Cookbook for Nerds

Rego and Sinem Sen
132

This book transforms traditional recipes into an ideal format for visual learners: diagrams!  If you know someone who's doesn't like to deal with written recipes, this could be just what they need to cross over into the world of cooking.

In this book you'll find essential ingredients, tools and visual explanations of commonly used cooking terms.  Start off with easier recipes on Level 1 and work your way up to be a pro with Level 3.  If two people want to cook together, they can follow the suggested division of labor.  Enjoy! 


Read more: https://www.facebook.com/CookbookForNerds

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Rego and Sinem Sen are siblings that grew up in Minnesota and found their way to San Francisco.

Rego is a jack-of-all-trades software engineer with degrees from MIT and Stanford. He shied away from cooking until he developed a visual way of representing recipes, which he found to be more intuitive to a technically-minded person. After working for established companies for 10 years he decided to pursue some his own ideas, one of which has resulted in this book. 


Sinem studied Entrepreneurship at University of St. Thomas in Minnesota. She has always had a passion for business and bringing creative ideas to life. She learned how to cook from her mom and continued to experiment in the kitchen. Once she saw her brother’s amazing way of transcribing recipes as diagrams, she thought it was hilarious yet brilliant. This is when the wonderful idea for this book was created by her and her brother.

Read more
Collapse
3.4
132 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Rego and Sinem Sen
Read more
Collapse
Pages
73
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Cooking / Courses & Dishes / General
Cooking / Methods / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.