The Hero of Ages: Book Three of Mistborn

· Mistborn Book 3 · Sold by Tor Books
930 reviews

About this ebook

Now with over 10 million copies sold, The Mistborn Series has the thrills of a heist story, the twistiness of political intrigue, and the epic scale of a landmark fantasy saga.

Who is the Hero of Ages?

To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness--the lethal form of the ubiquitous mists--is back, along with increasingly heavy ashfalls and ever more powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed.

Having escaped death at the climax of The Well of Ascension only by becoming a Mistborn himself, Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left behind by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world. Vin is consumed with guilt at having been tricked into releasing the mystic force known as Ruin from the Well. Ruin wants to end the world, and its near omniscience and ability to warp reality make stopping it seem impossible. She can't even discuss it with Elend lest Ruin learn their plans!

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive

The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)

The Mistborn trilogy

Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Ratings and reviews

930 reviews
Brandon Rodenberger
April 13, 2019
Id say good ending to the first series trilogy (there is now a second trilogy that takes place hundreds of years later) Slow start, weak middle, and a strong finish. Again, like the second book, there is a lot of re-explaining of key terms, and basic principles of the world, often more than necessary and sometimes annoying. The only thing I can relate this to is filler of an anime that keeps replaying the same character backstory, every few episodes or so. Otherwise, there is a logical conclusion that is both interesting and satisfying. Not much is left to ponder after the final page is turned. Leading up to that, however, can drone on a bit. The character progression is present and feels natural. No one is immune based off of importance, which is something ive enjoyed throughout the series. Overall 8/10. Otherwise, 4/5 :)
19 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Leni Popova
December 28, 2015
I have no words. This book was pretty interesting, cool plot, cool challenges, like the previous ones. Then suddenly the last 5-10 chapters happened. I had to pause in awe 3 distinct times when reading those last chapters. I'm crying slightly right now. Read this book. It's amazing. I think I might be convinced to believe in God because of this book. Sanderson may just have been a more effective conversion tool than 8 years of religious education. Read this series, you won't regret it.
13 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Oscar Chabrand
November 8, 2013
I have the trilogy as audio books. While I got hooked on the first book, the interest dropped sharply after each sequel. Sarenson 's writing suffers from tedious repetitions of the same ideas over and over again. In the trilogy I probably heard the same phrases over and over again. The same simple ideas drilled a dozen times, as if Sarenson assumed his readers are too stupid to remember something they were told a couple of chapters earlier. Truly exasperating.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. He is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn® trilogy and its sequels, The Alloy of Law, Shadows of Self, and The Bands of Mourning; the Stormlight Archive novels The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance; and other novels, including The Rithmatist and Steelheart. In 2013, he won a Hugo Award for Best Novella for The Emperor's Soul, set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time® sequence.

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.