One Left Behind: A completely gripping and addictive crime thriller with nail-biting suspense

· Detective Gina Harte Book 9 · Bookouture
4.5
32 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Music and loud voices echo through the woods surrounding her. Wiping her tears, she hears the rustle of leaves close by. Footsteps. She has no time to scream before a hand covers her mouth and her entire world goes black.

 

In a patch of forest on the outskirts of a small town, five teenage school friends prepare to spend a night away from home. Carrying their tents and sleeping bags, they laugh and joke as they make their way into the darkest part of the woods, away from prying eyes. But as the sun rises the following morning, only four are left alive.

 

Devastated, Leah’s friends all swear they didn’t see or hear anything. Her best friend sobs as she recounts what she remembers from that night – dancing, roasting marshmallows, sipping warm cans of beer by the fire – but is it grief, or is she hiding something? What happened to Naomi in the hour that no one can account for? And what troubled past lies behind the perfect manners of the boy who organised the trip, and who is prepared to lie to keep it buried?

 

As the cracks in their stories grow, it’s clear one of them is lying, and one of them is next…

 

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Cara Hunter and Clare Mackintosh, One Left Behind is a thrilling crime novel that will have you hooked from the very first page!

 

What readers are saying about One Left Behind:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wow! What can I say about this book in one word? Tremendous!!… This book was definitely on another level!!’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘An absolute cracker! This book is just fabulous!Fiction Café Book Club


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Nope, nope, nope! I did not see that coming! Can’t-put-down thrill ride that you’ll keep reading all night long.’ Unrepentantbibliovores


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wow, wow, wow… A fabulous read that left you wanting moreI almost had a heart attack and fell over when I found out who had done it and why… A roller coaster that I never wanted to get off… From the beginning, it kept me so engrossed and entertained.’ Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Kept me on the edge of my seat from the beginning until the end. I just loved every word on every page’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Great book! Wow, so many twists and turns! This book had intrigue, suspense action and lots of crazy plot twists!sassysouthernbook/Ana’s guest reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘It had me gripped from when I started and I didn’t want to put it down.’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Five-star fun! Mystery lovers will LOVE this series!’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Fantastic. Five stars from me.’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This is a must-read.’ Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I just wish I could give it more than five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Thrilling, tense and exciting… The book was fantastic and full of surprises and shocks.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was up late reading as this book was absolutely unputdownable!’ Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Kept me on the edge of my seat. Definitely recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer

Ratings and reviews

4.5
32 reviews
A Google user
June 18, 2021
My Review: Wow, wow, wow Carla Kovach really outdid herself with this book. It was such a fabulous read that left you wanting more. This book is part of series but can definitely be read as a stand alone. I’ve only read a few books from this series and had no trouble following what was going on in any of those books. Ok, now let’s talk about this book. Where do I even begin. First, I absolutely loved it so let’s get that out of way. Next on to the characters. The characters were by far my favorite part of the book. I loved how all the detectives worked well with each other and how they interacted with each other. They knew how to work as a team and get the job done. Also, I loved the plot of the story. Five teenagers walk into the woods and only four come back out. Who isn’t intrigued by this. It makes you want to know more and question what really happened in those woods. On to that shocker of an ending. I almost had a heart attack and fell over when I found out who done it and why. The Why is so important to me and I was shocked to the core. It all made sense in the end and I loved it. This book was definitely a roller coaster that I never wanted to get off from. From the beginning to the end it kept me so engrossed and entertained. The hours flew by when I was reading this one. Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Anna W
July 15, 2021
Oh my this one was a great read!!! I got this as an ARC and I was really intrigued when I read the synopsis! A teen is found dead in the woods, and none of her friends are talking. Who killed her? Was it someone she knew, or a random creepo who lived in the area nearby? Soooo many sketchy people. Sooo many secrets needing to be revealed. I didn’t know where this tale would go! There were a ton of twists, a surprising ending, and the satisfaction of all the puzzle pieces falling into place! This was a GREAT novel and I am really excited that I now had a chance to read a Carla Kovach book! It was so easy to get into this thriller and I definitely would say it got me out of my thriller reading slump! Pick this one up when it gets publishing July 15!! Yay Thank you to netgalley and bookouture for this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Liza Reitsma
February 16, 2023
I LOVE this whole series with Gina Harte and coworkers. How you tackle serious subjects but also the comical moments, spine tingling and emotional. You make us feel what you are writing about. Please don't stop writing this series!
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

Continue the series

More by Carla Kovach

Similar ebooks