The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible . . . on Schindler's List

Sold by Simon and Schuster
Ages 9-12
87
Free sample

“Much like The Boy In the Striped Pajamas or The Book Thief,” this remarkable memoir from Leon Leyson, one of the youngest children to survive the Holocaust on Oskar Schindler’s list, “brings to readers a story of bravery and the fight for a chance to live” (VOYA).

This, the only memoir published by a former Schindler’s list child, perfectly captures the innocence of a small boy who goes through the unthinkable. Leon Leyson (born Leib Lezjon) was only ten years old when the Nazis invaded Poland and his family was forced to relocate to the Krakow ghetto. With incredible luck, perseverance, and grit, Leyson was able to survive the sadism of the Nazis, including that of the demonic Amon Goeth, commandant of Plaszow, the concentration camp outside Krakow.

Ultimately, it was the generosity and cunning of one man, Oskar Schindler, who saved Leon Leyson’s life, and the lives of his mother, his father, and two of his four siblings, by adding their names to his list of workers in his factory—a list that became world renowned: Schindler’s list.

Told with an abundance of dignity and a remarkable lack of rancor and venom, The Boy on the Wooden Box is a legacy of hope, a memoir unlike anything you’ve ever read.
Read more
Collapse

More by Leon Leyson

See more
El mejor testimonio del Holocausto, desde el Diario de Anna Frank: las memorias del sobreviviente más joven de la famosa "Lista de Schindler". Una historia profundamente inspiradora. Una lección de esperanza, coraje y amor a la vida. • No 1 en la lista de best sellers de New York Times (categoría "middle grade") "Leon Leyson fue un hombre verdaderamente excepcional y un talentoso maestro. Siempre le estaré agradecido por haber brindado su testimonio a la Fundación Shoah. Lo preservaremos a perpetuidad, para inspirar a las próximas generaciones con su notable ejemplo de vida. El mundo no será el mismo sin él, pero tenemos la fortuna de tener sus memorias, que acompañan su testimonio oral." STEVEN SPIELBERG, DIRECTOR GANADOR DEL OSCAR POR SU PELÍCULA LA LISTA DE SCHINDLER. Cuando sobrevivir parecía imposible, él lo logró. Leon Leyson tenía poco más de diez años cuando los nazis invadieron Polonia, iniciando el exterminio de miles de judíos. Él y su familia fueron víctimas de este horror, pero tuvieron la fortuna de salvar sus vidas gracias a la arriesgada estrategia del comerciante alemán Oskar Schindler, quien los incluyó en su hoy famosa "lista". Este libro es un relato autobiográfico, que Leon Leyson terminó de escribir poco antes de morir, en enero de 2013. Narra su infancia feliz antes del comienzo de la guerra, y el enorme contraste con la masacre que se produjo después. Los lectores seguirán el doloroso derrotero de Leon y su familia por diversos campos de concentración, sometidos a las peores humillaciones y a constantes maltratos, encontrándose y desencontrándose hasta que la solidaridad de Oskar Schindler y su "lista" los rescata y les permite recomenzar, emigrando a los Estados Unidos. Leon Leyson fue uno de los integrantes más jóvenes de la lista de Schindler. Brindó una perspectiva única sobre el Holocausto y un mensaje poderoso de valor y humanidad. Rara vez hablaba sobre sus experiencias, hasta que la película La lista de Schindler fue un éxito mundial y despertó el interés del público por esta historia. En reconocimiento a sus numerosos logros como educador y como testigo del Holocausto, Leon Leyson recibió un doctorado honorario en Humanidades de la Universidad Chapman. Fue profesor de enseñanza secundaria en la escuela Huntington Park, de California, durante treinta y nueve años. Falleció en enero de 2013. Lo recuerdan su mujer, Lis, sus dos hijos y sus seis nietos.
4.6
87 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 27, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
240
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781442497832
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Nonfiction / Biography & Autobiography / Cultural Heritage
Juvenile Nonfiction / History / Holocaust
Juvenile Nonfiction / Religion / Judaism
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The twentieth-anniversary edition of Marion Blumenthal Lazan’s acclaimed Holocaust memoir features new material by the author, a reading group guide, a map, and additional photographs. “The writing is direct, devastating, with no rhetoric or exploitation. The truth is in what’s said and in what is left out.”—ALA Booklist (starred review)

Marion Blumenthal Lazan’s unforgettable and acclaimed memoir recalls the devastating years that shaped her childhood. Following Hitler’s rise to power, the Blumenthal family—father, mother, Marion, and her brother, Albert—were trapped in Nazi Germany. They managed eventually to get to Holland, but soon thereafter it was occupied by the Nazis. For the next six and a half years the Blumenthals were forced to live in refugee, transit, and prison camps, including Westerbork in Holland and Bergen-Belsen in Germany, before finally making it to the United States. Their story is one of horror and hardship, but it is also a story of courage, hope, and the will to survive.

Four Perfect Pebbles features forty archival photographs, including several new to this edition, an epilogue, a bibliography, a map, a reading group guide, an index, and a new afterword by the author. First published in 1996, the book was an ALA Notable Book, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, and IRA Young Adults’ Choice, and a Notable Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies, and the recipient of many other honors. “A harrowing and often moving account.”—School Library Journal

New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted"—The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea:
Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal  ♦  "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly  ♦  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post  ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review  ♦  "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness  ♦  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail  ♦  "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune  ♦  *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist  ♦  *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library Journal  ♦  A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:
A New York Times Notable Book  ♦  A Wall Street Journal Best Children’s Book  ♦  A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book  ♦  iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel  ♦  A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist  ♦  A New York Times and International Bestseller  ♦  "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post  ♦  *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—Booklist
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.