Joannis Cassiani opera omnia: cum aplissimis commentariis Alardi Gazæi in hac Parisiensi editione, contra quam in Lipsiensi, textui continenter ad majorem commoditatem lectoris subjacentibus, Volume 2

J.P. Migne

Additional Information

J.P. Migne
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 1846
Read more
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"The Sacred Writings Of ..." provides you with the essential works among the Early Christian writings. The volumes cover the beginning of Christianity until before the promulgation of the Nicene Creed at the First Council of Nicaea. Saint John Cassian (ca. 360 - 435) (Latin: Jo(h)annes Eremita Cassianus, Joannus Cassianus, or Joannes Massiliensis), John the Ascetic, or John Cassian the Roman, was a Christian theologian celebrated in both the Western and Eastern Churches for his mystical writings. He is known both as one of the "Scythian monks" and as one of the "Desert Fathers." (courtesy of This edition includes the following works: Contents: The Twelve Books on the Institutes of the Coenobia Book I. Of the Dress of the Monks. Book II. Of the Canonical System of the Nocturnal Prayers and Psalms. Book III. Of the Canonical System of the Daily Prayers and Psalms. Book IV. Of the Institutes of the Renunciants. Book V. Book VI. On the Spirit of Fornication. WE have thought best to omit altogether the translation of this book. Book VII.of the Spirit of Covetousness. Book VIII. Of the Spirit of Anger. Book IX. Of the Spirit of Dejection. Book X. Of the Spirit of Accidie. Book XI. Of the Spirit of Vainglory. Book XII. Conferences of John Cassian. Preface. I. First Conference of Abbot Moses. II. Second Conference of Abbot Moses. III. Conference of Abbot Paphnutius. IV. Conference of Abbot Daniel. V. Conference of Abbot Serapion. VI. Conference of Abbot Theodore. VII. First Conference of Abbot Serenus. VIII. The Second Conference of Abbot Serenus. IX. The First Conference of Abbot Isaac. X. The Second Conference of Abbot Isaac. XI. The First Conference of Abbot Chaeremon. XII. The Second Conference of Abbot Chaeremon. XIII. The Third Conference of Abbot Chaeremon. XIV. The First Conference of Abbot Nesteros. XV. The Second Conference of Abbot Nesteros.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.