding, passionate, sensitive. Lucas is so proper and stiff, his struggles so very real and poignant. I love Larkin's stories but this one is exquisite."
~ M.C.E. Top 500 reviewer
Length: A shorter length novel of 48,000 words
Sensuality level: A hot Regency male-male romance with sensual love scenes
Q & A with the author


Why did you write this book?
When Tom and Lucas walked onto the page in Trusting Miss Trentham (the third book in the Baleful Godmother series) I fell in love with them both. I really wanted to know their story—so I decided to write it. I’m very glad I did, because it was so much fun! Lucas is my first ever virgin hero, and I really enjoyed writing his scenes.
Claiming Mister Kemp was meant to be a novella, but it grew and grew and grew, until finally I had to admit defeat and call it a (short) novel.
How would you describe this book?
At its most basic, Claiming Mister Kemp is a friends to lovers romance, but it’s also a story about grief, and about two men finding the courage to love one another in a time when this was punishable by death. I think it’s the most emotional book I’ve ever written. Readers have told me that some scenes make them cry, which I take as a compliment!
Claiming Mister Kemp is a Baleful Godmother novel, so both Tom and Lucas have brushes with magic—even if they don’t realize it. And although this book is a companion novel to Trusting Miss Trentham it can be read as a standalone.
How would you describe your writing?
Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She’s why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you’ve not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I’ve also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.
Who would like this book?
This book will appeal to readers who love male-male romances, Regency romances, or both. Fans of KJ Charles, Joanna Chambers, and Cat Sebastian should particularly enjoy it.

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Emily Gee
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 21, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
227
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780994138460
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Fiction / Romance / LGBT / Gay
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.