The Killing Game: A tense, gripping thriller you DON'T want to miss

· Bookouture
4.7
33 reviews
Ebook
384
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘From the first to the last page, I was completely and utterly at the mercy of this book. I was turning the pages like they were on fire, it was that good!!!’ Bibliophile Book Club 

Imagine you are having lunch at an exclusive restaurant, filled with Hollywood’s hottest stars.
And a masked gunman walks in and takes everyone hostage. 
You must bargain for your life against a twisted individual who knows everything about you.
He also has a bomb set to detonate if his heart rate changes. 
If he dies. You die.
You have four hours to stay alive.
What would you do? 

A heart-stopping thriller with plenty of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for fans of Peter Swanson, Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

Read what everyone is saying about The Killing Game


‘Wow…Just…Wow! What happens in those four hours has to be some of the most intense reading I have ever experienced. I actually felt like I was with the other diners and in total fear of my life. It really grabs you by the throat and doesn't let you go, right up until the very last page. Readers really need to read it for themselves to get the full impact of just how great a novel this is.’ By The Letter Book Reviews 

‘A highly tense and addictive tale. I held my breath, and this continued to the very end…my book of the year.’ Postcard Reviews 

‘This book is simply outstanding and completely blew me away. In fact I felt I needed therapy after finishing it, as this book left me with a hell of a book hangover! I couldn't bear to put it down.’ The Book Review Café

Ratings and reviews

4.7
33 reviews
Tim Bradley
November 17, 2016
I don't know what I was expecting, but it wasn't this. But this was quite good. It flowed well. Was fast paced. It even offered a little depth with a critique of humanity and a reminder of the important things in life. It was like an action book crossed with a something more ... literary? That's not quite right, but it is hard to put a finger on it. Suffice to say that I liked it.
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
October 31, 2016
J J Johnson is a publicist .. she's worked so long and so hard to become a success. Now she can make or break careers of the rich and famous. Meeting a client at a very exclusive restaurant, she's pleased to see several famous people she either loves or hates. But her life, as she knows it, is about to change. He walks into the restaurant wearing fatigues, a face mask, a bomb jacket and carrying a really large assault rifle. He knows almost everyone in the restaurant .. who they are.. how much money they have ... But it becomes clear that money is not what he wants. This is a super-thriller filled with twists and turns and surprises that make you gasp. It is very well written. The characters are sharply drawn; kudos to the author for having characters that I absolutely did not like. My opinion wavered back and forth the more I read. There were times I felt more empathy for the bomber than for the others. Lots of lives will be taken..most for the only reason that the bomber wanted them dead. A secondary story weaves in and out of the action inside the restaurant. One young man has hidden in the men's room ... the bomber does not know he's there. There are reporters who have no problem paying for 'exclusive' information. The cops have zipped lips ... at least most of them do. Who is he? What does he want? And what is his connection to two of the diners? I stayed riveted through the entire book. The ending was 'explosive' and though I could guess the ending, it still took me by moment of surprise. Highly recommended to anyone who likes a really good thriller! Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley who provided a digital copy. All opinions are my own.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sam Primm
May 7, 2017
Great writing as usual but a bit too casual and blasé about death. Original plot though!
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

 

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.