A Trace of Copper: A Steampunk Romance

· Elemental Steampunk Tales Book 1 · Anne Renwick
3.8
4 reviews
Ebook
202
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A small Welsh village. An interrupted romance. A rogue frog on the loose threatening their future.


New recruit to the Queen’s agents, Dr. Piyali Mukherji is given a simple first assignment. Travel to the small Welsh village of Aberwyn and solve the mystery of a young woman’s blue skin lesion. A challenging task, for the alarming infection is unlike anything she’s seen before—and it’s spreading. 


Evan Tredegar, the town’s pharmacist and the only man to ever capture her heart, knows more than he’s telling. Despite his efforts to push her away, her touch reawakens old desires. 


As more villagers fall victim to the strange disease, he’ll have no choice but to reveal his secrets, even if it means sacrificing his freedom. Together they must move past broken promises, capture a rogue frog, and stop the infection before it spreads out of control.



A TRACE OF COPPER is a novella set in a Victorian Steampunk Romance series filled with mad scientists, inquisitive young ladies and dangerous gentlemen.

 

THE ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK CHRONICLES

The Golden Spider 

The Silver Skull 

The Iron Fin 

Venomous Secrets 

 

ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK TALES

A Trace of Copper

In Pursuit of Dragons  

A Reflection of Shadows

A Snowflake at Midnight

A Ghost in Amber

 

ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK STORIES

The Tin Rose

Kraken and Canals

Rust and Steam

 

 

Perfect for fans of Honor Raconteur, Luanne G. Smith, Charlie N. Holmberg, AJ Lancaster and Colleen Cowley.

- Steampunk 

- Science Fiction

- Romantic Fantasy

- Alternate History

- Adventure

- Historical

- Gaslamp 

- Fantasy Romance

- Myths and Legends

3.8
4 reviews
Hillary Peebles
October 9, 2019
All's not what it seems in this small village in Wales. A Queen's agent and doctor, Piyali thought that her broken heart was starting to mend, but seeing her almost-fiancee again is breaking it all over (especially with him standing over a simpering girl). Hope dare he. She waited for him to return from the Amazon and returns with no note, nothing. But she is here as a professional for the strange blue lesion received by a blue frog that Evan seems to know more than her is letting on. Evan longs to renew is acquaintance with Piyali, but things are not what they seem. In order to protect her, her must drive her away and find that damn blue frog before things get out of hand. It's an enchanting story of second chances and intrigue, of mysticism and science. You'll find yourself engrossed in the loves of the characters so you hope along with them for a HEA. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
I think the worst part about this book is that I actually quite liked the characters and the plot for the most part. The mystery of the blue frog was interesting. What sucked though was the romantic ...
Third-party review
Series Info/Source: This is the first book in the Elemental Steampunk Tales series. I bought this for Kindle Story (4/5): This was a fun story about a young doctor who is forced to journey to a remote ...

About the author


ANNE RENWICK holds a Ph.D. in biology and greatly enjoyed tormenting the overburdened undergraduates who were her students, fiction has always been her first love. Today, she writes steampunk romance, placing a new kind of biotech in the hands of mad scientists, proper young ladies and determined villains.


Anne brings an unusual perspective to steampunk. A number of years spent locked inside the bowels of a biological research facility left her permanently altered. In her steampunk world, the Victorian fascination with all things anatomical led to a number of alarming biotechnological advances. Ones that the enemies of Britain would dearly love to possess.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.