Private Investigations (Bob Skinner series, Book 26): A gritty Edinburgh mystery of crime and murder

Sold by Headline
Free sample

Death is a hard habit to break...

Private Investigations is Quintin Jardine's twenty-sixth Bob Skinner mystery and sees the Edinburgh sleuth plunged into a gruelling case, in which no score will go unsettled. A thrilling mystery for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner has uncovered his fair share of shocking crime scenes over his thirty-year career. But none could prepare him for the sight he finds stowed in the back of a stolen car that collides with his on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

As his former colleagues investigate, Skinner takes on an unusual commission of his own.
The body count rises, motives appear, the hunt goes global, and potential conflicts surface. In his new guise, is Skinner is on the side of the angels... or working against them?

What readers are saying about Private Investigations:

'Brilliant read from first to last page'

'The plot has plenty of twists and turns... and with a new development in every chapter, it is extremely addictive'

'There is something for everyone in Private Investigations, a complicated plot, an interesting protagonist, some serious points and humour'

Read more
Collapse

More by Quintin Jardine

See more
Murder past and present obsesses Edinburgh's hardest cop...

Skinner must help a criminal in order to catch a killer in Skinner's Mission, the sixth novel in Quintin Jardine's bestselling Edinburgh crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

'Once again Jardine serves up a thriller full of action, gritty realism and sharp patter' - Darlington Northern Echo

When an Edinburgh car showroom is torched, leaving a charred body among the burnt-out luxury cars, Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner wonders if a life of crime has finally caught up with one of the city's most elusive villains. But the corpse turns out not to be that of Jackie Charles, the owner of the showroom, but his wife Carole. Skinner now finds himself on the same side as his old enemy in the search for the killer.

However, Skinner's number one priority is a murder much closer to home. Ever since memories of his first wife Myra's death resurfaced under hypnosis, the question of how she really died has become an obsession which could threaten his career, his marriage and even his sanity. As Skinner and his daughter Alex unlock the hidden secrets of Myra's past, they discover a woman neither could have imagined. A Myra whose bloody fate is linked inextricably across the years with the fiery death of Carole Charles and the murderous events which it triggers.

What readers are saying about Skinner's Mission:

'Absolutely first class'

'A book I couldn't put down. Skinner is fascinating'

'Compelling story with a completely unexpected twist'

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Headline
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 5, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
336
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781472205698
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / City Life
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Private Investigators
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Urban
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Murder past and present obsesses Edinburgh's hardest cop...

Skinner must help a criminal in order to catch a killer in Skinner's Mission, the sixth novel in Quintin Jardine's bestselling Edinburgh crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

'Once again Jardine serves up a thriller full of action, gritty realism and sharp patter' - Darlington Northern Echo

When an Edinburgh car showroom is torched, leaving a charred body among the burnt-out luxury cars, Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner wonders if a life of crime has finally caught up with one of the city's most elusive villains. But the corpse turns out not to be that of Jackie Charles, the owner of the showroom, but his wife Carole. Skinner now finds himself on the same side as his old enemy in the search for the killer.

However, Skinner's number one priority is a murder much closer to home. Ever since memories of his first wife Myra's death resurfaced under hypnosis, the question of how she really died has become an obsession which could threaten his career, his marriage and even his sanity. As Skinner and his daughter Alex unlock the hidden secrets of Myra's past, they discover a woman neither could have imagined. A Myra whose bloody fate is linked inextricably across the years with the fiery death of Carole Charles and the murderous events which it triggers.

What readers are saying about Skinner's Mission:

'Absolutely first class'

'A book I couldn't put down. Skinner is fascinating'

'Compelling story with a completely unexpected twist'

The New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and The Good Luck Charm delivers a Hollywood happily-ever-after where a famous heartthrob falls for his ultimate fangirl.
"As charming as its title, but it's also so much more... Fans of Jasmine Guillory's The Wedding Date and Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient will love Meet Cute." --The Washington Independent Review of Books
Kailyn Flowers was always calm, rational, and controlled--until she ended up sprawled all over Daxton Hughes, the former actor she totally crushed on as a teenager. Then she did the unthinkable: She became a mortifying fangirl in five seconds flat, which may or may not have included professing her undying love. And oddly, he didn't run away. In fact, their meet cute led to a friendship she never saw coming. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming, either...
Now Dax needs her help. As guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister, he's in way over his head. And though Kailyn hasn't forgiven Dax, she isn't heartless enough to make him fend for himself, either. Soon their friendly meetings turn into flirty dinner dates, and Kailyn can feel their chemistry is as explosive as ever. But how can she possibly let down her guard again to a guy who has heartbreak written all over him?
Goodreads Hottest Romances of 2019Featured in Entertainment WeeklyO, The Oprah Magazine Best Romance Novels of 2019 Featured on PopSugarWomen's Health Best Romance Novels of 2019SheReads Most Anticipated Reads of 2019Heroes & Heartbreakers Anticipated Books of 2019Chatelaine's Hottest Romances of 2019
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.