To Abandon Rome, AD 593

Tribonian Trilogy

Book 2
Feather Books
1
Free sample

This is a tale of the human heart in Ancient Rome.

It is about a RAGE that must be kept caged until the moment comes to release it. It is also about the woman who must sit by and watch it happen.

Amid political machinations, the story focuses on two characters. The first is Titus. An educated man and former Chief Magistrate to the Lombard King, he has been banished and has sought refuge in Rome where he finds himself reduced to baking clay and lime in furnaces. Only camaraderie with the lowest commoners softens his loss of all he had and loved.

Unknown to him the powerful are vying for position one against the other with Titus central to their schemes. One of those factions lifts him out of the brick factory and appoints him to a minor office.

A letter from Titus’s wife in distant Verona finds its way to him. In it she confesses to being raped and names her defiler: the King’s Master of Horse. Titus’s heart explodes with RAGE.

The other focus of the story is Adria. Unmarried, she is a middle-aged woman who teaches flute to support herself. She had first spied Titus when, at the close of the workday, he would sit in the Ad Elephantos district and read aloud to the assembled workmen and their children. When the plague struck him, she nursed him back to health and back to the brick factory. On his appointment to the Aedileship, she stayed with him as chaste companion and helpmate.

When word arrives that the Lombard forces were amassing for a siege of the city, rustics stream into its walls for safety. Providing for them falls to Titus. A senator with Germanic connections orders Titus to use his popularity with the people to get them to clamor for letting the King enter the city. On the opposite side, the Pope—loyal to the Emperor—appoints him Consul and charges him with a spirited defense.

Titus sees detriment to the people in both of those courses. He discards them. As Consul with Plenary Powers he pursues his own course: “We’ll wait out the siege within the walls.” He knows his decision will jeopardize his life once the immediate crisis has passed.

The siege befalls. In a meeting to negotiate a truce, Titus’s two personal adversaries face him: First there is the King who had stripped all that he loved from him. And then there is the King’s Master of Horse who—in Titus’s absence—had defiled his wife, his Little Flower. It was the moment for RAGE. Adria was there—Adria who loved him—Adria looking on with dread.

In this novel Vann Turner continues his poignant exploration of the human heart, how closely we bind, how the world seeks to sever, and how we all need the courage to defend what is most dear.

Read more

About the author

A shy person, Vann Turner avoids crowds and tries to avoid any attention. He is not on Facebook or Twitter. When questioned about this, he said, "What I have to say publicly, I say in my writings. I am something of a recluse."

On occasion friends visit him and his dogs in our mountain home. Every two weeks he goes to the market for dairy products, fruits, vegetables and Oreos. You'll recognize him in Walmart (Newport, TN) by the black armband he wears on the left. If you do, go up and say hello. "I welcome people into my life. People are important."

Or if you would like to send him an email, he will answer you. "One-on-one works well for me, you see. It's the crowd or anonymous banter that gives me the heebie-jeebies, not one-on-one contact. And besides, email has proved to be a bridge to friendships for me."
 

Read more
3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Feather Books
Read more
Published on
Nov 2, 2017
Read more
Pages
338
Read more
ISBN
9780999858370
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Historical / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When two very different lives intersect, all is illumined in blazing light.

This penetrating novel is an intimate look at the lives of two men, one straight, one gay, and NO, this is not a coming out story. The Marine veteran is straight and remains straight throughout. But this poignant and lyrical novel is a rhapsody to love, love of highest kind, the kind that can ask for sacrifice and grant sacrifice.

Set in the 1980’s, the gritty opening scene has Robert Newell—straight and with head-turning good looks—facing the reality of Carmen. In actuality he confronts the reality about himself—how, to escape his homelessness, he has pandered himself to her lusts. He speaks to her about wanting children and driving home after work to play with them in the backyard. She speaks of sex toys.

His beatified mother visits him in his sleep and in the morning he decides to make his move. In order to reclaim his dignity of being a man, he will again make his home in his rusting pickup truck. He hopes that one day he might obtain his dream. He acknowledges that it is a humble dream, the common dream of Everyman—the dream of wife and family.

In Atlanta a Marine he had served with in Vietnam pummels him in a beer joint and tosses him out onto the sidewalk. Blaine Shirer, a homely gay guy, has been prowling a nearby park for tricks. He stops to help Bob home.

Over weeks a sort of friendship develops—on again, off again. But eventually they manage to make a home together and celebrate the negligible milestones of one life, of the other’s and of the life they share together. But then come bullets and judgment by the righteous.

In this novel of heart and grit, Vann Turner bears witness to the dreams we seek, the love we crave and the courage we must summon to defend it.

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Publishers Weekly’s #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 • Winner of the Southern Book Prize • If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection 

“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”—People

“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”—Parade

“One of the year’s best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel.”—The Huffington Post
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.