Say You'll Be My Lady

· Sold by Forever
3.8
4 reviews
Ebook
368
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Opposites attract in this irresistible Regency romance, where a proper gentleman who lives by the ton's rules and a lady who lives to break them try to resist one another—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton series.

Lady Serena Wynter doesn’t mind flirting with a bit of scandal—she’s determined to ignore society’s strictures and live life on her own fiercely independent terms. These days, she chooses to pour her passions into charitable causes with the vibrant group of ladies in her Wednesday Afternoon Social Club. But there is one man who stirs Serena’s deepest emotions, one who’s irresistibly handsome, infuriatingly circumspect, and too honorable for his own good...

Charles Townshend, former boxer and consummate gentleman, worries Serena’s reckless nature will earn her the ton’s scorn…or put her in serious danger. Though Charles isn’t immune to the attraction between them, a shocking family secret prevents him from ever acting on his desires. But it seems Lady Serena doesn’t intend to let his penchant for propriety stand in the way of a mutually satisfying dalliance.
 
3.8
4 reviews
Eileen Aberman-Wells
February 23, 2022
Say You’ll be My Lady by Kate Pembrooke, book two in The Gilded Age Heiresses series, is a friends-to-lovers and opposites-attract tale about two people figuring out where they belong. This story takes a deeper look into the minds and hearts of Charles, a proper gentleman who lives by the rules, and Serena, who seems born to break the rules. Despite a strong magnetic attraction and sizzling chemistry between Charles and Serena, the secrets they are both hiding from their past gets in the way of anything more than friends happening between them. In addition, Charles strongly believes that Serena is above him in class and stature, causing him to deny his feelings for her. Add in a homeless, foundling, Jem, who Serena and Charles bring into Serena’s home, and you have an enjoyable tale of two people who have a lot to overcome. Ms. Pembrooke wrote a friends-to-lovers and opposites-attract story filled with parental pressure, respect, passion and romance that should not to be missed. She provided a tale rich with respect, chemistry, wonderful banter, and secondary characters to give Serena and Charles a happy future together, along with Jem. I highly recommend Say You’ll be My Lady to other readers. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book
Did you find this helpful?
Viper Spaulding
February 23, 2022
Delightful romance! While this story lacks the spark and intensity of the first book, it still delivers a wonderful romance between a headstrong young woman and a rule-following young man. Charles has his reasons - very good reasons - for always adhering to proper rules of society, but Serena seems to have been born just to test his patience and resolve. I enjoyed the slow-burn of their romance, how their friendship gradually turned into more, and how the author pulled out all the stops to demonstrate the emotional depths of her subjects. The HEA was solid, if a bit cliché, and I truly loved all the assorted characters throughout the story. If you've read the first, you don't want to miss this one. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book,
Did you find this helpful?
Andrea Romance
February 22, 2022
Lady Serena Winters has no desire to marry. After the death of her fiancé in the Napoleonic Wars, she immersed herself in charity work. As a duke's daughter, she wants for nothing. And certainly not a husband who would curtail her choices. Charles is a gentleman in every sense of the word. He's loved Serena in secret for more years than he can count. Even if his station weren't beneath hers, a family secret makes a marriage between them impossible. Still, he's determined to protect her when her charity work takes her to the seedier parts of town. The more time they spend together, the stronger the sparks between them become. When Serena suggests an affair, will Charles's honor allow him to give in to his feelings? I love a good friends-to-lovers story. And I enjoyed that Serena was the instigator in this relationship. Throw in the subplot with the orphaned boy, and I am hooked. Thanks, NetGalley, for the ARC I received. This is my honest and voluntary review.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Kate Pembrooke is a lifelong reader whose path to becoming an author of Regency romance was forged when she first read Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Kate lives with her family in the Midwest. She loves puttering amongst her flowerbeds, taking beach vacations, and adding to her already extensive collection of cookbooks.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.