Winter Dark: A totally gripping crime thriller with heart-pounding suspense

· The Winter Series Book 1 · Bookouture
4.3
3 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

She thought she was finally safe. She was wrong.


Wow! Double wow!! Triple wow!!!... in my top books for 2020.’ B for Book Review *****

I could not put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer *****

Nail-biting.’ Goodreads reviewer *****

I didn't get a chance to breathe.’ Goodreads reviewer *****

The #1 Bestselling Audible Thriller of the Year.


A desperate girl held captive somewhere in the city, her liquid brown eyes pleading with the camera as the clock tick-tick-ticks down.


An agent with a broken past, who has seen what happens when the counter hits zero. It took the last one three days to die while the world watched. This killer is never late, and he never breaks his promises.


But how do you catch someone who could be anyone – who only speaks through the eyes of his terrified victims and never leaves a trace? To catch a killer with no face, you have to become faceless yourself…


A pulse-racing thriller that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. For fans of Sandra Brown, Willow Rose and Mary Burton.


Please note: this book contains scenes of a sexual nature.

4.3
3 reviews
Linda Strong
January 9, 2020
A female James Bond, a little McGyver, Winter is a master hacker, combat trained for anything she may have to face, probably an IQ too high to be counted, is the first line of defense for London. This is a debut novel and the first in the Winter series. There's lots of action in this futuristic tale .. a time when you can buy a murder online ... where hackers take control of the country. One man has escaped identification ... an extremely wealthy man, a powerful man, who is the heart of the dark web... and the multiple crimes committed. Only one person has seen his face .... Winter. And she's now on the run. This is not exactly my cup of tea, although it seems to be well written. The action begins on age 1 and continues to the surprising ending. Winter is an interesting character, but I didn't find her likable. She seems to be a little arrogant, a little overbearing. I would recommend this one for anyone who enjoys thrillers and spy games. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this suspense thriller. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?
Cathy Geha
January 9, 2020
Winter Dark by Alex Callister The Winter Series #1 Excellent story that grabbed my attention immediately and kept it till the last page. I am glad this is a series because I really would like to see what will happen next. What I liked: * Winter: strong, lethal and smart she works for GCHQ as an operative – would have liked to know more about the ten years between the prologue and beginning of this story. She reminds me a bit of La Femme Nikita * Alek: I do like a bad guy with heart...he is a man I would love to get to know better. * The dynamics between Winter & Alec – do wonder if they will get together again or not * Wanting to know more about Simon, Max, Leon, Roman and a few others that were mentioned in the story * That there are levels of “bad” and sometimes the person you think is The Prince of Darkness might have redeeming qualities * The pacing of the story * Great debut novel that makes me want to read more What I didn’t like: * The truly bad guys – wanted them taken out in the worst way * Having to wait for the next book in the series Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more books by this author? Yes Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4.5 Stars
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
Winter Dark by Alex Callister The Winter Series #1 Excellent story that grabbed my attention immediately and kept it till the last page. I am glad this is a series because I really would like to see ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.