Ambient Light: An Angel McKenzie Thriller

Call Of The Wild
1
Free sample

Angel McKenzie's perfect life is about to change. 

On assignment in her home town, the spirited freelance photographer is in the wrong place at the wrong time, attracting the attention of the wrong man. Convinced her photos place him at the scene of the crime, he sets out to destroy the evidence... and becomes obsessed with Angel instead, determined to posess her in every sense of the word. 

Can the new man in her life, Detective Jason Dalton, reach her in time? Or will she spend the last hours of her life enslaved to a madman? 

Read more

About the author

Lorraine Adair is much more comfortable behind the camera than in front of it. That would probably explain why her first novel is about a photographer. She lives in the beautiful state of Oregon with her husband and their five cats, plus a feisty elderly Pomeranian.

An avid reader of many fiction genres, Lorraine decided to try her hand at writing fiction later in life. Her first novel, the romantic suspense Ambient Light, was published when Lorraine was 59 years young.

With so much life experience to draw on, Lorraine has plans for a lot more books. If you like your romance a little steamy, but not explicit, you'll want to check out Lorraine's books.
Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Call Of The Wild
Read more
Published on
Sep 2, 2013
Read more
Pages
214
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.