The Last Chance Matinee

The Hudson Sisters Series

Book 1
Sold by Simon and Schuster
6
Free sample

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the first novel in her all-new series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish. In the process, they find not only themselves, but the father they only thought they knew.

When celebrated and respected agent Fritz Hudson passes away, he leaves a trail of Hollywood glory in his wake—and two separate families who never knew the other existed. Allie and Des Hudson are products of Fritz’s first marriage to Honora, a beautiful but troubled starlet whose life ended in a tragic overdose. Meanwhile, Fritz was falling in love on the Delaware Bay with New Age hippie Susa Pratt—they had a daughter together, Cara, and while Fritz loved Susa with everything he had, he never quite managed to tell her or Cara about his West Coast family.

Now Fritz is gone, and the three sisters are brought together under strange circumstances: there’s a large inheritance to be had that could save Allie from her ever-deepening debt following a disastrous divorce, allow Des to open a rescue shelter for abused and wounded animals, and give Cara a fresh start after her husband left her for her best friend—but only if the sisters upend their lives and work together to restore an old, decrepit theater that was Fritz’s obsession growing up in his small hometown in Pennsylvania’s Pocono Mountains. Guided by Fritz’s closest friend and longtime attorney, Pete Wheeler, the sisters come together—whether they like it or not—to turn their father’s dream into a reality, and might just come away with far more than they bargained for.
Read more

About the author

Mariah Stewart is the award-winning New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas and short stories. A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors country life and tends her gardens while she works on her next novel. Visit her website at MariahStewart.com, like her on Facebook at Facebook.com/AuthorMariahStewart, and follow her on Instagram @Mariah_Stewart_Books.

Read more

Reviews

4.3
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
Mar 21, 2017
Read more
Pages
432
Read more
ISBN
9781501144912
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Family & Relationships / Friendship
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Book 2
Book 8
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From Mariah Stewart comes a captivating and heartwarming novel in her beloved Chesapeake Diaries contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.
 
Carly Summit’s name couldn’t be more fitting, since in life she always lands on top. She grew up wealthy and privileged in a tony Connecticut town, opened her own gallery in New York City, and is about to make art world history displaying previously unknown works by a prominent twentieth-century painter. No wonder she possesses a can-do attitude that can’t be soured. Ford Sinclair is another story. A military career in war-torn Africa, where he witnessed unspeakable violence and suffering, has left him haunted and deeply cynical. Now he’s looking for a way to forget and a place to belong. He hopes to find both back home in St. Dennis.
 
When Carly is forced to move the premiere of her new exhibit from her Manhattan gallery to St. Dennis, and Ford agrees to temporarily take over the town’s paper, the two cross paths. While Ford is confounded by Carly’s unflappable good cheer, he can’t help being drawn to her. And undaunted by Ford’s restless heart, Carly sees a man worth caring for. But when a late-night phone call sends Ford back to Africa, Carly’s left to wonder if the pull of the past and its ghosts will prove stronger than the promise of their future together.
 
Advance praise for On Sunset Beach
 
“Mariah Stewart’s rich characterization, charming setting, and a romance you’ll never forget will have you packing your bags for St. Dennis.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr


From the Paperback edition.
Mariah Stewart
Discover heart-racing intrigue in this Thriller Short of romantic suspense.

Originally published in LOVE IS MURDER (2013),

edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown.

