The Bloody Tower

St. Swithin Press
Free sample



The Bloody Tower by John Rhode, also published as The Tower of Evil



“Any murder planned
my Mr. Rhode is bound to be ingenious.”—The Observer





The old man dragged his dilapidated chair
to the window. With difficulty, he slowly extended a gnarled, shaking hand and
pointed toward a distant, formless bulk outlined against the sunset. “The tower
still stands,” he said in a high-pitched, quivering voice, which seemed to
conceal a note of triumph.



Strange words from a man who has just been
told that his eldest son lies dead, killed by the inescapable explosion of his
own shotgun. To be sure, the body had been found near the tower, but what could
be the significance of this ungainly structure that the old man should mention
it so mysteriously? Could the key exist within the old letter bearing biblical
citations alongside a cipher of odd, hand-drawn shapes?



Subsequent developments draw Jimmy Waghorn
and Inspector Hanslet far from the actual crime scene in their search for the
murderer. When they finally bring their theory to that intrepid
scientist-detective, Dr. Priestley, he offers a strangely enigmatic suggestion
which throws new light on the case and sets them on the track of an amazing
discovery.



“There are times when I think he is the
finest detective story writer of them all.”—The Manchester Evening Star



“He must hold the record for the invention
of ingenious ways of taking life.”—The Sunday
Times



“It is the soundness of his method that
keeps him in the front rank of detective story artists.”—The London News

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
St. Swithin Press
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 1938
Read more
Pages
266
Read more
ISBN
9781927716397
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.