P.S. I Hate You: A totally perfect and heartwarming romantic comedy

· Bookouture
4.0
7 reviews
Ebook
329
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Relationship: Hanging by a thread.

Sex life: Dead on arrival.

Alcohol: Essential.

 

It’s normal to hate the man of your dreams, right?

 

Once upon a time, Abbie and Matt had swoon-worthy mini breaks in Paris, and Abbie would cook him steak wearing nothing but an apron and high heels. These days, they’re experiencing the longest dry spell on record… And Abbie is keeping a very big secret.

 

But she’s not ready to give up. Nobody knows Abbie like Matt does, and it helps that he’s tall, dark and handsome, with hazel eyes and dimples to die for.

 

Determined to reignite the romance, Abbie initiates Operation Memory Lane and recreates their happiest memories. Maybe breakfast in bed, sexy lingerie, dirty martinis and a romantic weekend in the countryside will bring back Abbie’s butterflies and make her giddy with happiness…

 

But revisiting the past is a risky business, and secrets always come out in the end. Will the truth ruin their second chance at love?

 

This totally addictive second-chance romance will give you All. The. Feels! Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sophie Kinsella and Beth O’Leary.

 

Readers love P.S. I Hate You:


‘I absolutely loved this book. It spoke to my soul. If you’ve ever been stuck in a rut or your life has felt stale, you’ll find something in here to identify with! Funny and uplifting.’ @beanie_bookworm, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘WOW! I honestly couldn’t put this book down, I absolutely am in love with it and I’m already wishing I could re-read it. The storyline, the characters and just everything was amazing!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘What a brilliant, *brilliant* romcom… I couldn't help but smile and laugh all the way through. Loved… I read it in just two days, I didn’t want to put it down. Snap this up… if you’re looking to laugh out loud.’ @sarahsreads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I ate this book up in one sitting. I loved it, it was perfect. Witty, funny, and heartfelt, exactly what I’d expect from a romance like this… This was so genuine, I felt like my heart was in my hand the whole time.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Even days after I finished reading P.S. I Hate You, I still think about itFantasticOutstanding writing… A perfect mix of comedy, drama and romance. It makes you FEEL. Big time.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Couldn’t put it down… It was a cracking read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘One of the best romances I’ve read … It is a beautiful second chance romance that is so raw and emotionalI loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Really really loved this book… Highly recommend!’ @mams.ie

 

‘Wow, what an absolute gem of a book!… A totally great romance book that I plan to re-read again!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

Absolutely loved this book. Highly recommend for a feel-good romance!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Oh, I loved this story… Full of Ranald’s usual wit and humourRead it. Enjoy it. It’s lovely.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Highly recommend!! This book is a definite page-turner! You’ll be left thinking about the story long after you put the book down. First book to read by this author but definitely not my last!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I finished P.S. I Hate You with a big fat smile on my face.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I AM A SUCKER FOR SECOND CHANCE ROMANCE! This book was raw, you guys!!… I FELT THE LOVE, GUYSIt made me swoon.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I was really in the feels… Abbie and Matt’s love story is beautiful, heartbreaking, and hopeful.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I absolutely loved it… Definitely one of my new favourites!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I was hooked from page one!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘Very entertaining… It’s not often that a book makes me laugh out loud Made me chuckle.’ @PoweredByPepsi, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Sparks were flyingTouched my heart deeply. I loved it.’ B For Book Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.0
7 reviews
Chelsea Taylor
March 8, 2022
Abbie and Matt are experiencing a dry spell in their marriage. So dry, Abbie is considering divorce. After meeting in high school, they both thought they'd be together forever. But life and the setbacks that come with it have taken their toll. Now they barely speak. In a last ditch effort to save their marriage, Abbie comes up with a plan. Go back to some of the places that were benchmarks in their relationship. Reignite their love and try and remember the love that got them this far. Told in alternating chapters, you'll follow Abbie and Matt from the beginning. From their first date to their wedding day. Throughout you'll see them revisit those places and memories while learning what went wrong and got them to where they are now. This book is truly beautifully written, but extremely heavy. You'll see them deal with infertility, a close friends addiction, and various other super heavy situations. I wasn't expecting it to be so damn heavy. This one is hard for me to review because I know the book was so well written, it was just personally hard for me to get through it. I'm also dealing with the dregs of a winter of depression, so the heaviness of the story made it hard for me to get through. Its truly very well written and a great tale of love lost and found. Just be ready to deal with super heavy and slightly depressing relationship situations. Its not something I have saw the author tackle before but she did it with grace and exquisite storytelling. ⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 Thank you to Bookouture, Sophie Ronald, and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
Did you find this helpful?
DJ Sakata
March 3, 2022
Although I never dealt with the same unresolved issues as this couple, I identified with their plight. I would bet good money that the vast majority of couples who managed to stay married for a few decades have struggled, to varying degrees, with a sense of red hot disappointment in how parts of their lives together panned out, I know I certainly have. And kudos to those of us who made it through to the other side once dealing with the ennui, raging inner diva of entitlement, and the dawning realization that this is it so you better get with the program. And gold stars to those of us able to make the jump to maybe it’s not all on him or even about the annoying habits that trigger sudden warp speed jumps in blood pressure. This was my first time reading Sophie Ranald and I applaud her clever use of humor, sensitivity, and surprising insight in dealing with several prickly issues that aren’t widely discussed. The characters’ independent and united journeys contained a few potholes and landmines that aren’t all that uncommon but can weigh heavily and turn nasty on a dime. The storylines were laced together with comedic descriptions as well as real-life issues while cast with characters that were well fleshed out, multi-faceted, and quick-witted with sassy banter and snarky observations. Ms. Ranald persuasively captured their peaks and valleys and day-to-day travails exceptionally well and deftly framed them with a surprising poignancy while still maintaining an engaging, entertaining, and amusing tale. The main character of Abbie wasn’t always likable and could be rather horrid and quite the madam, but that is what made her true to life as don’t we all have our moments? I confess to having my share, and most of someone else’s as well. I adored her patient husband Matt and held my breath for fear he would decide he’d had enough of Abbie’s self-involved orientation and distance. But she was also making an effort and saw the potential as she replayed her memories and retraced their steps. I enjoyed the trek through their story and have added Ms. Ranald to my list of new favorites.
Did you find this helpful?
Samantha Markham
March 5, 2022
Abbie and Matt have been together since they were teenagers. They’re now 37 and having a difficult time in their marriage. Unable to have a child, this has brought pressure on their relationship and they need to try to rekindle some of the romance that brought them together all those years ago. P.S. I Hate You (Abbie never does actually hate Matt), skips back and forth between the present, and when Abbie and Matt first met, following them throughout significant events in their life together. The author focuses a huge amount on how important friends are in a woman’s life and how good friends stick around, no matter what. If Abbie has a problem, or is upset, it’s The Girlfriend Club’s WhatsApp group she turns to, and there is always someone at the end of a message with support and advice. I enjoyed how Abbie tried to recreate some of the good memories that her and Matt had shared, some worked out, some didn’t but it both were keen to try! Sophie Ranald shows us the parts of relationships that people rarely talk about, the frustrating, annoying little things that when things are going well, we don’t care about, but when something isn’t right, then we create mountains out of molehills! If you want something easy and fun to read, to while away a few hours, then try this new one from Sophie. I am lucky enough to be a part of Books on Tour for this, so thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read and review an ARC of P.S. I Hate You by Sophie Ranald.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.