Why We Play: How to find joy and meaning in everyday life

· Thread
Ebook
208
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Discover how to reconnect with the child in you and unlock the transformative power of play to live a more joyful life.

 

Can you remember the utter delight of playing chase in the park, flying a kite in the summer breeze, or sinking your hands into a box of paints? As children, playing is how we make sense of the world and our place in it. Why then, as adults, do we forget how to play?

 

Drawing on over twenty years of neuroscientific research, psychotherapist Joanna Fortune has discovered that play is the key to living a happier and more meaningful life. She shares the social, emotional, and physical health benefits of why it’s so good for us, including how to:


-      Practice micro moments of joy to boost positive mood

-      Embrace wonderment to help unlock creativity and problem solving

-      Find the fun in your everyday to alleviate stress

-      Use storytelling to heal from trauma and find emotional resilience

-      Nurture a holiday state of mind to rest your brain and recharge  

-      Utilise simple techniques to repair and strengthen relationships


From the first blissful sip of freshly brewed coffee to an immune-boosting good laugh with close friends, this ground-breaking book shows how play is rooted in our daily experiences. With helpful insights, tips, and exercises, you’ll discover the tiny changes that will revolutionise your life and why you’re never too old for play.

 

Fans of Atomic Habits and Solve for Happy will love Why We Play.

 

Read what everyone is saying about Why We Play:

 

Brilliant… joyful and transformative.’ Stefanie Preissner

 

I absolutely adore this book and it was a such a treat to read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘The author does a tremendous job at collating scientific data… I am amazed at the writing, it did not lag or lacked any substance. Amazing!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

I loved the mixture of scientific research and suggestions on how to play... a very accessible read and equally good to read through or just dip into the play suggestions… An excellent and important book that I'd recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

An excellent reference guide to how we can introduce play and fun into every aspect of our lives, including the workplace where “a curious mind is a playful mind”. The exercises are terrific! NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘What I like most about the book are the many exercises you can try to play, either alone or with another person. I really enjoy being silly so some of her exercises already belong to my daily routine. Seeing even more ideas was very inspiring for me… I would recommend this book to everyone who might feel stuck in the seriousness of life and is looking for more joy as part of their daily routine.Victoria’s Vlog

 

A necessary book for those aiming to improve their day-to-day lives through something as easy as PLAY!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘A great book… highly recommend.’ Angelic Light Book Review

 

‘A great book… The activities are varied, extensive… a book I would 100% recommend to any adult who wants to enjoy life and live their best life.’ Goodreads reviewer

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.