The Visitor: A psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist

· Bookouture
4.0
74 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

She has the life they all want. But what is she hiding?


When Holly moves in to Baker Crescent, a quiet suburban street she causes quite a stir. Beautiful, talented, and friendly, it doesn’t take long for her to charm the other residents. But why has she left the bright lights of the big city behind and settled in with Cora, a lonely old lady who is delighted to offer her visitor a place to stay?


The neighbours are fascinated by Holly and watch her from their windows every opportunity they get. Just when Holly has begun to feel at home someone sees something that they shouldn’t – something that’s impossible to ignore.


What is Holly hiding? And are the dark secrets from her past going to put them all into terrible danger?


An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller, from the bestselling author of Blink and The Mistake. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door.


What readers are saying about The Visitor:


'Omg! Slater is amazing! She is such a talented writer! Up to the very last page you will be shocked! Her cast of characters are so real!!!! Such a memorable book!... The end will have you gasping in disbelief! Whoa!!!!! 10 Stars!Two Girls and a Book Obsession, 5 stars


‘One of the best psychological thrillers I've read… nothing short of stunning.' Nigel Adams Book Worm, 5 stars


'Keeps you guessing until the very end! I loved every twist and turn and couldn't stop reading because I was dying to know what the big secret was ... will keep you up late to find out the truth!'Buried in a Book


One word - spectacular! This author gets better and better... This book had me on tenterhooks and there were times I forgot to breathe… She has exceeded the high standards she set in her previous books. Brilliant! An amazing, addictive, thrilling, unputdownable, fabulous read.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars


'Twisssssss-ted! This book really played with my headspace… thanks for that K.L.! This book is a roller coaster ride of emotions and secrets and spookiness --- when I finally finished it at 3.45 am I was so nervous I checked the locks three times. Book club pick for May? Picked!!!... A solid, five-star book!!!' Janet's Book Corner, 5 stars


‘She has done it again… I loved this book!! It had a great plot that was woven so well… 5 stars from me – very enjoyable and an addictive read!’ Donna’s Book Blog, 5 stars


The kind of book that you pick up and can’t put down again until the last page… I thought I had figured out everyone and everything but boy, was I wrong! This is the kind of book that you haunts you… an addictive, suspenseful, character-driven thriller… without a doubt an entertaining, compelling read.’ A Haven for Book Lovers, 5 stars


'Once started I couldn't put it down. Excellent characters, full of suspense and so well-paced it is a must-read for anyone who like psychological thrillers… An excellent read and I highly recommend it.' Worcester Sauce


Always look forward to reading K.L. Slater's novels… She certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start and keeps you there until the very end… Before I knew it, I’d devoured this book in one day… An addictive read full of suspense and mystery.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews


A huge HIT. I loved it and couldn’t read quickly enough … The reveal (or reveals should I say) when it came was brilliant and completely knocked me for six. It was a chilling, haunting ending and that means these characters will be living in my mind for a while longer yet… I can’t do anything but highly recommend The Visitor.’ Goodreads Reviewer

Ratings and reviews

4.0
74 reviews
Me Myself
January 23, 2021
This author is AMAZING! I am one who, by the 4th chapter or scene, has already discerned the entire plot & ending of the story. K.L. Slater is quite literally the FIRST author to so vividly grasp my heart and intellect ... yet SURPRISE me with a completely unpredictable twist of plot near the end! The past few books, I have learned to expect this talent from her ... and have begun LOOKING for clues as I read. I fail, every time. Only in the last chapter, when the realization of the twist hits, am I suddenly aware of all the clues I absolutely missed! K.L. Slater is simply AMAZING. Very rarely does an author have the power to wisp me away so completely that even food fails to deter me.🥴 I usually read a book over a week or two. But K.L. Slater's writings are absolutely un-put-downable, and I have never been as disappointed as I find myself today ... to discover I have now read every book available. In two months time. Every author should strive to attain this level of skill. 👍
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
February 12, 2018
Holly is back in her hometown .... almost penniless, homeless. At her wits end, crying, not knowing where to turn, fate takes a turn. An elderly lady, Cora, takes pity on the girl and invites her to stay at her home until she gets on her feet again. Cora loves having the company with someone to talk to and Holly feels safe for the first time in a long time. Cora's next door neighbor, David, is what most people would call an odd ball. He's certainly different. Forty years old and he's afraid of the dark. He spends a lot of time in his upstairs bedroom watching the neighborhood. He's intrigued by Holly... but Holly has been warned that she should stay away from him, but not exactly why. Holly has left her old life behind. No one knows where she is.... or so she thinks. Who is creeping around the house? Why is someone blaming her for mistakes at work? Who wrote the threatening letter? There are so many twists and turns along the way. The ending blew me away .... it was so unexpected. This is a terrific psychological thriller. Each of this author's books are better than the last. Highly recommend to read. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
8 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Gayna Thompson
October 23, 2019
I really enjoyed this gripping book except for the single letters of words on some pages. I read on my cell phone. I had to skip many of the above mentioned pages cos it was so annoying trying to read them.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.