The Iron Fin: A Steampunk Romance

· The Elemental Steampunk Chronicles Book 3 · Anne Renwick
4.3
3 reviews
Ebook
520
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A vampiric octopus hunting selkies. A torrid love affair. Traitors who prey on those closest to them in a bid for power.


Isa McQuiston is caught between two worlds. Strange creatures are attacking her people, their injuries beyond her medical expertise. More than one fisherman has been tossed ashore by the waves, drained of blood, a severed tentacle piercing his flesh. To find answers, she must forge a cautious alliance with the outsider making inquiries… even if he does present an almost irresistible temptation. 


Dr. Alec McCullough, an injured naval officer, is restless and bored. Until his brother—an agent for the Crown—offers him an assignment: investigate a recent rash of unexplained octopus attacks. On the wet and windy Hebridean Isles, his every effort is met with resistance. Coaxing an attractive young widow—the local healer—to allow him to examine the latest victim only leads to further complications. 


A fusion of living and mechanical components, the creatures follow instinct, but also command. Together, they uncover layers of deceit, revealing traitorous tentacles that entangle both their lives. As those behind their creation callously sacrifice innocent lives in pursuit of their goals, Isa and Alec struggle to forge a future together while attempting to prevent a disaster of international proportions. 



ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK CHRONICLES: The Golden Spider, The Silver Skull, The Iron Fin, Venomous Secrets


ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK TALES: A Trace of Copper, In Pursuit of Dragons, A Reflection of Shadows, A Snowflake at Midnight, A Ghost in Amber


ELEMENTAL STEAMPUNK STORIES: The Tin Rose, Kraken and Canals, Rust and Steam

 

 

Perfect for fans of Honor Raconteur, Luanne G. Smith, Charlie N. Holmberg, AJ Lancaster and Colleen Cowley.

- Steampunk 

- Science Fiction

- Romantic Fantasy

- Alternate History

- Adventure

- Historical

- Gaslamp 

- Fantasy Romance

- Myths and Legends

4.3
3 reviews
helen Buckthal
November 29, 2019
A fascinating trip to Scotland. Isa is half selkie and Alec is the member of a kind of SEAL team. They have to work together to hunt down a villain preying upon her own people.
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
I liked the characters in this one, but I wasn't a huge fan of the plot. Lost me a little bit. I'm not sure I really get the world building in this series to be honest. Or how all the characters ...
Third-party review
This is the third and final book in the Elemental Web Chronicles. While I felt like this was the weakest book in the Elemental Web Chronicles series, I still enjoyed it a ton. For some reason this ...

About the author


ANNE RENWICK holds a Ph.D. in biology and greatly enjoyed tormenting the overburdened undergraduates who were her students, fiction has always been her first love. Today, she writes steampunk romance, placing a new kind of biotech in the hands of mad scientists, proper young ladies and determined villains.


Anne brings an unusual perspective to steampunk. A number of years spent locked inside the bowels of a biological research facility left her permanently altered. In her steampunk world, the Victorian fascination with all things anatomical led to a number of alarming biotechnological advances. Ones that the enemies of Britain would dearly love to possess.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.