Scorpions in Corinth

Philocles

Free sample

Murder with a sting in the tail.

Popular playwright Philocles and his actors are hired to take his latest play to Corinth to promote goodwill between the two cities. But on arrival, their guide and fixer Eumelos drops dead - poisoned.

Philocles is convinced someone is out to sabotage the play. To find out who - and why - he must first uncover the murderer.

But in Corinth the ruling oligarchs seem more interested in commerce than justice. And with the city's religious brotherhoods pursuing their own vicious rivalries, asking the wrong questions could get an outsider like Philocles killed . . .

The second novel following the investigations of amateur sleuth Philocles in ancient Athens, perfect for fans of Steven Saylor, Lindsey Davis and CJ Sansom.

Praise for JM Alvey

'An enjoyable debut with a strong sense of its historical setting' The Times

‘Historical writing at its best and crime writing worthy of prizes’ Manda Scott

‘As vivid and lively as a Greek wedding...but with rather more blood’ Val McDermid


Read more
Collapse

About the author

J M Alvey studied Classics at Oxford in the 1980s. Crime fiction has always been relaxation reading and that love of mysteries and thrillers continued, alongside an abiding fascination with history and the ancient world.

These interests have all now come together in the first adventure of Philocles Hestaiou, comic playwright and pen for hire in classical Athens.

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Seller
Google LLC
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 7, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
352
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788639712
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Historical / Ancient
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2022 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google Play|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.