The Girl in the Painting: A heartbreaking historical novel of family secrets, betrayal and love

Free sample

‘LOVE LOVE LOVED this fabulous novel… I couldn’t put it down… Stunning and beautifully written… Will transport you through time and across the world from England to India… Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer

India, 1926: Margaret is in love, with her new husband and her new home, a sprawling villa amidst beautiful rolling hills, the air filled with the soft scent of spices and hibiscus flowers. Yet she’s unwelcome with the locals and grows close to Archana, her maid, who reminds Margaret of the beloved sister she lost in the great war.

Overjoyed with her pregnancy, Margaret could stay forever, sipping tea, chatting with Archana, painting in the sun beside the stream full of water lilies. But when Archana finds herself in danger and Margaret makes the choice to save her, she doesn’t realise the devastating consequences that will tear her and Archana apart, destroy her marriage, and haunt her for the rest of her life...

England, 2000: Emma’s relationship is falling apart, and her beloved grandmother, Margaret, is dying. Margaret has one last request: find Archana. It’s the first time Emma has even heard the name, but desperate for an escape and to bring Margaret closure, she travels deep into the heart of the Indian hills, to a crumbling house overgrown with vines, searching for answers.

The more Emma learns, the more she sees of herself in her grandmother, and the stronger her need to uncover Margaret’s secret. But if she finds Archana and the truth is finally revealed – the story of a day spent painting by a stream, and a betrayal that tore three lives to pieces – can it help each woman find peace or are some rifts too deep to heal…?

Discover the extraordinary secret of the girl in the painting, perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Lucinda Riley and The Storyteller’s Secret.

What readers are saying about The Girl in the Painting:
Oh boy, this book did not disappoint. The story was so well thought out, intricate and full bodied…. hooked right till the end… You get such a sense of each character, and your heart breaks for both of them… It just engrosses you, so you go on the journey with them… Side note, grab your tissues… I can't recommend this book enough. Renita is such a talented writer, and a great storyteller.’ jth books, 5 stars

BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN AND EMOTIONALLY GRIPPING just took my breath away!… it was truly beautiful and I will gladly admit, that I shed a little tear.’ Goodreads Reviewer

I completely fell in love with the story and characters… utterly sucked in to the story… I cried, smiled, laughed and even felt the anger, relief and betrayal… amazing talent and her beautiful stories… one of the most beautiful and poignant stories I have ever read!’ Curled Up with a Good Book5 stars

‘Now where do I start with this absolutely stunning book? I was completely mesmerised by this entire story… heartbreaking and compelling… truly writing at its finest… a rich tapestry of imagery laced with struggles and strife. I loved every minute.’ Stacy is Reading5 stars

‘After reading the blurb, I already felt I was going to be swept away. Was my feeling right? I can say a big YES without a doubt!... between the sadness and heartache there was room for a lot of heartwarming moments as well… I flew through it.’ B for Bookreview5 stars

Stunningly amazing… exquisite perfection… intense drama, romance, family… This compellingread was very difficult to put down and I felt for all three women… their lives held such drama, and it felt so very real… definitely highly recommended.’ Robin Loves Reading
Read more
Collapse
3.0
3 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 11, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
492
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786816498
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.