Fire Light

Rhyous
4
Free sample

Jake is a jeek—part jock, part geek—who finds out he’s an unwitting target of genocide against a secret society known as the Druids—a society he didn’t even know he belonged to.

O’Brien, one of the last druids, is his mentor. Unfortunately, he is a dud when it comes to magic, but at least he is ex-military.

As for picking his girlfriend . . . well, that’s a split decision. Alexis and Kendra are opposites in almost every way.

Now, if he can just survive the nightwalker—an obsidian-skinned creature with a thirst for blood and a banshee’s mind-destroying scream, who wears a cloak black enough to make the grim reaper jealous—then he might have a chance.

Ultimately, protecting his loved ones, and himself if possible, becomes his priority.
Read more

About the author

I was born in Salt Lake City, Utah on June 27, 1977. I spent the first part of my life living just outside of a small Utah town called Roosevelt. As a child, I spent the summers in the cottonwood trees lining the creek that ran through our twenty-seven acres. I had a vast imagination and I spoke whatever I thought.

I grew up in the sticks but I also grew up with a computer. So I became a gamer/computer geek and yet at the same time, I liked outdoors and horses and shooting .22 rifles and just being a country boy. A lot of my friends have thick rural accents and I think I avoided a strong colloquial accent because of how many books I read.

I finished the Lord of the Rings at the end of fifth grade and I don’t think I have been the same since.

Read more
4.2
4 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Rhyous
Read more
Published on
Oct 4, 2013
Read more
Pages
415
Read more
ISBN
9780989810913
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Romance / Paranormal
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

A New York Times bestseller!

#1 New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon brings us back to the astonishing world of the Dark-Hunters in Stygian, with a hero misunderstood by many...but most of all by himself.

Born before man recorded time, I lived for thousands of years believing myself to be something I’m not.

Someone I’m not.

Lied to and betrayed by gods, Daimons and Dark-Hunters, I’ve struggled to find my way in a world where I’ve been cursed since the moment I was prematurely ripped from my mother and planted into the womb of an innocent woman who thought me her son.

Trained as a slayer and predator, I learned to fit in and stay low. To become a tool for evil. Until I was sent to kill the one woman I couldn’t. My hesitation cost her her life.

Or so I thought. In an act of betrayal that makes all the others pale in comparison, I’ve learned that this world is an illusion and that my Phoebe still lives.

Now I will have to travel into the very pits of Hades to try and save her, even as everyone around me attempts to steal what little soul I have left. There’s only one person at my back and I’m not sure I can trust her either, for she was born of an enemy race. Yet sometimes the road to redemption is one that singes us to our very core. And if I fail to find the answers I need to save Phoebe, more than just my wife will die.

We will lose the world. Both human and Daimon.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.