House Without Lies

· White Star Press
4.5
52 reviews
Ebook
258
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Her Dream Didn’t Include Falling in Love


Lily dreams of a big house, a place of refuge for runaway girls. She knows what it’s like to grow up feeling unloved, and she now fills every space in her tiny apartment with endangered teens. They don’t have everything they need, but together they have enough.


Or so she thinks—until she meets Jameson and glimpses the mysterious something between them that just might mean real love.


Jameson, who works as a teen counselor, believes the only way Lily can really help the girls is by certifying as a foster parent and going through the system. But becoming legitimate may mean losing some of the girls to the families who threw them away, and Lily hasn’t worked hard to save the teens only to abandon them now.


It seems Jameson will be one more entry on the very long list of things Lily has given up for the girls. What other choice is there when she is all they have?


When two of the teens’ fathers come looking for them, and another one’s mother plans to put her daughter in danger, Lily’s life spins out of control. They need a new home—and fast. A safe place. A house without lies.


Editorial note: House Without Lies is a clean, contemporary romance with a satisfying ending (no cliffhanger). Feel-good, romantic book that lifts while at the same time addressing serious issues and deeper family connections. You will love Lily and her girls! There are sequels that tell the stories of other characters connected with Lily’s House. As one reviewer says, these are "Ideal for fans of Robyn Carr, Mariah Stewart, Sherryl Woods and Susan Wiggs."


Editorial Review


"Readers seeking inspirational women's stories with a broader focus than relationship-building moments will find House Without Lies just the ticket. It's filled with many different characters and diverse circumstances, but the overall plot holds true to its intentions and presents a vivid story made all the more immediate by Rachel Branton's choice of using the first person to capture Lily's daily life and feelings.


Lily's accustomed to fighting for others: can she fight for herself, as well? An engrossing read, it's also a pleasure to add a note that while House Without Lies is part of a series, it's actually a fine stand-alone story that neatly concludes its plot. Readers will want more, but won't be required to hang off a cliff waiting for resolution – and that's a huge bonus to the first book in this series." –D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review


Note: All the stories in the Lily's House series are complete stories without cliffhangers. Reading all of them will catch you up with characters in previous novels, but you do not have to read them in order. Enjoy!

4.5
52 reviews
Sandra
September 5, 2019
Wonderful Book This is my first book by this author and it is very very good. It shows that you don't need to be blood family to be family. And you don't have to stop trying to solve a problem when it seems an impossible thing to solve. Young women and teens will love this book, this book is clean and full of love. I like that even though raised without a mother's love, you can break the mold and be opposite.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Gacha Love
May 25, 2020
Truly a sweet story that exists somewhere in our world of too little love, too few parents who care enough about their children and too much violence. It's wonderful to be drawn into the interactions of the characters - it was like I was right there seeing everything first hand! I am a guardian and have been a foster parent and can really relate to Lily and feel her concerns, fears, frustrations, love and happiness. Well done! This is the first time I've read any of Ms. Branton's works but I certainly look forward to reading more. Thank you so much!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Vivian Brandon
January 23, 2018
Lily has a heart of gold: warm, giving and wise. Aiding girls on the streets (homeless, abused / unwanted), is what she does. The system hasn't helped Lily's girls. Just finishing grad school, Lily's dreamed of doing this since she was a child herself; money is tight and problems abound. Meeting and being attracted to Jameson (who works in the system) while carrying these burdens makes Lily wary. Excellent read! Truthful and honest, written to inspire and entertain! 4 1/2 stars.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

 Rachel Branton has worked in publishing for over twenty years. She loves writing women's fiction and traveling, and she hopes to write and travel a lot more. As a mother of seven, including a four-year-old, it's not easy to find time to write, but the semi-ordered chaos gives her a constant source of writing material. She warns her children that if they don't behave, they just might find themselves in her next book! She's been known to wear pajamas all day when working on a deadline, and is often distracted enough to burn dinner. (Okay, pretty much 90% of the time.) A sign on her office door reads: Danger. Enter at Your Own Risk. Writer at Work. Under the name Rachel Branton, she writes romance, romantic suspense, and women's fiction. Rachel also writes urban fantasy, paranormal romance, and science fiction under the name Teyla Branton. For more information or to sign up to hear about new releases, please visit www.RachelBranton.com.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.