In this Thriller Short, New York Times bestselling writer Mariah Stewart weaves a chilling tale about a missing child. Mallory Russo left the local police force two years ago to join the Mercy Street Foundation, an elite unit for finding the missing and lost. Karen, the thirteen-year-old daughter of Donna Ralston, disappeared a decade ago. Donna tells Mallory that a woman who moved away years ago has recently come to town and told her that she used to see Karen walking home from school with her friend, “the Tripp girl.” Mallory’s investigative juices start flowing and it’s not long before she has a hunch about what might have happened. Her beau, a police detective, doubts her. Find out whose instincts are right… Don’t miss any of these Thriller Shorts from Love Is Murder:Diamond Drop by Roxanne St. ClaireCold Moonlight by Carla NeggersPoisoned by Beverly BartonSpeechless by Robert BrowneLockdown by Andrea KaneSpider’s Tango by William SimonNight Heat by Laura GriffinB.A.D. Mission by Sherrilyn KenyonDeadly Fixation by Dianna LoveHot Note by Patricia RosemoorLast Shot by Jon Land & Jeff AyersGrave Danger by Heather GrahamWithout Mercy by Mariah StewartEven Steven by D.P. LyleDying to Score by Cindy GerardThe Number of Man by J.T. EllisonHard Drive by Bill FloydAfter Hours by William BernhardtBlood In, Blood Out by Brenda NovakWed to Death by Vicki HinzeThe Honeymoon by Julie KennerExecution Dock by James MacomberIn Atlantis by Alexandra SokoloffBreak Even by Pamela CallowDirty Down Low by Debra WebbBroken Hallelujah by Toni McGee CauseyHolding Mercy by Lori ArmstrongVacation Interrupted by Allison BrennanI Heard a Romantic Story by Lee Child
Mariah Stewart
Prepare for edge-of-your-seat suspense in this Thriller Short.

Originally published in THRILLER 2 (2009),edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Clive Cussler.



In this propulsive Thriller Short, bestselling author Mariah Stewart spins a tale of justice and revenge about a young woman who does what people only think about doing in their darkest moments. A night of drinking turns to tragedy when Deanna Bradley drives her intoxicated coworker, Jessie, home and into the clutches of a marauding gang. Witnessing the attack from her car, Deanna is frozen with fear. And when she does react, it’s with the greatest cowardice imaginable. She hits the gas and drives away. Consumed by guilt and shame, she embarks on a mission of revenge to bring down the men who traumatized Jessie. It’s an errand of violence and death that leads to a shocking conclusion—an ending no one saw coming.

Don’t miss any of these exciting stories from Thriller 2:

The Weapon by Jeffery DeaverRemaking by Blake CrouchIced by Harry HunsickerJustice Served by Mariah StewartThe Circle by David HewsonRoomful of Witnesses by R.L. StineThe House on Pine Terrace by Phillip MargolinThe Desert Here and the Desert Far Away by Marcus SakeyOn the Run by Carla NeggersCan You Help Me Out Here? by Robert FerrignoCrossed Double by Joe HartlaubThe Lamented by Lawrence LightVintage Death by Lisa JacksonSuspension of Disbelief by Tim MaleenyA Calculated Risk by Sean ChercoverThe Fifth World by Javier SierraGhost Writer by Gary BraverThrough a Veil Darkly by Kathleen AntrimBedtime for Mr. Li by David J. MontgomeryProtecting the Innocent by Simon WoodWatch Out for My Girl by Joan JohnstonKilling Time by Jon LandBoldt’s Broken Angel by Ridley Pearson
Book 11
From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a new chapter in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries series, featuring her signature “rich characterization, charming setting, and a romance you’ll never forget” (Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

Architect Cassidy Logan has sworn off good-looking adventurers. Newly divorced, she’s focused on building ecologically friendly, historically accurate homes on the Chesapeake Bay for her father’s construction company. Traveling to Cannonball Island—where there has been no new construction in nearly one hundred years—Cass is sensitive to the heritage of the island, and has come up with plans so perfect she’s determined to buy a home for herself. Even the fact that Owen Parker—a local who she dismisses as a lightweight and a player—seems to be everywhere isn’t enough to deter her from building her dream house.

Owen Parker is and always has been sinfully handsome and wickedly clever, a magnet for mischief as well as girls. He’s a rolling stone, going and doing whatever appeals to him, from flying a mail plane in Alaska, to working on a cattle ranch in Australia, a shrimp boat in Louisiana, and surfing and diving in Costa Rica. When an old friend offers him a job salvaging a sunken ship on the Chesapeake Bay, Owen gladly accepts. Something’s been telling him it was time to head home to Cannonball Island, and a job is as good an excuse as any. And he’s totally smitten by the pretty architect on the scene, but it seems he’s finally met a woman who’s immune to his charms. Sooner or later, Owen will have to face the reason why he always runs, because this time, leaving just might be harder than staying.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.