Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel

· Oceanview Publishing
4.1
12 reviews
Ebook
352
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Finalist for the Macavity and Lefty Award

When bill collectors come calling, Rick Cahill desperately needs work

Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that's piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department.

Brianne Colton, a beautiful country singer, is convinced her estranged husband's suicide was really murder. Rick is unconvinced, but the mortgage has to be paid. Each new piece of evidence convinces him she's right. He breaks his number one rule and falls for Brianne even, as he begins to question her motives.

As Moretti cinches the vise tighter, with Rick unable to trust the FBI, evil forces emerge from the shadows who will do anything, including torture and murder, to stop Rick from uncovering the truth.

Hard-edged suspense with a heart for fans of Robert Crais and Michael Connelly

While all of the novels in the Rick Cahill PI Crime Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Yesterday's Echo
Night Tremors
Dark Fissures
Blood Truth
Wrong Light
Lost Tomorrows
Blind Vigil
Last Redemption
(coming November 2021)
4.1
12 reviews
Linda Strong
November 25, 2017
Set in the rich atmosphere of California, Rick Cahill is a down-on-his-luck Private Investigator. Barely able to keep his head up, he takes on a job that will have him second guessing everyone around him. Brianne Colton is absolutely sure that her husband did not kill himself by hanging. She is convinced that he was murdered and she wants Rick to prove it. Unfortunately this is in the jurisdiction of the La Jolla Police, who really want to nail Rick for a missing person, possible homicide. Upon investigating, he finds himself at odds with the police, the FBI, former SEALs and they all want something from him... like an invite to his funeral. This is a rip-roaring, rapid paced, gritty crime thriller complete with memorable characters and surprising twists and turns from the start. Rick has a history with the police ... he used to be one of them. There is a terrific backstory, and although the 3rd in a series, it does well as a stand alone. Be warned ... you will definitely be chomping at the bit to get those first two books to find out why he is the way he is and why he does what he does. Many thanks to the author / Oceanview Publishing / Edelweiss for the digital copy of this riveting novel. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Best-selling author Matt Coyle is the winner of the Anthony Award, the Benjamin Franklin Silver Award, and the San Diego Book Award. Matt has a degree in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and has worked in the restaurant, golf, and sports collectible businesses. Dark Fissures is the third in his Rick Cahill crime series, following Yesterday's Echo and Night tremors. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.