Manhattan Lockdown: A Novel

· Oceanview Publishing
4.0
3 reviews
Ebook
336
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

USA Today Best-Selling Author

Terrorists' bombs explode in the Metropolitan Museum of Art


A birthday party on a beautiful summer Sunday afternoon on the roof garden of the Metropolitan Museum of Art; the guest of honor, Roland Fortune, mayor of New York City.

Suddenly multiple explosions rock the entire building. This is not an accident, not a gas leak, but a heinous act of terrorism. Among the injured is the mayor himself, and although he survives, the woman he loves does not. And the terrorism does not stop there. As the city's other iconic sites are targeted, the mayor throws Manhattan into lockdown.

In the chaos that ensues, law enforcement groups converge on New York City. The FBI, Homeland Security, the armed forces, even the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the President, come to the aid of the New York City Police Department.

Amidst this massive joint effort, only New York City Police Commissioner Gina Carbone is closing in on the terrorists. Her tactics well outside legal bounds, her cell operating in total secrecy, Carbone takes vigilantism to a new level. Will her illicit actions succeed—or plunge the city into further catastrophe?

Perfect for fans of Nelson DeMille's John Corey

While Manhattan Lockdown is a standalone novel, here is the publication order of Paul Batista's legal thrillers:

Death's Witness
Extraordinary Rendition
The Borzoi Killings
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #1)
Manhattan Lockdown
The Warriors
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #2)
Accusation (Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #3) —coming in March 2022
4.0
3 reviews
Shreeram Mayadeo
January 16, 2017
Interesting story. Kind of an abrupt end though. Needed to be closed off more dramatically.
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
At the start of this fast-moving if unconvincing terrorist thriller from Batista (The Borzoi Killings), New York City's mayor, Roland Fortune, is celebrating his birthday at the roof garden of the ...

About the author

Paul Batista, novelist and television personality, is one of the most widely known trial lawyers in the country. As a trial attorney, he specializes in federal criminal litigation. As a media figure, he is known for his regular appearances as guest legal commentator on a variety of television shows including,Court TV, CNN, HLN and WNBC. He's also appeared in the HBO movie, You Don't Know Jack, starring Al Pacino.

A prolific writer, Batista authored the leading treatise on the primary federal anti-racketeering statute,Civil RICO Practice Manual, which is now in its third edition (Wiley & Sons, 1987; Wolters Kluwer, 2008). He has written articles for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The National Law Journal.

Batista's debut novel, Death's Witness, was awarded a Silver Medal by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA). Batista is a graduate of Bowdoin College, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, and Cornell Law School. He's proud to have served in the United States Army. Paul Batista lives in New York City and Sag Harbor, New York.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.