Victor: A Chicago Blaze Hockey Romance

· Silver Sky Publishing, Inc.
4.4
20 reviews
Ebook
222
Pages

About this ebook

He’s a hockey star with a headboard full of notches. She’s a shy NHL concession worker who’s never been kissed. 


Lindy

They don’t call me Belinda Boring for nothing. It’s my name, after all. And for a 23-year-old with plain brown hair who still lives at home and gets tongue tied over nothing, it’s a fitting one. I’m not even one of those quiet girls with a hidden talent, unless making a mean order of nachos at the NHL arena I work at counts. My life consists of working, reading and harboring a secret crush on a hockey player who doesn’t know I exist. At least, until we accidentally meet and become unlikely friends.


Victor

I’m living the dream. A poor kid who worked his way into the NHL, I’ll never forget where I came from, though I try to. My past follows me, a nagging reminder that I’ll never be what everyone thinks I am. As the threat of my secret being exposed looms closer, my game slips, leaving me in danger of being cut from my team--the only family I have. I’m losing my hold on everything when a new friend helps me find hope. She’s nothing like the women I’m used to, but by the time I figure out that’s exactly why she’s right for me, I’ve lost my chance with her. Somehow, I have to convince a woman who thinks she’s invisible that she’s the only one I see. 


Perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett, Toni Aleo, Kelly Jamieson and Sarina Bowen.


Read the entire Chicago Blaze series.

Anton

Luca

Victor

Knox

Alexei

Easy

Jonah


What readers are saying:


"A genuinely beautiful friends to lovers story." - Tania's Book Blog



"Utterly endearing and deeply moving." - Mary, Frolic



"There were parts I wanted to cry, parts that brought out anger, and parts where I laughed until I had tears. I just plain enjoyed this story. It reminded me of a fairy tale. About hockey! How can it get better than that?!?" - Goodreads reviewer



"In a sea of bad books, Brenda Rothert is always my life raft." - Goodreads reviewer


Topics: contemporary romance, new adult romance, hockey romance, sports romance, hockey series, modern romance, hot romance, steamy romance, emotional romance, HEA, strong heroine, Chicago, heart-warming, happy ending, alpha, romance, pro hockey, family, love, Brenda rothert, Brenda rothert hockey, alpha hero, Fire on Ice, Fire on Ice series, Bound, Hooked, ugly duckling, rags to riches

4.4
20 reviews
Lenore Kosinski
May 16, 2020
3.5 stars — This is a case of a book being almost perfect for me, but failing to get out of its own way in certain areas. Like seriously, I know lots of people are tired of this trope, but I still gravitate towards it — so the book didn’t need to work very hard. And so many aspects were just spot on and I loved them!! BUT…then there were some little things. Let’s start off with the good! In general I thought Lindy was pretty sweet, and someone I could easily connect with. I know that won’t be the case for most people, but I understood her need to please and not make waves. I loved how she was there for people, and how 99% of the time she wasn’t judgey (we’ll get to the 1%). I thought her friendship with Ari was a bit odd, but eh…it was nice to see her have a girlfriend to hang with. Victor was actually pretty sweet too. I know the blurb gives him a manwhore vibe, but honestly? For the stereotype of a hockey player, he was actually pretty mild. I mean, maybe it was because of everything he had going on with him, but I just didn’t feel it that hard. He had a lot of work to do in the self-reflecting zone, but he got there with some help from his teammates. One thing that I absolutely ADORED about him is that he proactively confided in Lindy about his secret…I really loved that. And I ADORED their meet-cute! That whole scene where they’re talking in the arena just made my heart tippy tap. I didn’t even completely mind that he friend-zoned her…he was pretty confused. And I enjoyed them hanging out and getting to know one another. I feel like I missed out a bit on their make out sessions — it was mentioned in passing, and sometimes I find those first kissing scenes more fun than the actual steamy scenes, but oh well. So what went wrong? A bunch of little things. 1. They were both HORRIBLE when they got jealous. Just not attractive at all. Lindy behaved very out of character when she girl shamed the beauty contestants (implying they weren’t smart, etc). And Victor…*shakes head* He was almost controlling. 2. There was also Victor’s implication that Lindy is too good and is *worth* more in terms of sex/relationships than other girls. 3. There were some very serious moments/topics in this book that would have been great if they’d been explored in depth. As it stands though, they were super glossed over and felt thrown in for…shock value? I don’t know. Either give them their due and importance, or leave them out. 4. Lindy’s Dad and his friends were dicks. And not just dicks, homophobic dicks. I get that perhaps Ms. Rothert was supposed to be showcasing South Side Chicago blue collar folks or something, but I was not impressed. Especially since Lindy wasn’t internally cringing over the things they were saying. That group could have been endearing, but it completely fell flat. *sigh* Those were the biggest. It’s *super* too bad, because without those things, I bet this would have been my fave in the series. As it is, I’m not sure if I’m going to round up or down. *womp womp*
1 person found this review helpful

About the author

Brenda Rothert is an Illinois native who was a print journalist for nine years. She made the jump from fact to fiction in 2013 and never looked back. From new adult to steamy contemporary romance, Brenda creates fresh characters in every story she tells. She’s a lover of Diet Coke, lazy weekends and happily ever afters.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.