The Emerald Comb

Sold by HarperCollins UK
13
Free sample

'If you want a book that is exciting, fast-paced and impossible to put down, with plenty of twists and turns, then you need to buy this book! I can't wait to read more of Kathleen's novels.' - Emma's Book Reviews Some secrets are best left buried...

Researching her family tree had been little more than a hobby – until Katie stepped onto Kingsley House’s sprawling, ivy-strewn drive. The house may be crumbling today, but it was once the intimidatingly opulent residence of the St Clairs, Katie’s ancestors.

Arriving here two hundred years later, emotion stirs in Katie: a strange nostalgia for a place she’s never seen before... and when Kingsley House comes up for sale, Katie is determined that her family must buy it.

Surrounded by the mysteries of the past, Katie’s pastime becomes a darker obsession, as she searches through history to trace her heritage. But she soon discovers that these walls house terrible secrets. And when forgotten stories and hidden betrayals come to light, the past seems more alive than Katie could ever have imagined.

Moving between the 21st and 19th centuries, The Emerald Comb is a hauntingly evocative novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Praise for Kathleen McGurl

'The Emerald Comb is fantastic.' – Books & Baby

'An edge of your seat read, that is a page turner and griped me from page one.' – Comet Babe's Books

'An engrossing family saga' – cayocosta72 on The Pearl Locket

Read more

About the author

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, with her husband, sons and cats. She began her writing career creating short stories, then she got side-tracked onto family history research. She has always been fascinated by the past, the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels. You can find out more at her website, http://kathleenmcgurl.com/, or follow her on Twitter @KathMcGurl

Read more
4.4
13 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Published on
Sep 22, 2014
Read more
Pages
384
Read more
ISBN
9781474007504
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / General
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘The Daughters of Red Hill Hall ...[has] all the intrigue, mystery, relationship drama and edge of your seat secret reveals any reader could want.’ – Books and Boardies

When Gemma discovers a pair of ancient duelling pistols encrusted with rubies in the basement of the local museum, she is immediately intrigued...

On a fateful night in 1838 two sisters were found shot in the cellars of Red Hill Hall. And when Gemma begins to delve deeper into their history she begins to realise that the secrets of that night are darker than anyone had ever imagined.

As the shocking events of the past begin to unravel, Gemma’s own life starts to fall apart. Loyalties are tested and suddenly it seems as if history is repeating itself, as Gemma learns that female friendships can be deadly...

Perfect for fans of The Emerald Comb, The Pearl Locket, Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.

What reviewers are saying about Kathleen McGurl’s The Daughters of Red Hill Hall

‘Mystery, danger, intrigue and heart-pounding drama are deliciously interwoven’ – Julie (Goodreads)

‘I devoured The Daughters of Red Hill Hall in two sittings...it showed off the many talents of Kathleen McGurl to perfection.’ – Emma Crowley on Shaz’s Book Blog

‘This book grabbed me from its opening pages’ – Being Anne...

‘a great summer read!’ – A Home in the Country

‘if you like historical mysteries, murder and romance, this is a must read for you.’ – Violet Fields (NetGalley)

‘This is the first of Kathleen McGurl's books that I have read but it certainly won't be the last’ – Karen O’Hare (Goodreads)

‘For fans of Katherine Webb or Kate Riordan’ – Sheila’s Review (Goodreads)

‘McGurl focuses on the relationships and emotional turmoil... As always a spirited read.’ – Cheryl M-M

THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING JANE HAWK SERIES
 
Meet Jane Hawk—a remarkable new heroine certain to become an icon of suspense. “This gripping thriller grabs readers from the first few pages and sweeps them along to the rousing finale.”—Booklist

“I very much need to be dead.”

These are the chilling words left behind by a man who had everything to live for—but took his own life. In the aftermath, his widow, Jane Hawk, does what all her grief, fear, and fury demand: find the truth, no matter what.

People of talent and accomplishment, people admired and happy and sound of mind, have been committing suicide in surprising numbers. When Jane seeks to learn why, she becomes the most-wanted fugitive in America. Her powerful enemies are protecting a secret so important—so terrifying—that they will exterminate anyone in their way.

But all their power and viciousness may not be enough to stop a woman as clever as they are cold-blooded, as relentless as they are ruthless—and who is driven by a righteous rage they can never comprehend. Because it is born of love.

Don’t miss any of Dean Koontz’s gripping Jane Hawk thrillers:
THE SILENT CORNER • THE WHISPERING ROOM • THE CROOKED STAIRCASE

Praise for The Silent Corner

“Gripping . . . The paranoia and mystery increase as the story unfolds. . . . Koontz has created [a] wonderful character in Jane Hawk. . . . Koontz rocks it again.”—Associated Press
 
“In this era of stingy text-message prose, Mr. Koontz is practically Shakespeare. . . . The Silent Corner brims with both action and emotion.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
 
“The Silent Corner is vintage Dean Koontz: paranoia-fueled suspense . . . sleek and highly realized action, developed characters, and more twists and turns than any two ordinary novels combined. . . . As relevant to current events as it is audacious . . . amongst Dean Koontz’s finest contemporary work.”—Mystery Scene
 
“A proven specialist in action scenes, Koontz pulls off some doozies here. . . . The book is full of neat touches. . . . And the prose, as always in a Koontz novel, is first-rate. Perhaps Koontz’s leanest, meanest thriller, this initial entry in a new series introduces a smart, appealing heroine who can outthink as well as outshoot the baddest of bad dudes.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
‘The Daughters of Red Hill Hall ...[has] all the intrigue, mystery, relationship drama and edge of your seat secret reveals any reader could want.’ – Books and Boardies

When Gemma discovers a pair of ancient duelling pistols encrusted with rubies in the basement of the local museum, she is immediately intrigued...

On a fateful night in 1838 two sisters were found shot in the cellars of Red Hill Hall. And when Gemma begins to delve deeper into their history she begins to realise that the secrets of that night are darker than anyone had ever imagined.

As the shocking events of the past begin to unravel, Gemma’s own life starts to fall apart. Loyalties are tested and suddenly it seems as if history is repeating itself, as Gemma learns that female friendships can be deadly...

Perfect for fans of The Emerald Comb, The Pearl Locket, Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.

What reviewers are saying about Kathleen McGurl’s The Daughters of Red Hill Hall

‘Mystery, danger, intrigue and heart-pounding drama are deliciously interwoven’ – Julie (Goodreads)

‘I devoured The Daughters of Red Hill Hall in two sittings...it showed off the many talents of Kathleen McGurl to perfection.’ – Emma Crowley on Shaz’s Book Blog

‘This book grabbed me from its opening pages’ – Being Anne...

‘a great summer read!’ – A Home in the Country

‘if you like historical mysteries, murder and romance, this is a must read for you.’ – Violet Fields (NetGalley)

‘This is the first of Kathleen McGurl's books that I have read but it certainly won't be the last’ – Karen O’Hare (Goodreads)

‘For fans of Katherine Webb or Kate Riordan’ – Sheila’s Review (Goodreads)

‘McGurl focuses on the relationships and emotional turmoil... As always a spirited read.’ – Cheryl M-M

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.