Enthusiasm

Sold by Penguin
29
Free sample

"When someone asks for a reading suggestion, Enthusiasm is the first word off my tongue." --Stephenie Meyer, author of Twilight

"There is little more likely to exasperate a person of sense than finding herself tied by affection and habit to an Enthusiast."
Julie knows from bitter experience: her best friend, Ashleigh, is an Enthusiast. Ashleigh's current fancy is also Julie's own passion, Pride and Prejudice, and the heroine's quest for True Love. And so Julie finds herself swept along with Ashleigh, dressed in vintage frocks and sneaking into a dance at the local all-boys' prep school. There they discover several likely candidates for True Love, including the handsome and sensitive Parr. And Julie begins to wonder if maybe this obsession of Ashleigh's isn't so bad after all. . . .

Fans of Jane Austen and Meg Cabot, and Maureen Johnson alike will swoon for Polly Shulman's charming novel.
Read more

About the author

Polly Shulman is also the author of The Grimm Legacy (a Bank Street Best Book and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Finalist) and its companion novel, The Wells Bequest. She has written for many newspapers and magazines, including The New York Times, Discover, Newsday, Salon, Slate, Smithsonian, Scientific American, Archaeology, and The Village Voice. She has never dared to crash a dance, but when she was in high school she sometimes wrote her math homework in rhyme and meter. She majored in math at Yale and grew up in New York City, where she lives with her husband in a tall old building guarded by gargoyles.
Read more
4.1
29 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Penguin
Read more
Published on
Sep 6, 2007
Read more
Pages
208
Read more
ISBN
9781101118825
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / General
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Au lycée, Susannah est surnommée « Sukie la Bizarre ». Il faut dire qu'elle vient d'emménager dans le manoir de sa grand-tante réputé hanté... et qu'elle est constamment suivie par le fantôme de sa soeur Kitty, décédée des suites d'une maladie. Depuis ce drame, ses parents ont perdu leur emploi ; voilà pourquoi ils se sont installés chez la vieille tante Hepzibah et pourquoi le père de Sukie doit vendre des objets au marché aux puces. Un jour où elle l'aide, un homme étrange aborde la jeune fille : il lui propose 150 dollars pour un vieux balai qui n'est pas à vendre. Quelque temps plus tard, deux jeunes gens ont la même requête : il s'agit d'Elizabeth et Andreas, qui travaillent au Dépôt d'Objets Empruntables de la Ville de New York. Cette extraordinaire bibliothèque n'accueille que des objets ayant un jour marqué l'Histoire ou la littérature. Or, Elizabeth est très intéressée par le manoir où vit Sukie, car il a été le théâtre d'une ancienne légende. Peut-être y reste-t-il des choses qui auraient leur place dans l'annexe Edgar Poe, spécialisée dans les romans fantastiques et d'horreur ? Sukie, intriguée, se renseigne sur cette fameuse légende : elle est extrêmement sombre, et il y est question d'un trésor disparu. Voilà qui pourrait régler les problèmes financiers de la famille... à condition que l'histoire ne soit pas fictive. C'est du moins ce que pense Sukie jusqu'à ce qu'elle pénètre dans le Dépôt et découvre que les merveilles qui y sont entreposées ont les mêmes pouvoirs que dans les romans dont elles sont issus...
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.