Doubt & Conviction: The Kalajzich Inquiry

Pippa Kay
Free sample

The story started in Manly, a beachside Sydney suburb, on Australia Day 1986. Megan Kalajzich was shot as she slept beside her husband, Andrew, in their family home. Two bullets were also fired into his pillow. Bill Vandenberg confessed to being the hitman and committed suicide in 1988 by hanging himself in his prison cell.

Was it a bungled murder attempt? Who was the target? Andrew, Megan or both? Controversy still surrounds this murder.

Pippa Kay probes the murder of Megan Kalajzich and subsequent conviction of her husband. Did he do it? She presents a thorough and balanced examination of the evidence and witnesses presented to the Section 475 Inquiry into Andrew's conviction.

Doubt & Conviction was launched as a paperback in 2002 by broadcaster, Alan Jones.

Excerpt from Chapter 5:

There were four people in the house the night Megan was murdered...

ANDREW: I heard two thuds. Just like that: Thud Thud. Sort of felt it and heard it. Then I smelled firecrackers, or that's what I thought of. Firecrackers. Gunpowder. But it didn't occur to me that it could be a gun. Not at first.

BUTCH: Next thing I heard Dad shouting. I can't remember what he said, but I woke up and pulled on my shorts. My grandmother was screaming. It was a wailing sort of noise. And when I came downstairs, I stood in the doorway and saw Mum. Dad was leaning over her, and when the ambulance men came he stood up and his pyjamas were covered in blood.

ANDREW: I rang the ambulance... I ran around the house, because I had a sense of someone in the house. Downstairs.

MAY CARMICHAEL: My daughter was on the bed. She was dead. Andrew was on the phone to the ambulance. I told him 'It's too late', but I don't think he heard me. I don't think he even realised I was there... Later... I asked the policeman how long he was going to leave Megan on the bed like that and he told me I'd have to bear with him for a while longer.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Pippa Kay is a Sydney based author. She began researching this case when it first hit the headlines in 1986 and attended the Inquiry in 1994. Many of Pippa's short stories have been published in anthologies and some have been successful in literary competitions. In 2005 Pippa also published a collection of her own short stories called Backstories. Please see her website: www.pippakay.com.au for more details.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pippa Kay
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 10, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
176
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780975720790
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
True Crime / General
True Crime / Murder / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The chilling true account of the Sandyford murder case and the sensational nineteenth-century trial that forever changed how homicides are investigated.

Jessie M’Lachlan was one of the countless thousands who lived in the tenements of Glasgow, Scotland. In poor health ever since her pregnancy, the single mother worked herself to the bone to provide for her child, but there was never enough to make ends meet. Her only solace in the brutal port town was the company of her best friend, tough and brawny Jess M’Pherson. Jessie and Jess had forged a bond in hardship, but it would be be torn apart by murder.
 
In the summer of 1862, Jess M’Pherson was found stabbed to death in her bedroom, stripped to the waist and lying in a pool of her own blood. The killing sent Glasgow into an uproar. And when Jess’s coat was found in Jessie M’Lachlan’s home,  the victim’s closest friend was charged with murder. In one of the most sensational trials in Scottish history—the first to make use of forensic photography—Jessie’s life was picked apart. Though her lawyers argued that she was nowhere near the scene of the crime, the jury deliberated for just fifteen minutes before sentencing her to hang. It may have seemed like the end, but Jessie’s story was just beginning.
 
One of the greatest mystery authors of her generation, Christianna Brand was also a pioneer of true crime. And despite reading like fiction, every word of this gripping historical saga is rooted in fact. Fans of In Cold Blood or The Onion Field will find that Heaven Knows Who ranks among the greats.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER   -  NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST 

"Disturbing and riveting...It will sear your soul." —Dave Eggers, New York Times Book Review

SHELF AWARENESS'S BEST BOOK OF 2017

Named a best book of the year by Wall Street Journal, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, GQ, Time, Newsday, Entertainment Weekly, Time Magazine, NPR's Maureen Corrigan, NPR's "On Point," Vogue, Smithsonian, Cosmopolitan, Seattle Times, Bloomberg, Lit Hub's "Ultimate Best Books," Library Journal, Paste, Kirkus, Slate.com and Book Browse

From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history
       
In the 1920s, the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Indian nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, they rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions, and sent their children to study in Europe.
      Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. The family of an Osage woman, Mollie Burkhart, became a prime target. Her relatives were shot and poisoned. And it was just the beginning, as more and more members of the tribe began to die under mysterious circumstances.
      In this last remnant of the Wild West—where oilmen like J. P. Getty made their fortunes and where desperadoes like Al Spencer, the “Phantom Terror,” roamed—many of those who dared to investigate the killings were themselves murdered. As the death toll climbed to more than twenty-four, the FBI took up the case. It was one of the organization’s first major homicide investigations and the bureau badly bungled the case. In desperation, the young director, J. Edgar Hoover, turned to a former Texas Ranger named Tom White to unravel the mystery. White put together an undercover team, including one of the only American Indian agents in the bureau. The agents infiltrated the region, struggling to adopt the latest techniques of detection.  Together with the Osage they began to expose one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history. 
      In Killers of the Flower Moon, David Grann revisits a shocking series of crimes in which dozens of people were murdered in cold blood. Based on years of research and startling new evidence, the book is a masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, as each step in the investigation reveals a series of sinister secrets and reversals. But more than that, it is a searing indictment of the callousness and prejudice toward American Indians that allowed the murderers to operate with impunity for so long. Killers of the Flower Moon is utterly compelling, but also emotionally devastating.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.