The Sugarhouse Blues

The Hudson Sisters Series

Book 2
Sold by Simon and Schuster
2
Free sample

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes more "catnip for women's fiction fans" (Booklist) in the second novel of the Hudson Sisters series.

Allie, Des, and Cara, each having her own reasons for wanting a share of their father's estate, meet in the grand Victorian home in which he grew up, only to be greeted by another secret he purposely hid from them: his sister Bonnie. The women reluctantly band together to take on Fritz's challenge, working with a local contractor to begin the renovations financed by an account Fritz had set up for the task. While the restoration appears to go smoothly at first, it soon becomes apparent that the work will be more extensive than originally thought, and Des, elected to handle the money, needs to find ways to stretch out the remaining savings while searching for new sources of funding.

As strangers linked only by their DNA try to become a family, the Hudson sisters also try to come to terms with the father they only thought they knew. In the process, each woman discovers her own capacity for understanding, forgiveness, love, and the true meaning of family.
Read more

About the author

Mariah Stewart is the award-winning New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas and short stories. A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors country life and tends her gardens while she works on her next novel. Visit her website at MariahStewart.com, like her on Facebook at Facebook.com/AuthorMariahStewart, and follow her on Instagram @Mariah_Stewart_Books.

Read more
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Published on
May 15, 2018
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9781501144967
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the first novel in her all-new series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish. In the process, they find not only themselves, but the father they only thought they knew.

When celebrated and respected agent Fritz Hudson passes away, he leaves a trail of Hollywood glory in his wake—and two separate families who never knew the other existed. Allie and Des Hudson are products of Fritz’s first marriage to Honora, a beautiful but troubled starlet whose life ended in a tragic overdose. Meanwhile, Fritz was falling in love on the Delaware Bay with New Age hippie Susa Pratt—they had a daughter together, Cara, and while Fritz loved Susa with everything he had, he never quite managed to tell her or Cara about his West Coast family.

Now Fritz is gone, and the three sisters are brought together under strange circumstances: there’s a large inheritance to be had that could save Allie from her ever-deepening debt following a disastrous divorce, allow Des to open a rescue shelter for abused and wounded animals, and give Cara a fresh start after her husband left her for her best friend—but only if the sisters upend their lives and work together to restore an old, decrepit theater that was Fritz’s obsession growing up in his small hometown in Pennsylvania’s Pocono Mountains. Guided by Fritz’s closest friend and longtime attorney, Pete Wheeler, the sisters come together—whether they like it or not—to turn their father’s dream into a reality, and might just come away with far more than they bargained for.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Mariah Stewart returns to her beloved Chesapeake Diaries with this charming novel of small-town romance—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.

After taking stock of her life, Sophie Enright has decided it’s time for a break. Between a law career that’s become criminally dull and a two-timing boyfriend she’s done with once and for all, Sophie desperately needs some time to think and some space to breathe. The perfect place to do both is easygoing St. Dennis, Maryland, where Sophie can visit with her brother while she figures out her options. Once in St. Dennis, she discovers a shuttered restaurant and makes a bold move that is also a leap of faith. Sophie buys the fixer-upper in order to finally pursue her dream career.
 
But Sophie’s labor of love becomes a bone of contention for her new neighbor Jason Bowers. The local landscaper has big plans for growing his business—until Sophie scoops up the property he’s got his eye on. And no amount of buyout offers or badgering from him will get her to budge. It’s hardly the start of a beautiful friendship. But when they’re paired up to work on a community project, they agree to put their differences aside, and sparks begin to fly. Then Sophie’s cheating ex suddenly shows up, looking for a second chance—and threatening to make Jason a third wheel just when his hotheaded feelings about Sophie were turning decidedly warmhearted. All Sophie wants is a new life and a true love. But what are the odds of having both?

Praise for At the River’s Edge
 
“Everything you love about small-town romance in one book . . . At the River’s Edge is a beautiful, heartwarming story. Don’t miss this one.”—Barbara Freethy
 
“Another signature and heartwarming familial story . . . If a book is by Mariah Stewart, it has a subliminal message of ‘wonderful’ stamped on each page!”—Reader to Reader Reviews


From the Paperback edition.
From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a new chapter in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries series, featuring her signature “rich characterization, charming setting, and a romance you’ll never forget” (Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

Architect Cassidy Logan has sworn off good-looking adventurers. Newly divorced, she’s focused on building ecologically friendly, historically accurate homes on the Chesapeake Bay for her father’s construction company. Traveling to Cannonball Island—where there has been no new construction in nearly one hundred years—Cass is sensitive to the heritage of the island, and has come up with plans so perfect she’s determined to buy a home for herself. Even the fact that Owen Parker—a local who she dismisses as a lightweight and a player—seems to be everywhere isn’t enough to deter her from building her dream house.

Owen Parker is and always has been sinfully handsome and wickedly clever, a magnet for mischief as well as girls. He’s a rolling stone, going and doing whatever appeals to him, from flying a mail plane in Alaska, to working on a cattle ranch in Australia, a shrimp boat in Louisiana, and surfing and diving in Costa Rica. When an old friend offers him a job salvaging a sunken ship on the Chesapeake Bay, Owen gladly accepts. Something’s been telling him it was time to head home to Cannonball Island, and a job is as good an excuse as any. And he’s totally smitten by the pretty architect on the scene, but it seems he’s finally met a woman who’s immune to his charms. Sooner or later, Owen will have to face the reason why he always runs, because this time, leaving just might be harder than staying.
In the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy, the stories in the Chesapeake Diaries series combine captivating contemporary romance with the heartwarming power of healing and redemption. Once you settle into the charming small-town rhythms of St. Dennis, Maryland, you’ll never want to leave. And now, you won’t have to, with the first eight novels in this beloved series from New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart collected in one eBook bundle:
 
COMING HOME
HOME AGAIN
ALMOST HOME
HOMETOWN GIRL
HOME FOR THE SUMMER
THE LONG WAY HOME
AT THE RIVER’S EDGE
ON SUNSET BEACH
 
Along the way, you’ll meet Steffie Wyler, the proud owner of the One Scoop or Two ice cream parlor who is still searching for her happily ever after; Brooke Madison Bowers, the local pageant star who falls to pieces when her husband is killed while serving in Iraq; Dallas MacGregor, the award-winning actress who seeks refuge in St. Dennis after her Hollywood dream turns into a tabloid nightmare; and Sophie Enright, who discovers a shuttered restaurant and makes a bold move to finally pursue her dream career. The Chesapeake Diaries series brings together these unforgettable characters, and many more, in Mariah Stewart’s enchanting tales of love, compassion, and second chances.
 
Praise for The Chesapeake Diaries
 
“An engrossing story with poignant, relatable themes like grief, forgiveness, friendship, and rebirth . . . a heartwarming read.”—USA Today, on Hometown Girl
 
“Delightfully warm and touching . . . The town and townspeople of St. Dennis, Maryland, come vividly to life under Stewart’s skillful hands.”—RT Book Reviews, on Home Again
 
“Sweet, tender, and overflowing with small-town flavor.”—Library Journal, on Almost Home
 
“Everything you love about small-town romance in one book . . . At the River’s Edge is a beautiful, heartwarming story. Don’t miss this one.”—Barbara Freethy
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.