The Date: An unputdownable psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist

· Bookouture
4.3
141 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

One night can change everything. 

 

‘I know it as soon as I wake up and open my eyes... Something is wrong.’

 

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future. By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her. 

 

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognise the face staring back at her

 

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The SisterThe Gift and The SurrogateThe Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep. 

 

What readers are saying about The Date:

Holy cow, what a read! I literally dropped everything I was supposed to be doing after reading the first few pages and couldn't put it down until I reached the very end… one of the best psychological thrillers I've read this year and without doubt a new all-time favourite!’ It’s All About Books, 5 stars

 

‘I literally didn’t put it down once from start to finish!… It sent chills down my spine… The last page of this book gave me goosebumps and I felt glad I wasn’t home alone!... gripping, unnerving and an unputdownable read!’ Rather Too Fond of Books, 5 stars

 

Wow, I would give this a 10 out of 5 stars if I could!... An absolutely fantastic, heart-pumping, twisted, thrill-seeking read that I could not put down… a heart-breaking emotional rollercoaster… The Date completely knocked my socks off.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

OMG WOW… you won’t be able to turn those pages fast enough… the final twist will absolutely knock you out… this rare and exceptional book will be put forward for Literature Love’s top 10 books of the year.’ Literature Love, 5 stars

 

‘Ohhhhhhhh my goodness!!! Louise Jensen has blown my mind AGAIN!... will literally have your jaw dropping… I was nervous to even turn the page (that’s my favourite part of a well written thriller)!!!’ Steph and Chris’s Book Review, 5 stars

 

‘Every now and then a book comes along that completely blows my mind!! And this is one of them!! To say I loved it is an understatement!! This book was absolutely freaking BRILLIANT!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Mind blowing, edge-of-your seat fantastic!... Kept me guessing straight from the off just when I thought I had it figured out, another twist.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘What a page-turner of a book this is. Just when I thought I had worked it out… bam… another brilliant twist, again and again. This is definitely an edge-of-your-seat story that you won't be able to put down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Every chapter had me on the edge-of-my-seat and just when I thought I had it figured out Louise threw another twist in the mix!... suspenseful, thrilling, fast-paced and emotional.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow! What an incredible book… like a rollercoaster ride – building up, building up. You don't know what to expect and then BAM, you need to hang on. It's really that good!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Will have your heart-pounding and flipping the pages. And I was finally stumped, thank you Louise Jensen for putting my inner detective in her place!!!’ The Book Collective, 5 stars

 

‘The most incredible suspense!... I was flipping pages on my Kindle faster than I could read and I was seriously concerned my Kindle won't take the pressure.’ Shuffle Book Box, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.3
141 reviews
MisterBabamook
June 25, 2018
Louise Jensen returns with her fourth psychological thriller, The Date, and it is arguably her finest novel to date (no pun intended, but I'll take it) I'll be honest, going in to her latest novel, I had no idea what it was about. Having read Louise's previous three and having been thoroughly impressed and captivated by each unique story, I took the conscious decision to enter The Date being completely oblivious to the plot, confident from her previous work that I would not be disappointed by her fantastic skill at weaving an incredible, terrifying and engaging plot. And it's not often that I'm wrong, but I'm right again. Now I'm not going to going into the plot of this book, you can get the jist of it in the blurb, nor am I going to go into great detail as I don't want to reveal any spoilers or divulge too much, you really have got to experience it for yourself. Obviously. So, let me start with simplicity... The Date truly does grip you from the opening paragraph. It is exactly what you want from a novel in this genre to get you interested right from the off, and its quality and entrapment doesn't decline or release throughout it's entirety. Billed as an 'unputdownable thriller', these words really do ring true. Well, almost. I am human and need food and toilet breaks. Aside from that, I genuinely couldn't put it down and absorbed all its greatness in a single day. Just a matter of hours, in fact. One of the aspects that absolutely hooked me in, in The Date, were its subject matter. Although It is something that I do not fully understand, it is a subject that I find genuinely fascinating (yes, I am being vague). And so, it was a great delight for me, as a reader and a studier. That being said, this really didn’t come as a great surprise. As with The Sister, The Gift and The Surrogate before it, The Date is not just your stereotypical clichéd thriller, with subject content that has already been done to death. But it is in fact a brilliantly executed, researched novel with heart, determination, depth and meaning; a testament to Louise Jensen as an author. The characters are strong and well developed (again, I’m not going into detail or naming them as I really want you to find out for yourselves), and you find yourself easily invested in their particular roles. They are not just flat names and descriptions on a page, but solid three-dimensional people that you can clearly picture and even relate to in certain ways, depending on your own personal experiences. It's easy to have a genuine emotional reaction to certain characters and plot developments as they are written with such realistic creation and dedication. It's blindingly obvious that the author cares about what and who she writes, and that jumps out of the pages beautifully. In keeping with Louise's adept vision, the 'thriller' aspect of this novel is absolutely on-point. The amazing story is expertly crafted and leads you on a merry dance of thoughts and questions as you try (in vain) to solve it before it's all laid out for you in the outstanding climax. In that regard (for me) it is her strongest work yet, and I feel that her writing just gets better and better with each novel. I was absolutely hooked. There is no other way to put it. It is frightening, intelligent and heartfelt, and the pacing is just perfect. However, it's not all about being a thriller, The Date is also (as I personally perceived it) about connections. And there are some strong connections between certain characters in this novel. It is also a fantastic insight into a genuine condition, weaved perectly into an incredible thriller. If you are a fan of The Sister, The Gift or The Surrogate, then I can guarantee that you are absolutely going to love The Date. If you have not read any of these novels, then I really implore you to do so if you are a fan of the genre, or if you are new to it and looking for a great read. This incredible book will deliver all your need and requirements, and then some. The Date is yet more proo that Louise is one of the finest authors to date.
16 people found this review helpful
Windwaker 75
September 17, 2023
Wow, this book was a real page turner and kept me reading far too late into the night. Excellent read and the main character was so well thought out. Bravo 👏
Paige Lynn
February 3, 2022
So while I rate this book a 5 for me, I know it isn't everyone's cup of tea. All in all a good read, slight twist that I hadn't exactly pin pointed. I was able to read this book in 5 hours and felt thrilled most of the time. The only times I decided to skim were of just plain flash backs. Nothing of importance other than to know the main character. Though I'm used to lengthy disposition and descriptions so it wasn't at all a bother. I just needed things to move a little faster for my liking.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.