The Missing Wife

Sold by HarperCollins UK
1
Free sample

You think you know those closest to you. You are wrong...

A sleep-deprived new mother approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing Louisa wants to do is celebrate.

But when her friend Tiff organises a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Louisa’s Facebook friends, Louisa is faced with a room full of people she hasn’t spoken to in years – including someone she never expected to see again: her ex-boyfriend, Oliver Dunmore.

When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers the night differently. Someone knows what happened to Melissa, and Louisa is determined to find them. But the truth could be closer, and the deception more devastating, than she’d ever imagined...

A gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing, The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena, The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, and The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen.

** AUTHORS LOVE THE MISSING WIFE **

‘A pacy read, packed with surprises. Will keep you on your toes.’ Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of I Looked Away

‘The Missing Wife is superb: one of those books that keeps you guessing ... I was riveted.’ Alex Lake, bestselling author of After Anna

** READERS LOVE THE MISSING WIFE **

‘A top-notch thriller that grips from the start and will leave readers on the edge of their seats ... A book that redefines the word unputdownable as once you start reading it, you simply will not be able to stop!! Reader review

‘I loved this book. I finished it in two hours... I couldn't put it down... best book I've read so far this year’ Reader review

‘A brilliant,twisted ending!’ Reader review

‘There’s so much I can relate to with Louisa. A first rate psychological thriller.’ Reader review

‘Fantastic storyline and completely gripping!’ Reader review

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Sam Carrington lives in Devon with her husband and three children. She worked for the NHS for 15 years, during which time she qualified as a nurse. Following the completion of a Psychology degree she went to work for the prison service as an Offending Behaviour Facilitator. Her experiences within this field inspired her writing. She left the service to spend time with her family and to follow her dream of being a novelist.

Read more
Collapse
2.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 27, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
200
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780008348045
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Domestic
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
You can trust your family, can’t you...?

Tess Piper was fourteen when her adored twin sister Edie disappeared.

She has spent the last twenty years building a life away from her fractured family, desperate to escape the shadow of the past.

Only now she needs to confront the huge hole her sister’s disappearance left in her life, because a body has been found. The police are shining a spotlight on the Piper family. And secrets are about to surface.

After all, it’s common knowledge that more often than not, these crimes are committed by someone close to the victim. Someone they trust. Someone they know...

What really happened to Edie Piper?

A gripping thriller perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, K.L. Slater and Rachel Abbott.

Reader reviews

‘I totally devoured this... the ending is a killer! Loved how the pages just blurred into one another and was seriously gutted when I’d finished it and wanted more.’

‘A great read, fascinating and intriguing kept me guessing right until the end’

‘Dark, twisted, creepy, atmospheric, engaging, unputdownable brilliance. Read this book in 2019. I implore you.’

‘An intense, creepy and pacy thriller.’

‘A must-read for any fan of mystery, murder, and twists that you don’t see coming!’

‘ A creepy tale that had me hooked from the opening pages and held me right up until the final paragraph.’

‘Emotional, gripping and twisty.’

‘A creepy familial thriller, with many twists and turns, this one will keep you guessing right to the end. I can usually guess the 'baddie' but I failed completely with this!’

‘A super twisty whodunnit that also delves into the darker regions of sibling rivalry. It will keep you guessing right to the end!’

‘An excellent debut with a sinister sting. Reveals and plot twists delivered so skilfully that you won’t know who to trust.’

From New York Times bestselling writer Jeff Abbott, a psychologically intense and emotionally gripping new suspense novel about a daughter's desperate search for her missing mother-one that may lead her closer to home than she ever anticipated.

My mom would never leave me.
This has been Mariah Dunning's motto. Her compass. Her belief. So when she glimpses her mother--who's been missing for the past year--on the other side of a crowded food court, Mariah's conviction becomes stronger than ever. Or is she losing her mind?

An unlikely coincidence?
When Beth Dunning disappeared without a trace, suspicion for her murder-despite the lack of a body or any physical evidence-immediately fell upon Mariah's father. Until Mariah stumbles upon two other recent disappearances from Lakehaven. And all three women had the same name: Beth.

Or a sinister connection?
Mariah would give anything to find out what happened to her mother, and clear her father's name. But the truth may be more devastating than she could have imagined...

Jeff Abbott once again proves why he's "one of the best thriller writers in the business" (Associated Press) with this twisty new novel.

"I could not tear myself away from Jeff Abbott's mesmerizing, gripping, and claustrophobic novel. BLAME is the perfect blend of complex characters, plot twists galore, and great psychological suspense. Don't miss it."
--- Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author, on Blame

"Jeff Abbott is a remarkable writer and storyteller, and brings his skills to the realm of psychological suspense with this absolutely captivating book. Emotionally compelling, tense and packed with shocking plot twists, this book makes me have to use a word I hate: Unputdownable. I loved it."
--- Alison Gaylin, USA Today bestselling author, on Blame

"Blame is a masterful suspense novel, full of dread, lies, and deceptions. Abbott is one of our finest writers, and Blame takes his talents to new levels. Sinister and twisting, this is hands-down the best book you'll read--and re-read--this year. Absolutely top-notch."
--- J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author, on Blame
***THE NO.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER***

‘This book is not only gripping, but it ends with a gasp-out-loud twist’ Closer

‘Tense, convincing ... kept me guessing’ Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Marshall and Cara Hunter.

Praise for Sam Carrington

‘A gripping exploration of twisted family secrets’ Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door

‘Saving Sophie is a twisted rollercoaster of a debut . . . Sam Carrington is definitely one to watch out for’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

‘A tense, pacy read. This story’s enough to put you off social media!’ Isabel Ashdown, author of Beautiful Liars

‘I was hooked ... I devoured this story in one sitting. Louise Jensen, author of The Sister

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.